We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another spectacular meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HobNob Restaurant At the Charles

HobNob Restaurant At the Charles
Queen St | P.O. Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-4588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
HobNob Restaurant At the Charles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $48
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HOB NOB Dining Room serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Inn dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“another spectacular meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We've been coming to the Charles Inn for some years...usually once or twice a year. We've celebrated birthdays here, other special occasions, and have dined here before attending the Shaw Festival. The food is creative, delicate, and local, and the servers take great pride in it. Seasonal fare is given always given a lovely twist. For example, I had an amazing tomato gazpacho that included an amazing little taste of pesto sorbet: perfection on a warm summer evening! One of the finest restaurants in a region known for its inspired cuisine.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at HobNob Restaurant At the Charles, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Charles Inn. We are glad to hear that you enjoy yourself and choose to come back every year. We are also glad to hear that you enjoy our chef’s inspired cuisine. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    103
    41
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal; read on if you're on a budget.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Many people report that this is a wonderful restaurant with top notch service and a beautiful setting. The main menu, however, can be a bit pricey for budget conscious diners. So, ask for the "lounge menu". This does restrict where you sit a bit, but still beautiful. You can buy a main dish at an extremely good price, especially considering the very high quality of the food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at HobNob Restaurant At the Charles, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Charles Inn as your choice is place to dine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Inn that serves great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Excellent food and service. We were an intimate little side room with a nice view of gardens and fountain.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First meal of ours (college friend and me) in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Beautiful setting, excellent service and food. Food was visually appealing as well as delicious. Very well priced for the quality. Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at HobNob Restaurant At the Charles, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Charles Inn. We are very happy to hear that you had a good experience and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We love the Charles Inn in beautiful NOTL. Service and food is wonderful!!!!
We like also eating in their bar area as well as their dining room and patio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Inn_FandB, Manager at HobNob Restaurant At the Charles, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Charles Inn. That wonderful service is what we strive for with each and every guest here at The Charles. We are glad to hear you enjoy our variety of seating places and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HobNob Restaurant At the Charles also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to HobNob Restaurant At the Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HobNob Restaurant At the Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.