We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
800 Charlotte Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hoppy's is a very friendly family orientated place. Our room was very clean and comfortable and our hosts very informative and helpful. The breakfasts were top quality and we were treated to a tasty Shrilankan breakfast too! We loved the area and particularly the wineries.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate the time you took to write one for us and as we well know, it is word of mouth more than anything else that helps us move on. Thanks also for coming back to our place. Hope this finds you in good health. Have a safe one

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
125
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Quiet location, very clean room, wonderful breakfasts, welcoming hosts. We had a night swim in the pool after a long day of theatre and shopping. Terence and Amitha have the talent of making you feel entirely at home. We will definitely be coming back to Hoppy's.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hello there,

Just a brief note to thank for taking the time from your schedule to add a review about your experience at Hoppys I always gives us pleasure when we here our past guest review our property and give us feedback. Hope you have a safe Autumn and good health.

The best to you and yours

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Everything was great -- house, beds, breakfast (with homemade scones one day and the Asian breakfast the next), and especially the people. It is a short drive to the theatres, but it is close to our favorite winery: Caroline Cellars. highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay, we appreciate each comment as it helps people to make a confident choice on where to stay when on vacation

Best wishes

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast for one night in August, 2012.

We were warmly greeted upon arrival by both Terence and Amitha (and Odie!). We stayed in the Cinnamon Bark room which provides a King size bed and an ensuite bathroom.

We found the room to be clean, quiet, and calming. Of particular note are the "extras" all around the room. You can tell the owners have listened to input from guests as you can find items like earplugs, sanitized flip-flops, pool towels, designer shampoos etc. Pretty much anything that you might need during your stay is located somewhere in the room, and even a large number of "wow, who would have thought of that?" items such as the Shimmering Body Powder my wife discovered in the bathroom.

Our only complaint is that the bed mattress is approaching worn-out status. It was unevenly supportive depending on exactly where you slept. The pillows were rock-hard as well; one of us found this pleasant, and the other did not. In any case, this is just a minor issue and did not seriously detract from our enjoyment of our stay or even our sleep quality.

We were invited to swim in the large in-ground pool in the backyard and it was a pleasant experience. The water was perhaps a bit too warm for aggressive swimming, but nearly perfect for a nice, calm float in the water or relaxing strokes around the pool.

Breakfast was very tasty, and created with our particular needs in mind. We were very happy that Terence and Amitha spent time talking with us over breakfast. It was very nice and genuine and makes you feel welcome.

The location of Hoppy's is Perfect (with a capital "P") for those who wish to bicycle the trails in Niagara-on-the-lake. You are no more than a 1 minute pedal from the park where you can pick up the bike trails in any direction.

We're pleased to recommend Hoppy's as a fine place to stay when visiting the Niagara area, and we would be hard-pressed to find better value for the money in the town.

We're looking forward to staying at Hoppy's again!

Room Tip: Stay in the Cinnamon Bark Room if you can! And bring your bathing suit; the pool is a worthwhile e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hi Guys! Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay. Its feedback from guests that help us constantly try and improve. Glad you were pleased with your overall stay. So sorry to hear of your issue with the pillows that were provided, but the rooms come with two extra soft and two firm pillows. in addition, With your basket of towels there is a laminated card that reminds guests to ask for extra towels, pillows or just about anything they many need, and you may have missed it.

Sorry to hear about the sleep discomfort you experienced. Our Dream maker mattresses are just 5 years old, But we can see why you may have encountered discomfort. These are twin beds put together to make up the King, and if one tends to sleep towards the centre of the two beds, one might encounter some discomfort where the mattresses meet . We thank you for your comments, and will make it a point to inform our guests about this.

We hope you have a safe Autumn.

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I just stayed at Hoppy's for two nights while vacationing in Niagara-On-The-Lake. The extremely positive reviews on Trip Advisor were absolutely bang on as this B&B lived up to our expectations in every way. Terence and Amitha were excellent and friendly hosts with a very rich knowledge of the area. Their recommendations of places to visit, attractions and restaurants were very helpful for our first official trip to this area. Their accommodation was fantastic in terms of visual appeal, comfort, cleanliness and useful visitor information. We used the salt water pool twice during our stay and found it to be extremely refreshing before heading into town for supper. The homemade breakfast was delicious with unique suprises both days including zucchini bread, lemon poppy seed scones, fresh fruit, amazing homemade jams and much more. Of course, we can't forget to mention Odie, their chiwawa-shepherd mix who is very much a part of the family and enhances the 'home away from home' experience. All in all, we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting NOTL and would very much look forward to staying there again.

Jamie & Jody

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
This is so kind of you let us know what you think our B&B.
May you have a great safe summer .The best to you

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had such a wonderful time staying at Hoppy's B&B during our honeymoon. They rooms were great and the grounds were very well kept and accommodating. The pool was a great additive especially in July. The food was far beyond our expectations. I highly recommend the asian fusion breakfast. Hoppy and his wife went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. We will be sure to stay the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your beautiful review on your recent stay. The comments go a long way in helping us to be what we strive to be -A Better B&B to stay at. .

Sincerely

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Hoppy's for two nights after our wedding. Hoppy and Amitha truly were excellent hosts. They were very warm and welcoming and made us feel right at home. It was great to get to know a little of their lives and vice versa. The food was fabulous too! The Asian Fusion breakfast breakfast truly was unique. Everything was done up so lovely! The bedroom was very comfortable with all amenities if you had maybe forgotten something. We would definitely go back to stay with the Hoppy's when we return to Niagara on the Lake.
Thanks,
Joanne and Rob

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
This brief note is to thank you both for taking the time to add your review to our page on TA. We appreciate the feedback and the fact that it is a way for first timers to choose a B&B.
We wish you both the very best for your future together.

Thank you

The Hoppys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 800 Charlotte Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppy's Bed and Breakfast, A hidden gem, far from the crowds but still within 2 min drive. Experienced chef, grat gourmet breakfasts with a wide choice. Library, solar heated pool, and all the nice extra touches you expect only at larger hotels. Our promise! You will want to come back to us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.