We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect example of why we stay at B & Bs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
800 Charlotte Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect example of why we stay at B & Bs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Friends often ask why we choose B & Bs over hotels. They wouldn't ask that question if they spent a night at Hoppy's B & B in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We were there last weekend for a combination birthday/anniversary trip. I admit I was a bit skeptical whether this B & B could live up to its reputation but I can say without reservation (a little hotel humour!) the 5-star reviews are well deserved.
Amitha and Terence (Hoppy) are the very definition of gracious hosts and good company. And Starling, (Mum Hoppy!) holds a special place in my heart--she knows why!
Every detail is meticulously attended to--bathrobes, slippers, toiletries galore, the most glorious cushiony beds...and the food...simply superb. I was a bit nervous whether our friends would like the asian fusion breakfast but they LOVED it! If wine country hadn't been calling we would have happily sat nibbling all day.
We can't wait to return. Niagara-on-the-Lake is one of our favourite destinations and now it's even better.

Room Tip: Unfortunately there is no fitness center, but the program would not let me uncheck it--sorry. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi there,

It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us and being able to meet your friends too. The value of your review is priceless and it outweighs any type of advertizing and promotions - which at times we have experienced has to be taken with a grain of salt.

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to add your thoughts so others can make a choice when looking for a place to stay.

Wish you and your family the best and a safe winter.

The Hoppys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
125
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful anniversary weekend at Hoppy's - both hosts are most gracious, interesting and full of helpful hints and tips for the area. The bed was uber-comfortable, the room was beautifully appointed, quiet and very clean and sunny, and close to theatres and downtown and walking paths...and the breakfast was terrific, all around - fresh, delicious, hearty portions, home-made and home-baked everything with lots of love. Thank you - we had a great time and will be back!

Room Tip: Burgundy room with ensuite - beautiful, sunny, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi there.

The best gift one can give is ones thoughts on how they felt when they stayed with us .

Thank you very much for your beautiful and genuine feed back. We are glad we were able to play a small part in making your get a way for your anniversary special.

When you next return, do let us know any significance and we will do our part in helping you remember

Thank you again for your feedback and wish you a safe and happy Autumn!

Sincerely

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertille, MI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My sister and I were recently in Niagara on the Lake celebrating our birthdays and had a delightful experience by staying with two of the nicest people (and their friendly dog). Terrence, Amitha and Odie(of course) were the most hospitable hosts. They made us feel at home immediately and I just can't say enough good things about our stay. Their home is very clean and our room and beds were very nice and comfortable. The breakfasts we had were phenomenal. If you are not happy and full when you leave the breakfast table, it is your own fault. Terrence is a wonderful chef! I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend this lovely home in a beautiful little town on the lake. Thank you again Amitha and Terrence. You made our stay very memorable. I fell in love with Odie!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello there

After the many years we have done this, we are definitely finding out that Odie is the good luck charm in our 'charm bracelet' Thank you for your time in giving us your honest opinion

Your feed back is always important and we appreciate every one of them since the exposure is light years a way from any other type of advertizing.

Please do come back when you need to unwind, kick back and get some much needed R&R


Have a safe and beautiful Autumn!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our third time to stay at Hoppy's and it was once again terrific! We had good weather, so we could take advantage of the large pool, which offered a great way to relax in the late afternoon. As always, the breakfasts were tasty and plentiful. Hoppy and Ametha gave us good suggestions for places to eat and coupons for some wine tasting. Their home is most comfortable, always a joy to return to!

Room Tip: We like to stay in the room with the attached bath, although the room with the bath across the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your beautiful comments and for taking the time out of your busy day to let us and our future guest know of your experience. We always reflect on our past guest and new friends once they have left . The feed back keeps us doing our best and providing a reason for guests to comeback to Hoppys

Have a safe and beautiful Autumn.

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay, lovely hosts and an adorable dog, the breakfasts were scrumptious and the accommodation excellent. Book this accommodation and you won't be disappointed.Great venue in a lovely town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi,

Hope your weather is still nice.

No sooner had I sent off your picture did we see your comment and review. Thank you for your time and effort, no amount of advertizing gives us the rewards of actual guest feed back.

We appreciate it a good deal. .
Have a safe one

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in late August, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
This was the most modern B&B we had stayed at, but we wanted to relax by a pool, so we did not expect a "Circa" residence, as this was a priority. Hoppy's met our all our expectations, and left us relaxed and refreshed!
We arrived shortly after 3 PM on a hot Thursday after a long drive dealing with the summer highway season.. AKA, construction. What was a 3 1/2 hour drive home on the weekend was a 5+ hour drive on a weekday. Hoppy (AKA Terrance) met us at the door, showed us to the room, and served my wife a Wonderful Iced Tea! We quickly oriented ourselves with the house, changed into our swim suits, and spent a relaxing few hours sitting in the shade by the pool... ahhhhhh!!!!!
A leisurely walk down to main street, approximately 20 minutes, strolled by the shops, had dinner, then home for a restful sleep.
Breakfast the next morning was very good. Eggs cooked to order, AMAZING banana bread, fruit, coffee, and we were ready for the day. We started by using the bikes provided to ride along the gorge. A wonderful few hours spent relaxing. The owners provided us with tools to adjust the seats of the bikes, and the bikes worked wonderfully.
Amenities such as pool towels and pool deck shoes were unexpected extras!!
Cannot end the review without mentioning Odie, the house dog! You think you know the breed mix when you see him, but cannot believe it could ever happen..... it did!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello once again,

As always our guest satisfaction is paramount. The fact that you took the time to add feedback is very much appreciated and all feed back is taken with a view to improve or validate our efforts - Nothing is taken for granted. We also would like you to give us a return visit if ever you are back in this beautiful region. Wish you the best of Fall and the rest of the year.

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our first time at Hoppys and we were certainly impressed, but my friend and I are dog lovers - and we've met few dogs as nice as Odie in our B&B travels. And Amitha and Hoppy were wonderful hosts - as was their Mum, who we saw a fair amount of. But really, it was the Asian Fusion breakfast that impressed us - we've had so many disappointments at places claiming to have "gourmet" breakfasts. The Asian Fusion was a rare delight, if you go to Hoppy's and do not have it you are not getting the full experience.

Hoppy's dry sense of humour was a bit off-putting once or twice, but that's standard in the bed and brekfast universe so it can't be said to detract from the place at all!

Room Tip: If you want the Cinnamon Bark room set up as a King instead of two twins, make that extremely clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your time in adding a review of your stay at our home this Summer. All our guests are the reason we keep running our B&B year after year and every comment is accepted with thanks and an open mind. Often, our guests make us feel like we've known them for longer than a day or two - simply because they feel relaxed and comfortable in short while. We wish you the best for the rest of the year.

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 800 Charlotte Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppy's Bed and Breakfast, A hidden gem, far from the crowds but still within 2 min drive. Experienced chef, grat gourmet breakfasts with a wide choice. Library, solar heated pool, and all the nice extra touches you expect only at larger hotels. Our promise! You will want to come back to us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.