We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Staying at Hoppy's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
800 Charlotte Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklin, ON
1 review
“Loved Staying at Hoppy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

Date: September 21-23, 2007
Reviewer: A Trip Advisor Member, Brooklin, Ontario, Canada
We had an excellent stay at Hoppy's. We were there for the Niagara Wine Festival. The location is just 3 minutes from main street in Niagara on the Lake. Niagara on the Lake is surrounded by the wineries in the region and home to the Shaw Festival. The house is a bungalow with an outdoor in ground pool that the guests can use. The guest bedrooms (2)are on the main floor. The room had a queen bed, was clean and very comfortable. The selection of bathroom toiletries far exceeded any I have seen in a hotel. The amazing breakfasts were prepared by Terence who is an award winning professional chef. The taste, quality and presentation far exceeded any B&B we have visited in Niagara on the Lake and we have been going there for many years. We highly recommend staying at the Hopmans (Hoppy's). They also have a dog named Odie (part German Sheppard and part Chiauau). He is cute and very friendly and is trained not to enter the guestrooms. The are numerous wineries to visit. Wine tasting and wine tours are a must. The restaurant selection for lunch and dinner is abundant in the area. We highly recommend staying at the Hopmans the next time you visit Niagara on the Lake.

  • Liked — The Breakfast
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
125
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

I was in Canada for a wedding. Had a few days to explore Niagara and so was looking for a B&B. What I stumbled upon was a sheer delight. Its called Hoppy's B&B. I was made to feel at home. Home cooking, charming hosts who made absolutely certain that one's stay was comfortable. Nothing was a problem and the whole ambiance was charming. The food simply delicious all home made . The bedroom was large, light and airy and extremely clean...I will certainly visit the charming place and its hosts again.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed at Hoppy's B&B at In Niagara on the lake, at the end of August begining of September 2007 for 4 nights while visiting Niagra Falls Canada. Located on a very quiet residential road. Very friendly and accommodating hosts. Rooms were immaculately clean.
Breakfast was a treat. Prepared by an award winning chef. A variety of home made breads offered with breakfast. Every day breakfast was different. We looked forward to breakfast.
The solar heated pool was clean & inviting and there was no time limits for using it. We met people who had come back, now we know why. Ideally situated to visit the award winning vineries in the area which is a must, a 5 minute drive.
Ah! don't forget to request a Asian Fusion Breakfast if you like a bit of spice in your food.
A very convienient place to visit Niagra Falls.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Hoppy's is run by Terence and Amitha who made excellent hosts. We stayed in a great room with a TV and A/C and every little eventuality was taken care of (a cooler stocked with water, robes, slippers). Terence prepared a fantastic 'gourmet' breakfast which included fruit, a cooked breakfast (they prepared my wife and I a brilliant vegetarian breakfast with no fuss!) and home made muffins, which we still want the recipe for!

  • Liked — The friendly and personal welcome
  • Disliked — The distance to downtown
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 800 Charlotte Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppy's Bed and Breakfast, A hidden gem, far from the crowds but still within 2 min drive. Experienced chef, grat gourmet breakfasts with a wide choice. Library, solar heated pool, and all the nice extra touches you expect only at larger hotels. Our promise! You will want to come back to us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.