We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Yet Private” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maria's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   545 Mississauga St | Box 1735, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
here
1 review
“Spacious Yet Private”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Maria's. We stayed only one evening, but it was wonderful. The suite was spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the Bordeaux Suite. It was clean and had everything one could want for a romantic weekend away. The home itself is large and we did not feel that we were bothering the hosts in anyway. We felt comfortable to come and go as we pleased. The hosts were warm and welcoming but not overbearing. The food was amazing! The breakfast was original and fresh. We also enjoyed leaving with a box of fresh out of the oven cookies! You will not be disappointed staying at Maria's.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
192
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Maria's B&B is perfectly located on the edge of the old town of Niagara on the Lake: an easy walk to the center while also close to wineries and restaurants. We were there for a weekend and found the place clean and very comfortable; the atmosphere relaxed and friendly and the welcome warm and helpful. The hosts go out of their way to make one feel at home; they also go out of their way to prepare an interesting and inventive breakfast that's served at a communal table. One tip - if you have any dietary issues, be sure to tell the hosts in advance, so they can avoid preparing something you don't like. Only other very minor issue was that our bedroom - wonderful bed - had such "mood" lighting that it was hard to just sit and read in our room. But no matter, this is a fine (and thankfully contemporary) B&B. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Heiman5
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

As frequent travelers we prefer small, comfortable hotels with personalized service. Maria's B&B delivers in abundance.

A few favorite things- we arrived from London (GB) and needed some rest- the beds are ridiculously comfortable and the large, cozy rooms were just what we needed to rejuvenate. Each of the breakfasts we had were delicious: French toast, home-made granola, poached eggs on toast. Marielle's sunny disposition completes the experience and made our trip to Niagara a pleasure. We hope to be back soon.

Highly recommended for a 3-4 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

My boyfriend and I LOVED Maria's B&B. Upon first driving up, there is parking available (which is at a premium in Niagara-on-the-lake), and the landscaping and exterior of the house is beautiful. Inside the design is clean lines, chic style with an eclectic flare. Marielle and Jay were wonderful hosts, always friendly. Our room was spacious, including a very comfortable king sized bed loaded with pillows and soft duvet. TV, DVD, phone, jacuzzi tub and mini fridge were other ammenities we enjoyed. Each day Marielle turned down our beds and topped our pillows with chocolates--however being environmentally conscious they will only wash linens and towels if requested. And the breakfast!! Marielle really can cook, serving it at 9 am each morning she sets out a spread including juices, coffee, tea, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, and a personal plate of some delicious creation-- like breakfast fritatta in a cast iron skillet, with side of bacon, toast and sliced tomatoes. Oh and I absolutely have to mention how spotlessly clean the entire place was-- and I am picky! The location is slightly away from the main core, but for me this was preferrable as the crowds downtown Niagara-on-the-lake on a nice summer weekend can get rather thick.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

As young professionals living in Toronto, we headed to Niagra on the Lake to enjoy wine country and a peaceful week-end away from the city. Our experience at Maria's exceeded our expectations in every way. The home is spacious and sophisticated, but very comfortable, and the breakfasts were beyond delicious. Ingredients were sourced locally and in season and prepared with great care.
I can say honestly, that Marielle and J are two of the most generous people I have come across in the service industry. Upon learning that I work in palliative care, Marielle offered me a juicer to take to the hospice, stating that she felt it would be put to better use there than in her cupboard. I was floored by this act of kindness. It is used daily at the hospice and her sweet gesture will never be forgotten.
Thanks to both these fine people. Excellent work and we will surely stay again and again!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed in their Laura Lynn suite which includes a spacious bedroom, living room, sitting room and a bathroom with Jacuzzi. The overall decor of the B and B was very tasteful and elegant. Lots of fragrant cut flowers inside. Breakfasts were very tasty and included fresh fruit and delicious granola. The hosts were friendly and helpful. They were always available to ask a question, but not so obtrusive that you felt awkward enjoying the common areas.

Since many visitors to Niagara are older, I must add that this B and B is lovely, but may not be the choice for those who can't climb stairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The B&B was great! Our room, the Bourdeaux, was huge with nice, comfy king size bed, giant bathroom with jacuzzi tub, private balcony, fireplace, built in sound system, a wide variety of DVDs to borrow and lots more. The breakfasts were fabulous! The B&B was within easy walking distance to downtown Niagara on the Lake and the owners were a wealth of knowledge on the local area, including vineyards and restaurants. As well, they had many coupons/discounts for local vineyards. Highly recommended and we can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 545 Mississauga St | Box 1735, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maria's Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm and elegance in this Niagara Bed and Breakfast conveniently located in Old TownThree spacious and tastefully furnished B&B guest suites designed for long stays and special occasions, with king beds, sitting areas, gas fireplaces, private en-suite bathrooms with Jacuzzi or whirlpool tubs, plush his and hers robes, mini-bar fridges, cable television, DVD players, CD players, telephones, wireless internet and a carafe of distilled ice water. All bathrooms feature marble floors and granite countertops. Free WiFi and on-site parking. After a good night's sleep in the luxurious bed you will enjoy a complimentary gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maria's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.