We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butler's Bar & Grill

Butler's Bar & Grill
284 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-0049
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Stop by for light fare, finger foods, burgers and sandwiches and not to mention the best wings and pizza in town! Play a game of pool or darts, or watch your favourite sports on one of our flat screen TVs. We are located next to the Colonel Butler Inn. Open year round. Delivery available.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It's in a bit of a non descript building, and hard to find behind the Best Western hotel, but well worth the search. The ambience is that of an old pub, with billiard tables and several large screen TV's, so it is not an place for an intimate meal. However, if you are looking for good food at very reasonable prices, this is where to go in NOTL. The service is friendly and the meals were served quickly. It was quiet the last time we were there, but on another occasion it was busy, and quite noisey. The food selection is extensive, the portions are a fair size and the beer prices are very reasonable. Perhaps not too good for young families, but ceretainly fine for friends and larger parties.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Butler's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the food and found our pricing reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Not Too Expensive But Service Could Be Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I ordered the chicken parmesan "sandwich" with soup and coffee for a Saturday lunch. The Italian wedding pasta soup was good and the sandwich was fine. The total with tax came to $12.43. When I sat down the seat cushion was detached from the chair so I had to be careful to not pinch my fingers. My coffee was empty and had to ask for a second. I paid with a credit card and the waitress asked if I want my receipt. (Why would you not need a receipt to make sure the total on your credit card statement matched?) The men's washroom had a lot of writing on the wall and needed updating.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Butler's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at Butler's. I'm sorry you had to wait for coffee. As we only open for lunch and dinner, we do not typically serve a lot of coffee so the machine we use only brews one cup at a time as we would often otherwise waste an entire pot every time we brewed one. Thank you for mentioning the walls in the bathroom, the have now been painted over and look brand new. I'm glad you enjoyed the food and we hope to be able to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We would never have eaten here by choice because it doesn' look like much but if you like friendly service, wonderful food and a break from the NOL prices, you willl not be disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Butler's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Sometimes it is difficult to properly present ourselves from the street as the building is limited in presentation due to being an old beer store, but we take great pride in what happens when our guests enter and I'm so happy to hear that you received the service and food that we have become known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food is good, wait is a little long”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The service was very friendly, we waited 40 minutes for our food, I had a burger and my partner had a club sandwich. It wasn't busy, so not sure why it took so long. The food was good. It was about 1:00 p.m., didn't look like anyone was cooking till about 25 minutes after we ordered. We wolfed down our food as we were pretty hungry. Server was very friendly.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Butler's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that the food took longer than it should have as our menu items are normally prepared very quickly. Sometimes, when our delivery service is very busy, the kitchen gets a little slowed down even though they don't look busy in the restaurant but this is something we continually work to improve on. Thank you again and I hope you will join us at Butler's Grill again the next time you visit Niagara-on-the-Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Ordered from this place many times and tried various items on the menu. The pizza here is always fantastic as is anything else I've ordered! The manager, Trish, is very friendly and cares about the business and it shows through her interaction with customers.

Will continue to return!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Butler's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We feel very lucky to have Trish as a part of our team as she definitely cares about the happiness of our guests and the quality of our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butler's Bar & Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Virgil, Niagara-on-the-Lake
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Butler's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butler's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.