We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an interesting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Epicurean Fine Foods

Epicurean Fine Foods
84 Queen St | Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-3408
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Epicurean Fine Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
farmingdale, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“an interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stopped here for a quick lunch on a Monday afternoon and it was a nice little spot. There were plenty of tables inside and the line to order food seemed to move fairly quickly. Sandwiches and salads were pre-made and you essentially just had to point to what you wanted. Everyone enjoyed their selections. Drinks are picked up separately at the bar and the server seemed a tiny bit overwhelmed when too many orders came in. All in all, a nice spot for resting your feet from a full day of shopping and sightseeing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    133
    52
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We came here for dinner as it was included in the winery tour package we booked. We were a large group, which can sometimes be an issue at restaurants, but we had little to no issues. The service was great! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. I ordered the caprese salad (which was quite large.. I was actually fairly full after eating it!), the duck which was very tasty (I wasn't fussy on the plain vegetables that were served with it), and the gelato sampler. Overall our meal was very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tops for salads!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Of course the quiche, the wraps and other sandwiches are good too, but the array of salads offered is varied and delicious. This has been our go-to place for lunch every August for the 10 years we've attended the Shaw Festival. We also enjoy sitting outside under the big trees and market umbrellas.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Found a fly in our food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This place is disgusting. We should've known not to come here given that it was a Saturday afternoon and only a couple of tables were filled, but we needed to grab a quick bite before heading out. My friend got a salad and found a dead fly marinated in it. She brought it back inside and told the cashier, who chuckled and asked if she wanted money back. No apologies or asking how they can make it up to her. I would be surprised if they passed their most recent health inspection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We expected more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner, after smelling the food cooking when walking by. We noticed they had a nice patio in the back. We seemed to have to wait a long time for a table even though it was not busy. We got seated and the staff seemed nervous or inexperienced. We ordered a glass of wine to start and we both ordered the steak frites($35 a plate) We seemed to wait a while for dinner to come. While waiting there was a skunk walking around under the tables looking for food. There was no bread or anything to start off the meal. The food came and it was a good size steak, 4 small beans and a side order of fries (thin cut previously frozen fries), with garlic mayo, which was yummy. Steaks were cooked very nicely, seasoned well. We ordered cherry pie that we saw in a showcase, but that wasn't on the menu. We each asked for a piece but only got one with 2 forks. When the bill arrived we had to leave because we noticed the smell of skunk. Overall it was a nice night but we could have gone to the Keg and received a much better meal for the same price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epicurean Fine Foods also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Epicurean Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epicurean Fine Foods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.