We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food in beautiful surroundings!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trius Winery Restaurant

Trius Winery Restaurant
1249 Niagara Stone Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
905.468.7123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trius Winery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $52 - $153
Cuisines: European, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Hillebrand Winery Restaurant celebrates the relationship between our land, our people, our wines and our food. Chef Frank Dodd showcases locally inspired cuisine made with ingredients from the bounty of Niagara Wine Country, and Winemaker Craig McDonald pairs them with wines made from grapes that grow in the same soil. Extend your stay in Wine Country, and allow us to arrange a private tasting in our Collector's Boutique or another Winery Experience prior to your meal.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in beautiful surroundings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We visited when they had several different chefs preparing appetizers to pair with wines. Huge storm came thru and we all were soaked but it was a very memorable time and the food was outstanding--as was the wine. Love this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    54
    19
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Special occasion spoiled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have been a loyal" local " customer for many years, with many upon many great experiences over that time frame. We know and have made many friends with the restaurant staff, they are wonderful people. Having said that we thought we would have received a happy anniversary on our a dessert or something complimentary......sadly no...what a shame. The food is always outstanding....the service was also great but we felt like a tourist and it feels like a slight to us. We love this restaurant but don't celebrate your 27th wedding anniversary here....boooooooooo.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great new experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I have been to the winery before but this was the first time we had been to the restaurant. A really good setting with beautifully prepared, presented and reasonably priced food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining with a view of the vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a great restaurant in the vineyard. We had the Heirloom tomato soup to start with which comes with cherry tomatoes, pesto sauce in the bowl. The tomato soup is then poured over the fixings. Really pleasant. My wife and I shared the rack of lamb, perfectly done medium rare served with white beets, asparagus, mixed peppers, and risotto. Just a great combo. If you like they have a 5 course meal option. For dessert the chocolate marshmellow treat was excellent. I paired my dinner with the Trius Red. Excellent. The service was what you would expect for this venue, excellent. While winery restaurants are pricey, it is definitely worth it if you travel all the way to Niagara on the lake. Treat yourself!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good food but watch what you order”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were a group of 8 went to Trius for Saturday lunch. It is beautiful restaurant over looking the vineyard. We sit on patio under a huge umbrella. The service was good. We had Spring Green Asparagus $12, it is a very small portion, not worth it. Atlanta Scallop is also an appetizer $14. the portion is so tiny. The best deal is the mean course. We had Lamb Sirloin, Port Chop, Salmon Filet. Main course portion is also small, but compare to appetizer, mean course is better value.
Quality of food is good, view is good. Will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trius Winery Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Trius Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trius Winery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.