We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure how we missed this one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benchmark Restaurant at Niagara College

Benchmark Restaurant at Niagara College
135 Taylor Rd, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
905-641-2252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Benchmark Restaurant at Niagara College is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Glendale Road
Worcester, MA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not sure how we missed this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Have been to NOTL a few times over the years and this was our first visit to Benchmark. Definitely not our last. Really wonderful place, probably our favorite dinner of many excellent ones. Setting is excellent, in large round building overlooking grounds of college. Food is fresh, much of it from their own gardens/grounds. They also have their own wine production which we liked enough to pick up some bottles on our way out of town. First class service, friendly and timely. Dinner really excellent. We will most certainly return on our future visits to NOTL.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    44
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bowled over by Benchmark again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I love Benchmark and try to go whenever I'm in Niagara. We recently celebrated my mother's 80th birthday at Benchmark. The gazpacho soup was to die for, as was the trio of sorbets and ice cream. Always creative cuisine, beautifully presented and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What took us so long?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We moved to the Niagara area 3 years ago and this was the first time at this restaurant. Why did we wait?!?! We went for a Saturday lunch and were remarkably amazed. They use fresh local ingredients as much as possible as well as local wines (Niagara teaching winery included) and beer including from their own brewery. If you are familiar with winery restaurants you will know the prices are usually through the roof, the ingredients foreign and the portions tiny. Not here!!! We shared a summer salad of watermelon, cucumber and goat cheese topped with mint sorbet. My husband wrinkled his nose at first but once tasted it was hard to get him to give it up. I had the appetizer mussels for my main and it was the size of any regular portion at a restaurant. Cooked just right. The hamburger was served with a thick slice of peameal bacon and accompanied by the most delicate frites we've had in a long time. There was a bit of mix up for the dessert, someone forgot to take the mousse out of the freezer but the cheesecake was light and tasted great with fruit compote. I asked the server to provide a wine for each course and they did well. The 2 oz late harvest reisling was wonderful with dessert. We will be back again. Weekends tend to be busy, reservations are recommended in particular for Saturday dinner. The do have a lunch 'trust us' 3 course prix fix choice as well as at dinner. By the way, it's the students from the culinary program at Niagara College so they get to learn all the ropes, some do better than others!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food was alright..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went for lunch with friends. The restaurant is nice, clean, and we had good service. The food was just alright though, it didn't wow us. The desert was quite good however.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from NOTL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is Canada's counterpart to the Hyde Park, NY, CIA. The dining room is beautiful, with a big curved wall of glass overlooking garden displays. The dining room staff are students, so little slips, some awkwardness, and youthful exuberance are to be expected. The head chefs know their stuff and don't compromise. They walk outside upon diners' orders to harvest the greens and veggies used in that day's dishes. Talk about fresh ingredients! The menus are sophisticated, and the food preparation and presentation matches or exceeds the printed descriptions. This is a place for very discriminating diners who want to go out of their way for a meal that warrants the effort and cost.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benchmark Restaurant at Niagara College also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Benchmark Restaurant at Niagara College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benchmark Restaurant at Niagara College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.