We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Glorious Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbend Inn and Vineyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riverbend Inn and Vineyard to your Saves list
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16104 Niagara River Parkway, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Glorious Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I decided on a mid-week get-a-way for mid-June '14. We were torn between N.O.T.L. the and Fingers Lakes region in upstate N.Y.
We decided on the Niagara region, it being much closer to home and still a great place for a few days. After searching around for places I came across The Riverbend Inn. We prefer a smaller hotel than a chain style one but also not so much the B & B format.

I was all set to book online when I had a change of mind and thought to call direct to see if I could a better deal. Am I ever glad I did!! Our package for two nights, breakfasts, 3 wine tastings, dinner voucher and several more freebees came to just a little over what a one night would have been online. I think all in it was around $400.

We had a huge King Suite at the rear of the inn looking over the vineyards and it was a corner room as well, lots of windows. Furnishing weren't exactly to our personal tastes but certainly fir with the style and ambiance of the place. There was a gas F.P. that was never used but would nice for a fall booking. As I said the room was large, full king bed with nice linens, sitting area, writing/desk and a huge armoire with drawers and a flat screen.

The grounds are well kept, staff were great and the full breakfast was nice touch from a continental one. Parts of the exterior could use some touching up with paint but nothing of any concern.

We ate lunch and dinner at other places just for a change (see follow-up reviews).
No complaints other than it would be difficult for "elderly" to manage a large suitcase up the stairs but I'm quite sure there would help if required.
Overall we would most definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: If possible try for a rear room for a nice view and sunset. I can't recall the room number but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are glad you chose to visit Niagara on the Lake and stay with us for your recent visit. It's so nice to hear you enjoyed your experience. Our king suite with the balcony overlooking the vineyards is a guest favourite offering stunning views. Although our historical inn does not have an elevator, our staff is always happy to assist guests with their luggage.
You will have to return in the fall or winter to enjoy the gas fireplace, which is a great feature of all guestrooms !

General Manager
Riverbend Inn & Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    47
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
167
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My now Husband and I had our wedding at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard last weekend and all I can say is WOW! We live in British Columbia and had been planning our wedding long distance over this past year. We chose Riverbend based on all the wonderful reviews and stunning pictures of the property, and I must say we were not disappointed when we saw the property ourselves a few days before the wedding. I can't say enough about Antonetta, the event coordinator at the hotel. She was in constant contact with us throughout the whole planning process and made sure our special day went seamless. We had nothing but compliments from all of our guests about how wonderful everything was from the set-up, to the service staff and how delicious the food was. I also wanted to thank Antonetta and the staff for kicking my husband off the property the morning of the wedding! Like Antonetta, he is an event coordinator and couldn't help but come to the property the morning of the wedding so see if anyone needed help with anything but was rightly sent back to enjoy his morning with his grooms men. All I can say is that if you are wanting to have a gorgeous, intimate outdoor wedding with impeccable service, then Riverbend Inn is a fabulous choice. We look forward to coming back in the future to celebrate many anniversaries to come. Thank you again Antonetta and the Riverbend staff, our dream wedding would have not been the same without all of your hard work and effort throughout this process. We look forward to returning in the future!

Sincerely,

Megan and Marc Babin

Room Tip: Wedding tip: This venue is perfect if you want to be able to have your ceremony, reception and pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Megan & Marc,

Congratulations to you both ! It was truly our honour to host such a special occasion.and are so happy to hear that you, your family and friends enjoyed their time spent at the Inn. Coming from British Columbia and having booked the venue from our reviews and photos, it is great to hear the reality met your expectations.

And, yes, we did have to kick Marc off property the morning of the wedding. We always want the bride and groom to get the wow factor of seeing the tent all done up with flowers, linens, candles and other decor elements.

We do hope your wedding day leaves you with treasured memories shared with your family and friends and wish you all the best.

Hope to welcome you back to celebrate an anniversary !

Manager
Riverbend Inn & Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Riverbend Inn in June 2013 and when we saw another Travelzoo deal we were excited to go back. The staff is accommodating and our room was very nice but there were a couple of things that weren't quite as nice as our first visit - both relating to the restaurant. The food is wonderful but they are short staffed. There were only one or two wait staff that covered the restaurant inside and the outside patio. One breakfast we gave up on getting more coffee, tea and the yogurt parfait that we ordered. Another disappointment was the complementary wine flight and cheese plate. I guess I shouldn't complain (since it was free..) but last year we received twice as much wine and three times more cheese and crackers. I happened to have a picture of my husband on my phone from last year showing the cheese plate so it was easy to compare, and not just go by memory. A plus was the gift bag we received upon check-out. I believe last year we received a bottle of wine and some truffles, but this year we also received a candle, some Brie cheese and crackers (so maybe we got our extra cheese and crackers after all...). We will definitely go back again!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A charming Inn and beautifully located. All of the staff are wonderful and sincerely friendly. Our room was perfect and although there was a wedding happening while we were there, it was very very quiet..highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose this Inn due to the location to the village, vineyards and the fact it overlooks a vineyard. We had a lovely stay. The room was clean, large, and had a great view of the gardens. The king bed was very comfortable. The service was very friendly and they assisted us with all of our needs. Don't forget to ask for their wine tasting vouchers. Although we did not eat there, the patio overlooking the vineyard is beautiful. The gazebo and chairs are very nice to relax in the evening after all the walking. We took a bottle of our wine and some glasses and took it all in. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We love the Riverbend's location - gorgeous country roads, wineries close by, close to NIagara-on-the-Lake, beautiful grounds. The rooms are well-appointed and the Inn has a sense of NIagara's history.
The restaurant, however, seems not to be the primary concern of management at the moment. We reserved well in advance for a Friday evening supper on the patio, as did many other guests. There were simply not enough servers to handle the number of tables. We waited 30 minutes before even getting a menu. It's very hard to remain relaxed when you are becoming increasingly frustrated at how much time service is taking. An easy way to keep guests happy is to immediately acknowledge them, take a drink order and offer them bread, and perhaps let them know that service may be slow that evening. We had to ask for bread and then it was a paltry 3 slices. Supper itself was quite delicious; attention is being paid in the kitchen to food quality. By the time we had our entrees, though, the sun was setting and flies were starting to bite. More servers on staff (at least for the weekends) would have sped things along.
The patio restaurant view over the vineyard was beautiful. With more attention to service and detail, a dining experience here could be quite memorable (for the right reasons.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We do pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service even on extremely busy evenings and regret that your recent dining experience was not up to our usual high standards. Your feedback is appreciated and has been shared with the team.

We do hope to welcome you back !

General Manager
Riverbend Inn & Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Travelzoo had a wonderful deal on this inn. We did have to upgrade as they did not have a room available for the dates we wanted. However, the room was wonderful with great views. We enjoyed the dinner we had there, but the breakfasts were not as good. As mentioned in a previous review, the Eggs Benedict was not available either morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Travelzoo promotions are a great way to experience all the Riverbend Inn offers. So
glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and dining experiences. Please know that any issues we may have experienced with the introduction of Eggs Benedict on our breakfast menu have since been resolved.

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

General Manager
Riverbend Inn & Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverbend Inn and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Inn and Vineyard

Address: 16104 Niagara River Parkway, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverbend Inn and Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbend Inn ; located outside one of the prettiest towns in Canada, along one of the most scenic roads anywhere in the world, stands a Georgian mansion surrounded by 17 acres of vineyards, manicured lawns and gardens, and only minutes from the old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Recently restored, all will enjoy the countryside from our bar and restaurant, vineyard patio or settle into one of our individually appointed rooms reflecting our commitment to the finer things in life. Drop by and enjoy a glass of our own Riverbend wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverbend Inn and Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Inn And Vineyard Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;