We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbend Inn and Vineyard

Save Saved
You added Riverbend Inn and Vineyard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16104 Niagara River Parkway, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Beyond our expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Riverbend is not only one of the most lovely Vineyards we have ever stayed in, but also found the service and food to be excellent.

My husband and I arrived just before dinner and was greeted by extremely friendly and lovely guest host, who then made us a reservation last min to dine in their lovely restaurant.

I would recommend Riverbend for any short-term and long-term vacation stay. Thank you to the wonderful staff at Riverbend, for making our weekend that much more memorable.

Tirajeh & Jonathan Flander

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    46
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
163
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, on
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful inn with a lot of potential, yet resting on their laurels. We would recommend any other inn in the Niagara on the Lake area.

We returned to Riverbend after many happy and successful visits in years prior. Unfortunately, the staff and overall lack of customer service spoiled our entire experience.

Most notably, we had an absolutely awful breakfast at the restaurant. We had ordered the English Breakfast and Banana French Toast. None of the items came out as they were described on the menu. The French toast was cold and soggy, with no fresh sliced bananas. Much worse, the English Breakfast had no mushrooms as was stated on the menu, and the over-easy eggs were pathetic overcooked pieces of rubber that a butter knife could hardly cut through.

After we caught the server's attention ( lucky me) we tried to explain our disappointment. The server rudely argued with us. " that's the way it is, you have to pay" " we have your credit card and will run it after you leave". Now it is time to see a manager. I inquired to be told " no manager in today" I went to the front desk to be told " no manager until 10 am there is nothing I can do". We left our contact info and departed very upset. At 11:00 I called " no manger in until noon" at 2 pm I called " the manager is in a meeting" at 4 pm I called to be told " the manager is still in a meeting"

This whole experience was a comedy of errors. The lack of leadership and poor customer service was evident in all areas of this inn and validates every other negative review.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The website was very impressive and sold us on the quality we would expect of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Then we arrived to long grass and dirty carpets. Our server was rude and was rushing us to finish. I think her name was Amy or Mindy I can't remember. Our son took care of reserving our room for us and said staff were friendly when he booked it. It's in need of a good cleaning and better restaurant staff and just maybe it would be worth the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband, parents and I made the trip to Niagara on the Lake to celebrate our wedding which occurred the day before. We decided to stop and eat at the Riverbend Inn. I wish we would have made a different choice for several reasons. Let me start from the beginning. When we arrived, we asked what the wait was for outdoor seating. The staff explained they could not tell us even a rough guess how long it would be till a table opened up. We sat inside and 5 minutes later, a table opened up outside. We moved outside which had a great view of the vineyard. We ordered soft drinks and I had a glass of the Vidal which was great. All the drink orders were delivered to the wrong person, no big deal we thought. We had the calamari appetizer which was bland and quite frankly NOT worth $18. Then, when lunch was served, again the meals were mixed up. My father asked for his flank steak goat cheese sandwich no horseradish on his sandwich and a side of mayo. The horseradish was on the sandwich with no goat cheese. My husband got the same sandwich but he ordered it as it was described on the menu. He received a flank steak sandwich with horseradish, no goat cheese and loads of onions. So, both sandwiches were completely wrong. Both sandwiches were ICE cold. Both sandwiches were taken away to be returned, WRONG AGAIN. Then the waitress proceeded to tell us the goat cheese has the horseradish mixed in (which it did NOT since my husband had the horseradish on his sandwich). The sandwiches again were ICE cold and were supposed to be served hot. My Mom had the trout which was good and I had the beef in an au jus which was great. I have to say, I was really annoyed that we had four different waitresses and not one of them knew the menu or what we ordered. For the price we paid, I expected MUCH better service. We will not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just returned from staying at the Riverbend for 2 nights. We were initially impressed with the quaintness of the room which was beautifully furnished. We were greeted in a somewhat friendly matter upon arrival, but throughout the rest of our stay was brutal. When we asked a question about using our dinner voucher for lunch instead of dinner, they looked at us like we were crazy. I asked if someone could let us know because we had a wine tour booked over dinner and a spa appointment the second night, and nobody bothered to get back to us. We also had wanted to go for a drink at the bar in the evening and when we asked if the bar was open we were responded to harshly by a staff member saying "there is no bar here, only a restaurant, and it just closed!" This Inn needs to take a serious look at who they employ at their desk...certainly not a good first or last impression. On a positive note, the breakfast at the Inn was great and the wait staff there were very nice. If I were to return to Niagara on the Lake I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Riverbend Inn for two nights in the latter part of July 2013. On the positive side our room was very comfortable and very well maintained although the bed had a huge bump in the centre and sagged on either side. We ate dinner at the restaurant one night and had breakfasts for two mornings. The dinner was excellent and our server was very pleasant and professional. Breakfast one morning was fine although the server seemed unhappy about something and subsequently a tad grumpy. The second morning it took a long time to get breakfast and I had to send my eggs back because they were not properly cooked. While the inn itself is very beautiful my husband and I were both struck by the gardens at the back. We took a drink out to the gazebo and looked back on flower beds that were full of weeds and totally uncared for. The vegetable/herb garden was also overgrown and full of weeds. The lawn and some of the potted plants had not been watered and looked very dry. The patio is in desperate need of some paint and elbow grease. We just don't understand what has happened to the outside of the inn. The folks at the front desk were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We expected more and just couldn't see the value in this very pricey inn. We went with friends who shared the same opinion, so it wasn't just my isolated point of view. Bottom floor rooms were very noisy from upstairs guests. Bar drinks were overpriced and minuscule. The bed was visibly sagging and not at all comfortable. Breakfast service was ridiculously slow and the server kept making excuses about how busy they were yet the dining room wasn't even half full and only two tables were occupied on the patio. I had to walk into the kitchen to get someone to bring the cheque after waiting way too long for it. I also found it offensive that we were made to feel guilty about not having supper in their dining room. After looking at the limited menu and high prices, I would think they would try harder to appeal to guests rather than assume they have a captive audience. In conclusion, we've stayed in other tourist locations at nicer B&Bs for half the cost and twice the enjoyment. If this is typical of the Niagara on the Lake inn experience, I'll take my money elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverbend Inn and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Inn and Vineyard

Address: 16104 Niagara River Parkway, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#9 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverbend Inn and Vineyard 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbend Inn ; located outside one of the prettiest towns in Canada, along one of the most scenic roads anywhere in the world, stands a Georgian mansion surrounded by 17 acres of vineyards, manicured lawns and gardens, and only minutes from the old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Recently restored, all will enjoy the countryside from our bar and restaurant, vineyard patio or settle into one of our individually appointed rooms reflecting our commitment to the finer things in life. Drop by and enjoy a glass of our own Riverbend wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riverbend Inn and Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Inn And Vineyard Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbend Inn and Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.