We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, new, clean hotel in Niagara Region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 York Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice, new, clean hotel in Niagara Region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed at this hotel last weekend. We had to book a place in the Niagara/St. Catharines area on short notice for a Saturday night so prices were really high. But this was a wonderful hotel, great service and a lovely room. The location was perfect for us.
Our GPS pointed us in the wrong direction to get into the hotel parking lot but it is pretty straightforward. There is a nice golf course very nearby. The location is closer to St. Catharines than Niagara on the Lake (historic centre) but it is quite centrally located, less than 20 minutes to Niagara on the Lake or the Falls. There are lots of nice wineries nearby. Ravine winery is right on the same road as the hotel and has a great little restaurant.
We called the hotel to book and they said they had no availability, but Travelocity was showing availability so we booked through them. Checked in at 12pm, no problem. Had a King room as requested and it overlooked the forest behind the hotel – very nice view. The room had a microwave, coffee maker and small fridge, desk with ergonomic chair, easy chair and ottoman and King bed. Very comfortable room and the bed was spectacularly comfortable. Excellent bed and linens. I wish my bed at home was that comfy. Bathroom was rather small but had nice Neutrogena bath products and a neat shower curtain with a mesh panel at eye level.
Indoor pool was very small but nice and clean. Practically deserted both times we used it. Fitness centre and steam room looked nice as well. There is also a patio by the pool overlooking the forest. Cookies were available at the front desk in the afternoon. There is a restaurant in the lobby that apparently has breakfast in the morning but we didn’t partake. There is also a rest stop across the street with New York Fries, Subway, Pizza Pizza, Wendy’s, Tim Hortons and a Japanese place. Sign says open until 11pm but at 10:30pm most of the places were already closed and the few open had only stale food on offer.
Had a great experience at this hotel and would love to stay there again. Price was more than we would normally pay but actually turned out to be worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    274
    91
    28
    18
See reviews for
163
312
24
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Book this last minute on a 3rd party website! We didnt get that good of a price but was no where else in naigara on the lake. we had no car and taxis cost alot to get around, we didnt realise the hotel was in the middle of the country!!!!
Apart from that room was nice, tv a little old! and staff was lovely. Location a big let down

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Not far from major attractions. We didn't want to be directly on the main tourist strip. This was just far enough. Easy to get around.


Nice rooms comfortable bed. Restaurant on site. Food court across the street. Always reserve thru hotel website for the lowest rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

This is the perfect place if you want to visit Niagara on the Lake without the fear of landing in a dicey bed-n-breakfast or paying $300. a night at a pretentious hotel. This is a really nice, clean , affordable hotel - easy to access and minutes from the US/Canadian border -Lewiston Bridge. Right off the QEW. Located 10 minutes from the Historic District of Niagara on the Lake so you can visit all the cute shops and Shaw Festival etc. plus it is only minutes from every wonderful winery in the area. Also 20 minutes from the Canadian Falls and so many other points of interest. Use the fast food "food court" / gas station across the street instead of expensive hotel restaurant - so convenient. Staff was friendly & helpful. It's all good!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I would recommend this hotel to folks looking for a place to stay in the area that wants access to lots of areas and a nice home base. The falls area is noisy and exciting, which isn’t for everyone. This hotel gave us a nice short drive to the Falls, to Niagara-on-the-Lake for dining, and to points beyond (African Lion Safari was a blast!). The hotel is a clean, quality place with nice rooms, nice bedding, good amenities and caring staff. People looking for a place with a big pool for the kids should look elsewhere (the pool in the picture is NOT of this hotel, this hotel has a fairly small sized pool). The grill charge put on our bill by mistake was politely fixed by the front desk. The only negative was the overpriced and crowded breakfast buffet. We tried it once, but the wait for the table and the wait for omelets was a pain and at $13 it was much too expensive for what they offer. Otherwise, free parking and convenient location made this a winner for our trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst, ny
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

This a great outpost for exploring Niagara Falls and the Niagara on the Lake region. Very comfortable and a great value, nice staff. We use it to see Shaw festival plays in Niagara on the lake, and explore wine country. The rieslings are great and the winery dinners rival Napa for use of great local ingredients. The rooms are comfortable and clean with the added bonus of a jacuzzi in your room!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I checked in to my room, unpacked my clothes, went to the bathroom, and it was disgusting, about 12-20 hairs all over the floor of the bathroom, in the shower/bathtub. I swept them all up with a fistfull of kleenex tissues, and took it down to the front desk to tell her. She didn't seem to know what to do or say. Restaurant food was mediocre, realized I was missing the cord for the internet, had to wait for the guy to deliver it, it was a quick delivery, however, something that should have already been in the room in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake

Address: 500 York Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#9 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#11 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five storey hotel nestled in park like sating and less than 15 minutes either from Niagara Falls or Niagara-on-the-Lake features 118 spacious guestroom: 43 King rooms, 63 Queen rooms with two QQ beds, 11 Deluxe Jacuzzi Suites, which includes plenty of amenities such as: The Sweet Dreams Bed Experience, Luxurious linens and duvets and the remarkable Garden Sleep System adjustable bed, fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, 37” LCD High Definition Digital flat screen TV with on-demand movies and video games, complimentary wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, Ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra Chair, Secure PrinterON remote printing, two dual line telephone and MP3clock radio and iron/ironing board. Complimentary 24 hours Business Centre, Complimentary “to go” morning Coffee or Tea. We also offer a 24 hour Pavilion Pantry for snacks and microwavable meals, coin laundry service and complimentary parking and Electric vehicle charging station FREE of charge to our guest.Recreation Facility: Fitness centre with the latest in equipment by PRECOR, indoor heated pool and invigorated whirlpool and outdoor patio. For your dining pleasure The Great North American Grill – Restaurant, which offer Mediterranean & American cuisine and featuring made to order eggs and other delicious items, a hearty lunch and dinner specialties daily prepared by our talented Chef. Prime Rib Special every Friday & Saturday night. We can accommodate in our Garden View Ballroom conferences, dinner parties or weddings up to 220 persons with outdoor Gazebo for Wedding Ceremonies.Welcome to the HILTON GARDEN INN, Niagara-on-the-Lake and great Canadian Wine Region, Art Galleries, Golf & Journey back in time-relive the War of 1812 , “the Prettiest Town in Canada” please come and Witness History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-On-The-Lake Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hilton Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.