We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for vineyard tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbend Inn and Vineyard

Save Saved
You added Riverbend Inn and Vineyard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16104 Niagara River Parkway, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for vineyard tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose this Inn due to the location to the village, vineyards and the fact it overlooks a vineyard. We had a lovely stay. The room was clean, large, and had a great view of the gardens. The king bed was very comfortable. The service was very friendly and they assisted us with all of our needs. Don't forget to ask for their wine tasting vouchers. Although we did not eat there, the patio overlooking the vineyard is beautiful. The gazebo and chairs are very nice to relax in the evening after all the walking. We took a bottle of our wine and some glasses and took it all in. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    46
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
164
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We love the Riverbend's location - gorgeous country roads, wineries close by, close to NIagara-on-the-Lake, beautiful grounds. The rooms are well-appointed and the Inn has a sense of NIagara's history.
The restaurant, however, seems not to be the primary concern of management at the moment. We reserved well in advance for a Friday evening supper on the patio, as did many other guests. There were simply not enough servers to handle the number of tables. We waited 30 minutes before even getting a menu. It's very hard to remain relaxed when you are becoming increasingly frustrated at how much time service is taking. An easy way to keep guests happy is to immediately acknowledge them, take a drink order and offer them bread, and perhaps let them know that service may be slow that evening. We had to ask for bread and then it was a paltry 3 slices. Supper itself was quite delicious; attention is being paid in the kitchen to food quality. By the time we had our entrees, though, the sun was setting and flies were starting to bite. More servers on staff (at least for the weekends) would have sped things along.
The patio restaurant view over the vineyard was beautiful. With more attention to service and detail, a dining experience here could be quite memorable (for the right reasons.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We do pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service even on extremely busy evenings and regret that your recent dining experience was not up to our usual high standards. Your feedback is appreciated and has been shared with the team.

We do hope to welcome you back !

General Manager
Riverbend Inn & Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Travelzoo had a wonderful deal on this inn. We did have to upgrade as they did not have a room available for the dates we wanted. However, the room was wonderful with great views. We enjoyed the dinner we had there, but the breakfasts were not as good. As mentioned in a previous review, the Eggs Benedict was not available either morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Travelzoo promotions are a great way to experience all the Riverbend Inn offers. So
glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and dining experiences. Please know that any issues we may have experienced with the introduction of Eggs Benedict on our breakfast menu have since been resolved.

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

General Manager
Riverbend Inn & Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

we got a great deal via travelzoo, and then upgraded for $50 more for a room with a balcony and a great view. The room was comfortable and breakfast was great. But dinner was a little disappointing as the mains were over-cooked. Nevertheless, this is a great Inn to be place to "come home" to after a long day of wine-tasting!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Inn itself is lovely. It has a lot of charm, but unfortunately no elevator. We had a nice room, but with a baby in tow, going up and down stairs was not easy. The grounds are very pretty, and it is very close to the main Niagara on the Lake attractions. The restaurant serves a nice dinner, but the breakfast menu leaves something to be desired...including the things that are supposed to be on it. Eggs Benedict was not available two days in a row, and it seemed like a common occurrence judging by the response of the wait staff. Sadly, disappointed with our meals, but overall we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We've stayed here several times over the years and have always enjoyed the lovely venue, pleasant service and first rate accommodation. Dining on the patio overlooking the vineyards is lovely and we often bring our bikes for a little biking along the parkway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverbendinn, Manager at Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Riverbend Inn. Biking along with Niagara Parkway is a great way to enjoy the beauty of this region.

Look forward to welcoming you back !

Management & Staff
Riverbend Inn & Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a review for their restaurant not for the stay. I have been going to this place for few years and I have always loved the food and service. But since last two visits it has been disappointing. Service at the patio is slow and not up to the mark. Also the waitress serving at patio is not the nicest. She is also overwhelmed as she is mainly handling all clients at patio. As an example it's a vineyard and we ordered a bottle but she never returned to fill in the glasses again. Infact she never even asked to fill in water glasses.
Left food and gone. This is extremely bad service. This is a beautiful place and a good service can change someone's experience completely. I really hope that management of this place reads this review and improve the service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverbend Inn and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Inn and Vineyard

Address: 16104 Niagara River Parkway, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverbend Inn and Vineyard 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbend Inn ; located outside one of the prettiest towns in Canada, along one of the most scenic roads anywhere in the world, stands a Georgian mansion surrounded by 17 acres of vineyards, manicured lawns and gardens, and only minutes from the old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Recently restored, all will enjoy the countryside from our bar and restaurant, vineyard patio or settle into one of our individually appointed rooms reflecting our commitment to the finer things in life. Drop by and enjoy a glass of our own Riverbend wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riverbend Inn and Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Inn And Vineyard Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.