We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809) to your Saves list
Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809)
433 King Street | PO Box 402, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Brockamour Manor was a great place to spend the 1 night we had available for our trip to Niagra on the Lake. Everything about the home and and gracious service was top of the line. Especially loved the jetted large jacuzzi tub! Breakfast was a really special treat. Absolutely great place and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockamour, Owner at Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809), responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. We're pleased you enjoyed your one day retreat in Niagara-on-the-Lake and that you chose us for your first visit to our town. We hope you will consider us again if your travels take you back to Niagara-on-the-Lake. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
154
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I received a night at the Brockamour as part of a wedding gift from friends. When I called to make a reservation, they only had their most expensive suite left, which was not included in what our friends had purchased for us. Colleen said she could book us in the room but charge us a small fee in the difference, at the end of our stay she decided it would be part of a small wedding gift to us as well, and did not charge us. When we arrived, she had a map of the wine route and a whole bunch of free tastings at all the wineries for us, as she does for everyone who stays there. We were interested in visiting some of the Organic wineries and she easily pointed them out to us. She then helped me fix my bike as a couple screws came loose from the drive down, and we were off to a beautiful day of sun and wine tasting. Sounds all too wonderful, but the truly wonderful part of our stay was the breakfast in the morning, 4 courses of fresh, local ingredients and if Rick's jams aren't enough to make you want to go back I don't know what else would be.
Thanks again,
We look forward to our next trip to wine country and relaxation.
Robert and Maelig

Room Tip: only a couple rooms have Jacuzzis, very necessary after a long day of biking, don't forget to po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockamour, Owner at Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809), responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your nice review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay. Rick appreciates that you liked his homemade wine jelly- it is his contribution to breakfast each day :-) We look forward to hosting you for your next relaxation getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wonderful visit at Brockamour Manor. This was our first experience with a B & B -hotels just can't compete. The friendly hosts provided a personal touch and advice on sites to see. There was plenty of privacy as well as some interaction with other guests. The 4 course breakfast served at a table with all guests was wonderful. So many extras: candles lighting the stairs, evening sherry before bed, wi if, comfortable beds, beautiful ensuite, china table service, several large porches furnished with wicker furniture overlooking beautiful gardens, a fascinating history... Would definitely recommend the Brockamor.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent -I think any of the rooms would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockamour, Owner at Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809), responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We're thrilled to have provided you with your first B&B experience, hopefully it will lead you to try B&B's in your other travels. As you mentioned B&B's generally provide more amenities and extras that make us great value when compared to hotels. We think our little touches, like the candlelit stairway, complimentary sherry and our great covered porches help make us unique. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Super clean. Excellent, attentive staff. The house is beautiful.
Located near historic NOTL downtown with little garden engulfed porch nooks for reading and relaxing. Brockamour manor was great. While we didnt get to try the breakfasts as we had other plans, the dining room was very classy. Little candle tea lights lining the stairs to your rooms at night. A nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockamour, Owner at Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809), responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts. Thanks again & we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Hills, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I and our college-student daughter had a wonderful 2-night stay at the Brockamour. We stayed in the loft - very roomy and perfect for the 3 of us. The inn and grounds are just beautiful and Colleen was a very gracious hostess. The four course breakfast was delicious, filling and beautifully presented. Colleen is a wonderful cook and we really enjoyed the relaxed start to our day - sharing a meal with the other guests. The inn is a nice 10-15 minute walk to downtown - and perfect opportunity to enjoy all the gardens along the way. Would definitely return! Wish we had our bikes - will have to come back and explore the trails next time. My reason for only 4 "spots" is because the wireless internet would not connect anywhere on the property. There is a PC available for guest use. Otherwise, highly recommended!

Room Tip: The roomy loft with 2 king beds was perfect for us traveling with our college-student daughter. Larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockamour, Owner at Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809), responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for your nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We're sorry the Wi-Fi wasn't working during your stay. Our internet service provider was experiencing difficulty which created problems with our Wi-Fi. I have since spent over an hour & a half on the phone with them and the problem seems to be resolved. We also have a new router/modem on order that they claim will be more reliable in the future. We know how important Wi-Fi is to our guests so we are sorry you experienced this issue. Thanks for all of your positive comments and we hope your are able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at the Brockamour on a Thursday night. I was there with my wife and another couple. We arrived well before check-in but Rick and Colleen were there to greet us. They gave us a brief orientation of the place and our keys and let us park our vehicles in there parking lot while we toured wineries on our bikes.

We stayed in the Lady Charlotte room. Our friends stayed in the Sister Charlotte. Out room was very spacious and the queen bed was quite comfortable. You can look on their website to get all the details of the amenities but everything is as advertised.

The main selling point for us was the beautiful, private porch. We sat out their before and after dinner and in the morning with coffee. One very nice benefit of the Brockamour is the complementary bottled water available any time of day in the dining room fridge. Equally convenient was access to wine glasses, plates, cheese boards, cutlery, napkins, etc., which came in very handy when we made up a few snacks to go along with some wine to enjoy on the porch after a long day of biking.

Breakfast the next day was tasty, well prepared, and filling, consisting of a fruit salad, fresh baked scone with a wide array of jams and jellies, a great frittata, and a nice piece of Tiramisu to finish it off.

All in all the Brockamour was a great experience. The only thing that prevented me from giving a perfect score is that the floors are very creaky and in the middle of the night you cannot go quietly to the washroom and if you're a light sleeper it will wake you up. That said this is a 19th century home and really old homes creak.

I'd highly recommend thisbplace and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockamour, Owner at Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809), responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks very much for your extensive review. We are glad that you found everything "as advertised". We really do try to make sure that there are no surprises when you arrive and that our website and other information is as accurate as possible. We're sorry that you were bothered by the creaky floors but as you mentioned it is a 200 year old house with mostly original floors so it is hard to avoid some creaking. Thanks again for choosing us for your getaway and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a fabulous weekend in Niagara-on-the-Lake.
Rick and Colleen went out of their way to make our stay a special event.
Tour and restaurant reservations were done flawlessly.
We will go back without question.

allan

Room Tip: Cousin Amelia a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockamour, Owner at Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809), responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. Thanks so much. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809)

Address: 433 King Street | PO Box 402, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the history and romance of our spectacular Georgian manor turned bed and breakfast in the beautiful, historic town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Just a short walk to the historic center of Old Town, Brockamour Manor is the perfect location for a romantic getaway or to escape the everyday; to experience theatre, restaurants, quaint shops and wineries! Easily accessible bike trails will take you to wineries, or along the beautiful Niagara Parkway, or all the way to Niagara Falls. Or, you can simply relax on one of our covered porches and enjoy the gardens and trees on our nearly an acre of designated heritage property. Either way, this beautiful home will enchant you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brockamour Manor (Circa 1809), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.