We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pies, from a person who dislikes most desserts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pie Plate

The Pie Plate
Regional Road 55, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Takeout
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good pies, from a person who dislikes most desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Niagara-on-the-Lake continues to impress me each time I visit. I have been there four times now across different seasons, and was well aware of the great wineries, restaurants and shops in the area, but I never visited The Pie Plate until this past weekend, on the way out of town (it is located on the main road into and out of the historic old town). I highly recommend the lemon cream pie, coconut pie, and cherry pie (in that order). While I was in a rush and my order was for the road, I did manage to peek around the restaurant and it looks like a nice place to sit down and enjoy the rest of the menu (the place offers more than just desserts). My wife and I enjoyed what we ate and would recommend this place to anyone looking for well-made desserts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    41
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy pizzas!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Tried their special pizza of the month, apple with maple syrup, pancetta, cheddar and something else. Amaze balls!! We had another kind of pizza that was yummy and also the desserts were fresh and baked to perfection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tiny but Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stopped by this place on a snowy trip after visiting Niagara Falls. The place was very cute and cozy. We had great pizzas and sandwiches. The chocolate cream pie and seasonal pie were yummy desserts. Local beers on tap was also a nice surprise. Service was also great - fast and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint atmosphere, awesome food & fantastic desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stopped by this little place on a Sat afternoon. Service was fast and friendly. Very quaint atmosphere be it for just a coffee or if staying for a meal. They have a couple of local beers on tap which was a nice surprise. The one beer from Silversmith Brewery is excellent and turns out they are located across the street from The Pie Plate! Had two different pizzas....both were absolutely delicious. Thin crust, high quality toppings and cut with a pair of scissors which was fun! One pizza was more traditional with roasted peppers and sausage & the other was apple, bacon, cheddar & pesto! Very creative! We were too full for dessert so we got a few things to take home. Carrot cake was moist with a beautiful orange cream cheese icing. Mini cherry pies were excellent.

The prices are a little bit high, but you get what you pay for.....it's not fast food pizza & baked goods from the grocery store. It is handmade with care with high quality, fresh ingredients. I have no problem paying extra for that.

Bottom Line: can't wait to go back and try something else!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A welocome surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent and original light fare creatively prepared and presented in a quaint surrounding.Pies and pizzas are to die for.Pricing is reasonable and service excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pie Plate also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Pie Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pie Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.