We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fournos Restaurant

Fournos Restaurant
58 Queen, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Third time at this restaurant. Good salads and chicken souvlaki on a pita. The server was great and very prompt. Overall a nice experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    56
    15
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food was okay.. Service was TERRIBLE!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We literally just got out of this restaurant.. The server guy should not be working in customer service. They forgot to put lemon in our friend's order.. So she asked if she can get it. He served an unappetizing piece of crap---- oddly cut lemons served in a tiny piece of napkin.. He would also throw napkins on the table.. I don't know--- you just get the feeling that he's not happy about having customers..This isn't even half of today's horror.. We asked the lady server to separate our bills... The bill came--- not separated.. So we politely asked if they can redo it.. The server guy rudely refused----apparently, once it done, it's final... He said he can give us a calculator and we can do the math ourselves...

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE AT ALL.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4nosowner, Owner at Fournos Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I was sitting there watching the service you were provided and everything the server did was correct. When you asked for lemons you had your water glass in your hand so he assumed you wanted lemons for your waters so he provided lemons slices on a napkin. He did not throw napkins on the table he placed them four on one half and four on the other half. And as you were a group of ten who ordered all together and never mentioned splitting the bill he rang it is as one check. Our policy for tables of 8 or more is to add 15% gratuity once that is added the server cannot separate the check. He politely offered you a calculator to separate it and said there was no problem using multiple credit cards. As you can see from our previous reviews we provide excellent service, if you have any further questions or comments please contact the restaurant. I hope this clarifies things for you and maybe you understand you were incorrect in what you think the waiter was doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed lunch before the theater. The gyros on a pita contained well seasoned meat. The accompanying Greek salad was very generous allowing my wife to have salad with her fish and chips. The haddock fillet was lightly beer battered and served with wedge fries. There are Canadian offerings for those who don't like Greek food. The servings were large enough that we had no room for dessert. Food prices are less other local restaurants.

When we arrived we were warmly greeted and service was attentive. The restaurant is in a downstairs location and is not wheelchair accessible. Decor is wood paneling with wood beam ceiling. Lighting is subdued and there is Greek music playing.

Thr restaurant has two entrances, one on Queen St and the other on Regent St. There is a free parking lot on Regent for restaurant patrons (saves on $1.50/hr parking). We would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Greek Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

They have the best chicken souvlaki and baklava was also delicious (not too sweet). Some had pork and enjoyed the taste. Don't let the basement (stairs going down to restau) location scare you. Their food is very delicious....Greek salad, how could one go wrong with this right?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a good customer experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Can't comment on the food as didn't get a chance to try it! 6 pm Saturday night. We were turned away unceremoniously as a party of two, told rather abruptly that there was a 30 min wait, although there were at least 3 tables empty! Clearly they were keeping these for larger more profitable parties. Not impressed. We were prepared to over look the fact it was in a basement and not too wonderfully decorated as the menu sounded ok. Wouldn't go back there on principle.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fournos Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Fournos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fournos Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.