We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Meal in a gorgeous winery setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery

Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery
1339 Lakeshore Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-1222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located within Strewn Winery,just a short drive from historic downtown Niagrara-on-the-Lake and the Shaw Theate, Terroir La Cachette restaurant offers a truly regional experience. Through the use of locally grown and raised products, we bring the flavours of the Niagara region to your palate, both on the plate and in the glass. We invite you to taste some of the best wines of the region, with our all-Ontario wine list, and chef Alain Levesque combines French Provencal style of cooking with the best local ingredients, bringing together the finest the region has to offer. Whether it's an intimate dinner for two, a corporate function, or a personal gathering, Terroir La Cachette has the facilities to accommodate you. Stop in for a quick, casual bite to eat, relax on our peaceful patio, or dine in the main dining room overlooking Four Mile Creek.
Jordan Station, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal in a gorgeous winery setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My family enjoyed dinner at La Cachette Restaurant at Strewn Winery. Service was excellent with lots of tasty, flavourful choices. We enjoyed chicken, shrimp, fettuccine with long neck clams and trout as our mains. Carrot orange soup& spinach salad also were very good. Our server was very attentive suggesting excellent wine pairings. Desserts are scrumptious. The featured sour cherry tart and chocolate cake were savoured. Very relaxing evening makes you want to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia K, Owner at Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
HI Wendy,

Thanks for coming to visit us all the way from Florida! We're so glad that you enjoyed your dinner with us, and hope that you'll visit us if you're in Niagara-on-the-Lake again!

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. It's much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    16
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We went there with friends and had a lovely meal. We had to wait a few extra minutes for our table but the hostess was polite and very helpful offering us an alternate table if we wanted. In the end we had a great indoor table at the end of the dining room and it was quiet and private. Our waiter was incredible, both helpful and attentive. The food was delicious and my Pickerel (aka Walleye for the fishermen at the table) was cooked to perfection and everyone at the table enjoyed their meals. Highly recommend for a nice dinner out in wine country.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia K, Owner at Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, and especially for taking the time to post! We hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachine, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Beautiful atmosphere, nice presentation of the delicious food. The wine proposed, from the Strewn winery was excellent.
It was a delicious lunch with friends.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia K, Owner at Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your lunch!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you next time you're back in Niagara-on-the-Lake!

Kind regards,

Tricia & Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We enjoyed a spontaneous casual early dinner on their wooded patio and although the wine bar had closed, we were able to try their Barrel aged Chardonnay. Our salad and gourmet flat bread pizza were quite good and the wine smooth and fresh-just right for a quick bite on a cool summer evening.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia K, Owner at Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hi Maggie,

We're so glad that you enjoyed our restaurant!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope that you'll visit us again next time you're in our neck of the woods!

Kind regards,

Tricia & Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant service and wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went here on our wedding day with a group of 11 people including 1 toddler. The food was delicious, with enough options to suit all kinds of tastes, including some vegetarian options. The service was excellent, with someone always available if you needed anything. They even offered myself and the groom each a glass of dessert wine which was very generous, and tasty! The styling of the restaurant was also wonderful, with colourful paintings and decorative sconces along the walls, and a great view! Next time, we will have to sit outdoors to enjoy the view even more. I really have nothing bad to say about the experience I had here - very much recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia K, Owner at Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much! We're honoured that you chose to include a visit to our restaurant on your special day, and thrilled that we didn't disappoint!

Congratulations on your wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terroir La Cachette Restaurant & Wine Bar At Strewn Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.