We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 McKeown Avenue, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9P3 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in North Bay
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great spot to stay when visiting the Brent Crater trail in Algonquin Park. Friendly, helpful staff, spotless rooms and public areas - still has a 'new' hotel smell! Within walking distance of a variety of family restaurants. Would definitely stay here again. Weekday morning traffic noise was the only drawback, but to be expected in 'convenient to everything' location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Lynn S,

Thank you for staying with us at The Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay recently and thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community.
We are conveniently located to local area attractions along with restaurants and shopping. I apologize for any noise you heard during your stay from the traffic outside. If you prefer, next time feel free to ask one of our guest service agents for a set of earplugs. Typically the outside noise is not bad however it does depend on what is going on in the city (like everywhere else).

Thank you Lynn, we do look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours In Hospitality,

Carrie Delongchamp
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    70
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
96
44
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just came back from a two day stay at this hotel. After a mix-up with the Best Western we came to this hotel. It was an excellent stay. The people were fantastic. The place was spotless, the staff could not do enough for you. The all you can eat breakfast was a bonus, as it was not offered anywhere else. Thank you again for a great stay, and if I every come to North Bay again you are my first choice.

Lisa

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Lisa,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much to write about it and let us know. Please know that your review will be shared with all of our staff.
We look forward to seeing you back on your next journey to North Bay.

Yours In Hospitality,

Carrie Delongchamp
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here after travelling down from Iqaluit in Northern Canada. It sounds sad now that I come to write it, but it felt very good to have a clean spacious room with comfortable beds, working wifi and a cell phone signal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Ians2008,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community. I'm thrilled to hear that we provided you with a clean and comfortable place to rest your head after a long journey.
We do hope you'll think of us should your travels bring you to Northern Ontario in the future.

Yours In Hospitality,

Carrie Delongchamp
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just returned from a four-night stay at the North Bay, Ontario Hampton Inn, there to participate in our son's wedding to a North Bay girl. We participated in a wedding group booking, with a preferred rate, and initially booked a number of rooms on our credit card, each taken over without difficulty by others as they arrived.

The hotel is quite new, and we found the facility to be excellent. Front desk staff were caring and arranged anything we needed, handling the take-overs of rooms as friends arrived without a slip. They quickly got to know us and always greeted us as we came and went, eager to handle any situation we might have had. With the wedding group booking, there were probably close to fifteen rooms occupied, and we heard nothing but compliments about the facility from others we met and chatted with.

A bit of a trick accessing the property from the most likely direction, perhaps due to its newness in the geographic area, but perhaps they will get this improved in time... we generally accessed by entering the Shoppers Drug Mart property and crossing over to the Hampton-- not a problem once you realized the situation.

We would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms we visited seemed good, but they have options available for room size and for accessib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear FWPerry,

I would first like to thank you for allowing us to host guests coming in from out of town to take part in this very special day. My staff have commented about how wonderful each and every member of this wedding block was to have in our hotel. I would also like to thank you for the nice email sent to our Sales Manager Crystal regarding your stay. It was great to be able to share that email with the rest of our team. It's always satisfying to know that their hard work and dedication to the hotel and our guests is being recognized. Please know that all other comments in that email will be followed up on.
Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community and we do look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours In Hospitality,
Carrie Delongchamp
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. In the past, we have stayed at the "Holiday inn Express". The hotels are similar. This hotel was clean with friendly service. The beds and pillows are great. Nice ambiance in breakfast room but disappointing food though there was a lot to choose from. Ended up having cereal. Did not enjoy waffles, rubbery omelet or porridge. No plain yogurt or berries. It would be nice and better for the environment to have real cutlery and plates. Only other negatives were I could hear people talking in the hall and the A/C was loud. I would come back but would maybe stick to basics for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Madqui,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your stay at The Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay. I am pleased that you found our staff friendly, our hotel clean and our bedding comfortable. I am sorry to hear that you did not find our breakfast to your liking. You are correct as there are many items to choose from, usually our belgium waffles are the biggest hit. The hot oatmeal is a new item that Hampton Inn's have just added to their menu recently. This was done in effort to please our guests who requested fresh and hot oatmeal with an assortment of toppings. Your feedback is important and will help guide Hampton Inn in deciding what other items may need to be implemented. There is a reason why we use 100% biodegradable cutlery and plates rather than real cutlery and plates. Hampton feels that the biodegradable items are better as they don't need to be washed in a dishwasher using chemicals to clean etc. Less water usage and less chemicals going into our enviroment. I do apologize that you were able to hear people talking outside your room. During your next visit with us please feel free to call the front desk should this happen again. We will do everything possible to limit the noise in the hallway. Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time to write in and we do look forward to serving you once again.

Yours In Hospitality,

Carrie Delongchamp
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight while on North Bay with family. We were able to check in early with no problem so my niece could have her nap on time. This hotel is clean, quiet and friendly. The breakfast is excellent. There is no lingering cigarette smoke smell that you sometimes get in older smoke-free accommodations. Its worth the peace of mind to book here. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie_delongchamp, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Synchromom10,

Thank you for sharing your experience with The Hampton Inn North Bay with the tripadvisor.com community. I am so pleased that we were able to accommodate your early check-in request and your niece was able to have her nap. We do always try our best to satisfy all of our guests requests. I am also pleased that you had peace of mind knowing that you wouldn't have to endure any smoke smell. Since we opened in June 2009 we have been 100% smokefree. Please know that all your comments will be passed along to the rest of our team.

Yours In Hospitality,

Carrie Delongchamp
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family stayed here on a recent trip to visit relatives in North Bay. The hotel staff all provided excellent service. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of options for everyone. My 8 year-old daughter enjoyed the pool. The hotel provides discounts at two neighbouring restaurants - we took advantage of this at both spots and the restaurant staff were very aware of the agreement with the hotel and accommodated the discount without any problem. The hotel also provides 24-hour coffee, tea and hot chocolate service near the front desk. And best of all, it is a 100% smoke-free establishment, which is great news for families.

Room Tip: Book online in advance in order to get the best rates available. CAA/AAA discounts also provided at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear FamilleQuiVoyage3

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the Tripadvisor.com community. It's so rewarding to hear positive stories about our hotel and the service we provide. I thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us.
I'm thrilled to hear that you were able to try out both restaurants that offer discounts to our guests. Please know that I will certainly inform the management team at these establishments of your great customer service and hassle free service with regards to the discount.

If you are ever in the North Bay area again we would love to be your hotel of choice.

Yours In Hospitality,

Carrie Delongchamp
General Manager
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay

Address: 950 McKeown Avenue, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9P3 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in North Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a member of the Hilton extended family, our guests have come to expect a warm welcome, amazing amenities, and a level of customer service that is exceptional. The Hampton Inn by Hilton is your ideal hotel in North Bay for business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay Hotel North Bay
Hampton Inn By Hilton North Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.