We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children run this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of HobNob Restaurant At the Charles

HobNob Restaurant At the Charles
Queen St | P.O. Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-4588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
HobNob Restaurant At the Charles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $48
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HOB NOB Dining Room serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Inn dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
michigan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Children run this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had made a reservation for dinner in advance for a 25th Wedding Anniversary. When we arrived a less than enthusiastic young women greeted us, sat us and we waited and waited for someone to come over and even greet us. The wait staff seemed overwhelmed at the number of tables. We waited an hour plus for mediocre entrees and the fact that it was our anniversary was never even acknowledged. If I wanted to have a subpar meal for a special anniversary I could have gone anywhere. The fact that I spoke of the anniversary in the reservation should have alerted someone that it was important to me. The Charles Inn was overpriced and lacking substance from service to food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    103
    41
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely way to end our stay in Niagara on the Lake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We asked the host at our B&B for a dinner recommendation, and he told us about The Charles Inn Restaurant. As it was nearby and walking distance we decided to book here. A lovely end to our stay in Niagara on the Lake. The restaurant is a little on the expensive side and more for a special occasion.

We were seated in their beautiful dining room, in the Charles Inn which was probably the parlour in the days before it was a hotel & restaurant. 2 double rooms each with its own fireplace and huge mirrors hung above them now form the dining areas. The room was lit with candles adding to the ambience. I loved the fact that tables were different shapes and sizes adding to the eclectic feel.

We were welcomed by our server and given some recommendations on the menu. We ordered the foie gras to start which was melt in your mouth soft and buttery, followed by the roast chicken for me and grilled trout for my husband. Both were outstanding! I never order chicken when I go out as I usually find it mundane and dry but this was wonderful and held myself back from licking what was left on the bone! The trout was cooked very well with a crispy skin. Accompaniements on both plates were lovely and complemented the dishes well. We were too full to order desserts, but enjoyed their awesome french press coffee after dinner.

Overall and wonderful leisurely dinner experience. If I were to make any negative comments, they would be that the service is a little bit slow (but hey we were on holiday and in no rush to go anywhere!), and some people may find the menu limited in choices. But we were not bothered by either as each item on the menu was superbly done and tasted great, and for the service it was impeccable. Would definitely come again for a special night out as it is on the expensive side.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A really quaint place, a little on the pricey side but food was very good. Service was good, the restaurant is in the bed and breakfast so it feels very homey.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good food. Great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Food presentation was very good. Quality/taste of the food was good. Service was good. We were not rushed and appreciated that.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
“sheer bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Niagara-On-The-Lake. We were looking forward to the wine tours and the Shaw Festival in particular. This may have been due to the fact that we had not yet been introduced to the splendor that is The Charless Inn. Our experience was the best dining experience we've had to date. The food, the server, the ambiance, etc was all beyond what we were expecting despite reading positive reviews. We both highly recommend you give the Charles Inn a go...they shant dissapoint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HobNob Restaurant At the Charles also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to HobNob Restaurant At the Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HobNob Restaurant At the Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.