We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come Hungry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Via Veneto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Via Veneto to your Saves list
Via Veneto
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   215 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Come Hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed with Maria and Joe in late September for 4 breakfasts. When you stay at the Via Veneto you count the breakfasts not just the nights. The feast starts at 9AM, although the aroma starts way before that. Maria sets a table of fruits, cheeses and breads while Joe is doing his magic at the stove. Pace yourself because after the starters, you'll get the main course such as a quiche, or omelet or poached eggs. When you think you are done Maria clears the table and brings out "desert" which one day was Tiramasu. We were generally done by 10:00 or 10:30 which meant no need for lunch. And after that a walk to town is mandatory. When you finally get back after wineries and plays, Maria has freshened up the room including ironed pillow cases. There are 3 rooms all very nicely appointed. We stayed in the Verona room which has a four poster bed and a full tub with shower. Maria and Joe really care about their guests and makes everyone feel welcome.
One side benefit is the location. Right across the street is the wonderful Stone Road Grill and Willow pasteries. And the bike rental is just down the street. The walk to town and back is pleasant and takes 10-15 minutes. To sum it up Viva the Via Venato and Ciao Maria and Joe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
125
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at Via Veneto. Clean and spacious rooms, great location close to downtown, wonderful hosts and fantastic breakfasts. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Words cannot express how delightful our stay was at Via Veneto. Our room was sparkling clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. Starting the day with Giuseppe's omelettes, crepes, cheeses, fruits and other unique creations put smiles on our faces for the whole day. Maria's warm, welcoming hospitality is unmatched. A jewel of a B & B at Niagara on the Lake!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at this B and B as we were in Niagara on the Lake for the weekend to see a Jesse Cook concert at the Jackson Triggs Winery. Sylvia and Joe are wonderful hosts. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and most of all you will not go hungry. Joe is a wonderful cook and we even had dessert for breakfast. It is located a short distance from the town centre. We would definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinton, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We had a great time, Joe and Maria's gourmet breakfasts were awesome. The gardens were lovely and it is in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We felt totally confident that our visiting Australian guests would thoroughly enjoy the Via Veneto experience. From the super comfy beds, in immaculate bedrooms, to Marie's great sense of humour and sincere generosity and hospitality, to Joe's extraordinary breakfast, we knew that Via Veneto was the place to base ourselves for our cycling trip along the Niagara Parkway. EVERYTHING was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

In September of 2008 we attended the Shaw Festival and chose Via Veneto as our bed and breakfast. We found it to be an excellent place to stay and decided then and there to return in 2009. Last month found us enjoying 4 nights there again. Guests are made comfortable in immaculate bedrooms with private baths. Maria and Joe and friendly and welcoming but allow guests their privacy. We originally picked out this b and b because we read that the breakfasts were excellent. We were not disappointed - what a fabulous spread Joe provides - everything delicious as well as beautiful. You will be glad you chose to stay with this lovely couple.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Veneto

Address: 215 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Via Veneto 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Via Veneto - New Bed & Breakfast in Niagara on the Lake - Old Town. 5-7 min walk to Queen St. Simple and elegant rooms with private ensuites and Egyptian cotton bedding. Breakfast prepare by profesional chef - we are famous for our breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Veneto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.