We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Evening in NOTL with Friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Inn Restaurant

The Charles Inn Restaurant
209 Queen Street | P.O. Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-4588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Charles Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $13 - $50
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Canadian, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HOB NOB Restaurant serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The HOB NOB restaurant has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Last Evening in NOTL with Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Eight of us had dinner here and everyone loved their choices. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful with our choices. I had the roast chicken with lentils(with bacon and duck) that included crisp haricot verts. It was topped with a soft poached egg. Warm fresh rolls were on the table. We enjoyed different glasses of wine as this is a great wine area, and our server gave us great suggestions. We declined dessert as we were celebrating a birthday at our rental house.
Two of our party were late to arrive and they very nicely kept their entrees warm.
We had our own room so easy for conversation. Liked this restaurant alot and would return if in the area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    98
    40
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegance and fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The four of us had dinner there on our stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake. The food was excellent, one great meal. The staff will explain to everyone what's the content of their plate. Good choice of wine. Sevice was excellent. Our reservation was for 6:30 p.m. and we had no problem parking in front.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at The Charles Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments, with regards to your evening here with us at The Charles Inn. I am glad that everyone in your party enjoyed all aspects of their experience, from food quality to the level of service. We look forward to having you join us again upon your return to the Niagara area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Poached egg and mushrooms atop puff pastry and beef tip shepherd's pie was our meal for lunch. My H who loves shepherd's pie, including the one I make apologised and said this one beats all the ones he's ever eaten! Excellent service too and prices were very reasonable for lunch.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Traditional elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The staff here really knows how to prepare and serve a pre-theatre dinner without making you feel rushed or over/under-cooking the food. We were seated in a quiet corner of the "conservatory" style room where we could see the garden and the passersby, but not hear the street noise. Although we were a little "tucked away" the staff did not neglect us and kept the water glasses filled and offered more bread. I had their version of Caesar salad with crisp prosciutto and roasted cherry tomatoes that was quite delicious. My husband had the foie gras appetizer and practically licked the plate! My main was the beef tenderloin and, quite frankly, it was enough without the added piece of short rib. The bacon wrapped potato galette was melt in the mouth wonderful. My husband had the pork tenderloin, but I didn't even notice him eating it as I was too enraptured with my own food! The meal was substantial enough that I didn't need dessert and wasn't even hungry until we got home much later that night.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at The Charles Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Charles Inn. We are glad to hear about how much you enjoyed everything about your meals and the service you received. Here at The Charles we strive to provide everyone with that exact kind of service and we strongly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Cannot tell you how good the food was. Here's just a hint. Tonight's dessert was
Dark chocolate pate
With mint coulis
Toasted hazelnuts and
Sour cream ice cream

I could die tonight and be happy! Every bite of our meal was delicious. Dylan was an excellent server in all ways!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at The Charles Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Charles Inn as your choice in place to dine. We are glad to hear that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed your dessert so much. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Charles Inn Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Charles Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.