We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the first "Welcome" to the departing "Au revoir" hospitality was of the highest order.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highgrove Bed & Breakfast

Highgrove Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Highgrove Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Highgrove Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   236 William Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
1 review
“From the first "Welcome" to the departing "Au revoir" hospitality was of the highest order.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

What a wondeful experience. We cannot express adequately the pleasure this visit gave us - excellent food, superior accommodations and recommendations to attractions ,theatre, restaurants guaranteed our continued enjoyment.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

When you arrive at this elegant house on a quiet street and are welcomed by Bruce or Michael, you know you can relax in comfort, either in your own room or in the sitting-room or the garden. But Highgrove's real claim to distinction emerges when Bruce calls you for breakfast, the first course of which is always a plate of fresh delicious fruit and the second a freshly prepared hot dish.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

This was only my second experience in a B & B, and it was fabulous. Michael and Bruce were friendly, informative and easy to talk to. Very gracious hosts! The rooms were clean and lovely, with lots of interesting art to look at. Breakfasts were absolutely fabulous! Highgrove and Michael and Bruce were definitely high points of our weekend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My wife and I just returned from our 10th annual Spring visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. As always, the "theater" was great, the food was good, and there is wine (and wineries) to suite nearly anyone's taste. The one constant on all of these visits is that we always stay at the Highgrove B&B. The proprietors, Michael and Bruce, are delightful and the breakfast is "to die for." The many other guests that we've met here have all been quite interesting and most enjoyable. Several of those guests have been repeat visitors like ourselves. Whether you stay in the "Queen," the "King," or the "Suite," your will not be disappointed. The rooms are clean, tastefully appointed with lots of interesting art and aritfacts throughtout tthe house. When others aren't around, we enjoy a leisurely late afternoon in the gazebo in the garden with a good book, a glass of wine and a nice cigar. After staying somewhere else on an earlier visit to NOTL, we've stayed at Highgrove on all of the successive ten visits. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed the weekend we spent at Highgrove with Mike and Bruce, our two kind and gracious hosts. The weather was pretty awful all weekend, but the coziness of this B & B made it almost unnoticeable. Even though we didn't have a car, our hosts were very generous, removing the need for one. We were lent bikes one of the days to forge through strong gusts of rain and snow and tour a couple of the wineries. Bruce even gave us a ride/tour to the Niagara Falls bus depot on the last day! The food both mornings was awesome. The eggs benedict the second morning was particularly memorable. We're liable to become repeat customers here!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

This was my first time at a B&B and let me tell you that Michael and Bruce (hosts) really set the bar high! The house and grounds are lovely, the hosts friendly and helpful (with advice and coupons), the LARGE breakfasts are delicious, and Queen Street is just a short walk away. Perfect!

  • Liked — The delicious breakfasts!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We were very pleased with the Highgrove. We've stayed in a lot of B&B's, and this rates high on the list. And it was reasonable priced, compared to others we looked at in the area.

A good quiet location - probably a ten minute walk to the center of town. This was our first time to Niagara-On-The-Lake. We really enjoyed our visit. We took in a musical at the Shaw and visited a number of wineries.

We stayed in the King Suite - nice size, good bath, and a separate sitting area. Breakfast was wonderful and our hosts were great.

We'll definitely return to Niagara-On-The-Lake one day, and will look forward to staying at the Highgrove again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highgrove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove Bed & Breakfast

Address: 236 William Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hotel Class:3 star — Highgrove Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Highgrove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highgrove Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.