We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HobNob Restaurant At the Charles

HobNob Restaurant At the Charles
Queen St | P.O. Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-4588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
HobNob Restaurant At the Charles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $48
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HOB NOB Dining Room serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Inn dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 teenage daughters enjoyed a very memorable and delicious dinner at this lovely historic inn. We enjoyed everything: the delightfully airy but warmly decorated dining room with its comfortably spaced tables, the professional and attentive service, and, most especially, the food. The menu is small but well selected and emphasizes fresh local flavours. Starting with a cool and refreshing amuse bouche of aspargus soup with drizzle of creme fraiche, we then shared one appetizer of hand made tagliatelle - devoured eagerly by all - before moving to our main courses of lake trout, whitefish, and chicken. Everything was plated very appealingly with innovative but entirely delicious accompaniments to the main flavours. Even our picky youngest daughter thoroughly enjoyed her chicken breast sous vide (after setting aside all the mushrooms and goat cheese from the accompanying little tartlet). We were tempted by the delicious sounding desserts but chose to head off to the theatre early instead. Our leisurely stroll there and then the performance was a perfect coda to our delightful dinner at the Inn. We definitely plan to return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    103
    41
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for light lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had a delightful lunch at this small inn in Niagara on the Lake. We will definitely return to this restaurant in the future. Next time we will try dinner where they have a tasting menu. For lunch we had soup (cold asparagus soup and celeriac soup), Mac and cheese, trout and Shepherd's Pie. All were excellent. Local wines were also very good. Very good value all in all. Try it. You'll like it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing anniversary dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We tried the wine and food pairing menu and absolutely adored every bite. Our waitress was amazing, friendly and did a fabulous job! I would recommend dinner at the Charles Inn to couples who would like to celebrate a special evening.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff but most of all good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The menu the offer is very complete, and what we got was very high quality.
From the starter, foie gras, the bay white fish up to the dessert everything was very well done. Next to that the staff very friendly and supportive , of course also with the wine selection.
Most of all the place is the best on the main street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another fantastic experience at The Charles Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Although we live in town, we save this place for a special meal, and once again it was very special! We had drinks at the bar first, then moved to the dining room. Our waitress Jasmine was very pleasant but also professional, and served us with a smile. I had the Tagliatelle for starters, which was amazing - just the perfect portion, then had the White fish, served with fingerling potatoes - with a Wine sauce garnish. My partner had the greens with the quail eggs, followed by the pork tenderloin. The presentation was wonderful and the portions a really good size. For dessert, I had the Panacotta, and that was served with Rhubarb and Sorbet - again - a really good portion. Then we had a selection of cheese and crackers to follow- which we love as we are originally from England and this is normally on a fine dining menu but you don't often see it here. We are never disappointed when we go to The Charles Inn - everything is fantastic. Tip - for summer dining, there are three outdoor patio's - the front is on the main street, and a small one with table for 2 on a breezeway and the back patio is quieter. A nice spot for a romantic meal outside with candlelight for couples. As it is towards the end of the busy part of Queen street it is in a quieter section of town yet still within walking distance to everything. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HobNob Restaurant At the Charles also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to HobNob Restaurant At the Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HobNob Restaurant At the Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.