We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The inexpensive, no reservation side of the Rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Road Grille - CLOSED

Stone Road Grille
238 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
(905) 468-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The inexpensive, no reservation side of the Rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

A quick to-go snack from the same kitchen as the Rest restaurant; best low cost food in town

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    123
    50
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best every year since it opened”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent and imaginative food at reasonable prices. Ask for the cucumber water - it is no longer offered to everyone, just the cognoscenti.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Terrific food, delicious wine, and excellent service. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
“Unforgettable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our first time at Stone Road Grill but it definitely won't be our last. From the moment we walked in, everything about our dining experience was perfect. Service was impeccable, the servers were extremely knowledgeable about the menu and food was as good as it gets. My husband and I each had an appetizer and chose a small size entree for our main course. The fact that you can choose a small or a full size portion of each entree is brilliant, since it allows you to enjoy both an appetizer and entree and still save room for one of their unique and delicious desserts.

While the outside of the restaurant is unremarkable and in a nondescript strip mall, the inside is modern and edgy yet full of charm and great ambiance. If you are a true food connoisseur, do not miss an opportunity to dine here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just to clarify with readers - there are 2 'Rests'. One is "Rest" which is a proper restaurant where you sit down and have your meal. Then, because of their success, they opened, a couple of doors down, a casual take out place called "Rest To Go Go". Both are excellent - and their menus are not the same. They are located in a small strip mall with parking right out front.
I love Rest To Go Go. Several times a month, on my way driving home, I give them a call and place an order for a sandwich to be picked up. Their Reuben is the best - it is huge and a full meal made with their own home made bread. They also make a great meat loaf sandwich. Excellent pizzas as well. They wrap up the sandwiches in butchers paper and include a nice dill pickle as well.
If you are a tourist in the area, it is a great place to just pick up a sandwich and eat it in your car or head out for a picnic. They make great poutine as well.
I have never been disappointed with anything I have ordered there!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Road Grille also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Road Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.