We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maria's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   545 Mississauga St | Box 1735, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights and had a really wonderful experience. The house is lovely and peaceful. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic! Nancy and Kent are very kind and considerate hosts. When we told them it was our first anniversary they even surprised us with a nice treat - they really went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. And I must say that the delicious homemade cookies everyday didn't hurt either! It was just what we wanted, a special getaway. We hope to stay there again someday. Thanks again to Kent and Nancy for such a nice time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
198
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Sadly, we only spent 1 night at Maria's B&B...I sincerely wish it had been for longer! The place itself is gorgeous, lovely decor, spacious, and only 5 minutes walk from Niagra on the Lake "town centre". The rooms were all stunning and good value. Our friends had the master suite which with fireplace and jacuzzi was luxurious. Our room was just as nice, a little cheaper so a little smaller, but comfortable and pretty.

There are lots of nice touches; chocolates on the pillow, iced lemon water in the jug, a "proper" coffee service, as well as freshly made cookies in the kitchen "help yourself!" (so we did!!).

We were hosted by Kent who made us feel right at home, and the best part of our short stay was the breakfast. Personally, the hotels and B&Bs I've stayed in before have always had either a menu or a buffet. This had none, but was frankly the best breakfast I've ever had staying away. Kent (guided by dietary and palette choices expressed when booking) whipped up a 3 course breakfast; all homemade and all delicious. From the homemade granola, to the locally sourced nectarines, to the home baked croissant, to the perfectly cooked eggs, ham and toast, it was simple yet stunning.

We leave Niagra on the Lake with fond memories and a full stomach, but most of all, the yearning to come back and stay again...for longer!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights (Sept 14-16). The room was excellant and the property is amazing. The breakfast is incredible and the hosts are very nice and accomodating. I would certainly recommend Maria's Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking in this area. We plan on staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was a wonderful bed and breakfast. Our room was meticulously clean, comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. We are still marvelling over the two breakfasts Kent made for us. This bed and breakfast is located about a 20 minute walk from the downtown. A wonderful place to stay in when visiting Niagara on the Lake.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tree Top suite. It was amply comfortable for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at Maria's Bed and Breakfast. We travel often and try to stay in a Bed and Breakfast when we can. This is one of the nicest B & B's we have ever stayed in. The suite was meticulous and the owners had thought of everything - even down to cookies in a little box when we left. The breakfasts were delicious.and the owners delightful. The town was beautiful. We took the historic tour and found it very informative. We will definitely be back both to the town and to Maria's.

Room Tip: The Laura Lynn suite was very spacious with wonderful window seats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This was by far the best bed and breakfast we've ever come across! And we've stayed at many! The hosts were so accommodating, the house and rooms were beautiful. They have thought of everything! He is a chef so the food was awesome!! I wish they went so far from Texas!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Firstly we were so glad we found Niagara on the Lake from another tripadvisor review that had suggested when visiting the Falls that it was well worth driving half an hour to stay in Niagara on the Lake. This was very good advice as we thought the town of Niagara Falls itself was pretty awful and yet half an hour away is the delightful and absolutely beautiful town of Niagara on the Lake. Maria's was a real find. Kent and Nancy obviously work very hard to provide an extremely upscale b and b. The house is immaculate, comfortable beds (beautiful sheets!),very nice bathroom and attention to detail where everything works. It felt more like an upscale hotel with the bonus of all the privacy you could want and very quiet. Breakfast was delicious - homemade, fresh and fun to sit and chat with other guests. We would love to return some day and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 545 Mississauga St | Box 1735, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maria's Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm and elegance in this Niagara Bed and Breakfast conveniently located in Old TownThree spacious and tastefully furnished B&B guest suites designed for long stays and special occasions, with king beds, sitting areas, gas fireplaces, private en-suite bathrooms with Jacuzzi or whirlpool tubs, plush his and hers robes, mini-bar fridges, cable television, DVD players, CD players, telephones, wireless internet and a carafe of distilled ice water. All bathrooms feature marble floors and granite countertops. Free WiFi and on-site parking. After a good night's sleep in the luxurious bed you will enjoy a complimentary gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maria's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.