We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Road Grille - CLOSED

Stone Road Grille
238 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
(905) 468-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“An absolute treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I had dinner in the Stone Road Grille a couple of weeks ago and it was an absolute treat. It was our first visit there and happily we were driven by someone who knew where they were going because we would never have thought that such sophisticated food would come from a non-descript strip mall. We had reservations, which I think would be a must on a Friday or Saturday night before a Shaw performance. As a first course we had a dozen oysters with a delicious tart sauce. Next we both had the fish special (perch or pickerel I can't remember) which was beautifully cooked. We shared a dessert which was also very tasty. There are many terrific places to dine in NOTL but this I think is one of the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    123
    50
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“The biggest cotton candy surprise ever! perfect service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We got this recommendation at the Peller Winery without checking any reviews before.
If you see this restaurant from the outside, very inconspicious - you would never expect a stylish and well designed interiour. We enjoyed a delicious dinner, perfect service (a server with great wine knowledge) and as dessert, the biggest cotton candy surprise ever!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent good, great menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Stone Road Grille in NOTL is a great restaurant in a strip mall's clothing. They change their menu regularly. We were there in July 2013 and we started with the cheese plate, charcuterie (I could list it all but I'll just say the chicken liver mousse was dangerously good) and salad; then had the pickerel, duck confit and the chicken (yes, the chicken!). All was wonderful with great seasoning and perfectly cooked. The desert was good but not as good as the mains and appetizers. The wine list of local wines was brilliant; we had a few bottles of the Henry of Pelham Cuvee Rose.
You won't believe where it is when you get to the strip mall and the largest sign says "REST" with "stone road grille" in wee letters underneath. The restaurant is a welcome contrast inside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This restaurant was highly recommended by some friends and it completely lived up to our expectations. The service was excellent, each of our courses were great and there is a wide selection of local wine. Each dish was perfectly seasoned and the portions were large.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent raw oysters, frites with aioli, chicken confit. Attentive service. Small- reserve ahead. Good sandwich shop next door owned by same people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Road Grille also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Road Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.