We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History comes to life, and breakfast is delicious, too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782
Save
You added American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782 to your Saves list
215 Four Mile Creek Rd | St. Davids, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1PO, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Tax incl. in room rate
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“History comes to life, and breakfast is delicious, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our week cycling around the Greater Niagara Circle Route. Our younger daughter was learning more about the War of 1812 on this trip. Peter Secord was the uncle of Laura Secord's husband and the first United Empire Loyalist to move up from the states after the American revolution.

Harry Murdoch (he and his wife Colette are the owners) is hugely knowledgeable about history and just talking with him adds a great deal to the experience. Harry grew up in this house, and moved away and then bought the house back, and he and Cole spent several years renovating and restoring it - ask to look at the photograph album documenting the restoration.

We are excited that they are currently renovating the basement, to provide a family size bedroom that will accommodate more than two people.

What else to say? Do ask for complementary tasting vouchers - Ravine Winery is a must visit place for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is one of my favourIte B &B's.
It is about 15 minutes from the Shaw festival in Niagara on the Lake and well situated if the wineries are the point of your visit.
The owners are totally delightful. They ask about any food allergies or preferences as well as any special needs or likes for the room .... Such as extra pillows or blankets.
The bedrooms are lovely and have everything that I like: two bedside lamps, excellent quality bedlinen, enough seating so no one need sit on the bed!
The whole house is a treat. It is immaculate throughout. The living room and inviting and has interesting books and a photo album of the restoration (lovingly and meticulously done by the owners- Harry and Collette!
Niagara on the Lake is a very lovely town but it is full of tourists. The restaurants, in my opinion, are mostly mediocre and overpriced. St. David's is a perfect solution to avoiding that.
There are several very good restaurants including the Old Firehall which is within two blocks of the B&B.
And, speaking of food, the breakfasts at the B&B are phenomenal.
Collette is a fantastic cook. Her breakfasts are all homemade with great ingredients. You will not get frozen continental type breakfasts - not in this household! Fresh fruits, yogurts, muffins,
scones, a hot plate such as omelet(changes every day),juice, delicious coffee. You will want to go back just for the breakfast!
You can have complete privacy here, or y can start a conversation with Harry or Collette and they will be happy to share some time with you.

This is the first choice of a B&B for me!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

First time staying at Peter Secord House and certainly look forward to visiting again. Room was excellent as was the wonderful breakfast each day. Hosts can not do enough to make your stay the best it can be, from inquiring about allegies to places you would like to visit. Harry knowledge of the history of the area is interesting and informative,we could have spent more time conversing with them. We felt like old friends at the end of our weekend. We have been spreading the word since to friends visiting the Niagara area. We certainly would visit again

Room Tip: either room would be fine, both quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a superb bed and breakfast. We have never stayed at a better one. The house is beautiful and the guest accommodation is spacious, private and very comfortable. The breakfasts on both days we stayed were plentiful and beautifully prepared and served. They included wonderful local fruits and vegetables. The hosts paid great attention to their guests' needs and were sensitive to possible allergies or preferences.
This is a wonderful place from which to explore this fascinating historical and very pretty area. The hosts are knowledgeable about the local history, wineries and restaurants and could not be more helpful or friendly.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you choose, they are both very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just returned from our third stay at the American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn and can't wait for our next trip to the region and our fourth stay there. Collette and Harry are wonderful hosts who make you feel as though you are old friends who've stopped by. Their knowledge of the area is excellent, as are the breakfasts and the rooms. Talking with Harry about the history of the area is a treat that is not to be missed. We recommend this gem of a B & B to anyone who is planning a trip to the area.

John & Margaret Hnat

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

From the moment you step inside the American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn you are transported back in time to 1782. Yet there is so much more to this beautifully restored home.
Harry and Collette are amazing hosts who are friends by the time you leave. The food is amazing and the rooms are spotless and quite comfortable.
This was our second visit and it was just as wonderful as the first.
We feel that it's the best Bed & Breakfast we have ever stayed in!!!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is a beautifully restored historic home! Very clean. The owners are very knowlegable about the history of the home and region, which I was quite interested in. We enjoyed our stay immensely. Breakfast was delicious. The owners ask that you don't wear your shoes in the house....which was not a problem for us, but be advised.... We also enjoyed the restaurant across the street, The Fire House. I would not normally choose a Greek restaurant but we ate there twice, and had excellent food. Although the house is close to the road, we did not experience any traffic noise issues, due to the solid construction of the home.

Room Tip: I saw both rooms upstairs and they are equally sized, and equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782

Address: 215 Four Mile Creek Rd | St. Davids, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1PO, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Loyalist Peter Secord Inn c.1782, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.