We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annette Twining House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Annette Twining House to your Saves list
Annette Twining House
118 Johnson Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1JO, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Poughkeepsie
2 reviews
“Wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed in the Queen Charlotte suite for a lovely long weekend. Located on a quiet street, I could hear the clop-clop of horseshoes every now and again as the horse-drawn carts ambled by! I was able to walk to the lake, to the main shopping & dining area - and this B&B is very short, convenient drive to all the wineries in the region. In town for shows at the Fallsview, this location allowed me to enjoy the Niagara region in the best possible way! Annette & Mike and their adorable pups, Gizmo & Louie, are lovely and accommodating, and their hospitality makes a "stranger" into "instant family." Annette's 3-course breakfasts each morning were healthy, delectable & filling - a great start to the day! I'm still marveling at the fruit swirl appetizer on my last morning!!! I will visit my new friends again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend with the hosts of Twining house in late June 2013. The home is very pleasant, the food is gourmet, and the hosts are interesting and happy to share recommendations, advice and even their bicycles! We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the King George Suite for 3 nights in early May. Cool, rainy weather allowed us to use the gas fireplace in the room, with comfy armchairs and large round ottoman. The location was perfect, just a few blocks from the quaint shopping area of the historic town. This was especially important as there is no free parking anywhere near the shopping area or the park overlooking the water. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, the 3 course breakfast different each morning. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

As a travel photographer for a well known guide book I've been fortunate to stay in some amazing places around the world. This was one of my favourites! Annette and Michael were amazing throughout my stay. So friendly and helpful, providing so much information on the surrounding area. A great help as I was only there for a few days to photograph the town.

My room was spotless and full of character! As was the rest of the property. The breakfast was unbelievable as well!

Couldn't say a bad word about this place or its owners. And it was the cheapest and best location I found when I searched for it.

Definitely will be going back if I'm ever near the area. Amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We come to Niagara several times a year and always stay here. Annette and Michael make you feel right at home. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. They are large and elegant. The breakfasts are delicious and always different. There is lots of food and you will not go away hungry. We love chatting to them in the morning at breakfast catching up on the news of our families. They make you feel very welcome in their home and are always willing to help you out. They will make suggestions for dinner or theatre and what to see or do. Love staying here, such a lovely house, a nice quiet neighbourhood as well. We also like the fact that you can walk to everything in town. We also enjoy the wonderful restaurants and the interesting shops in Niagara on the Lake. Great little town to visit and just walk around looking at the quaint houses and shops. Wonderful place to stay and you will never regret staying with Annette and Michael. You will come back again and again.

Room Tip: any room here is very nice. One is larger and you have your own balcony to sit out on to enjoy a sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited Annette and Mike Twining and their historic House after a long trek from NY on Oct 15th. We were extremely pleased with both the circa 1835 home, the kind owners- who spent time both mornings we were there with very informative chats on the entire Niagara on the lake area and other interesting topics.

The chats we had were preceded by first class brunches! I can't remember a time when I had such a fine many course brunch menu! Well done Annette and Mike! We will be back if you will give us the opportunity. We hope if you sell this wonderful historic property that you will be so kind as to let us stay with you at your new venue when we return to Niagara on the Lake!

There are many attractions when you visit the Niagara area- of course, the Falls (parking is $$ to $$$$$- silly for mid week in October), better to walk from above the Falls from town- less than 1 hour return.

The wineries- Ask Annette or any other B&B owner for free passes

The history- go to the Museum in Niagara on the Lake, just down the street to the east of Annette Twining's house. Learn about the war of 1812 that happened right there only blocks away!

A great interesting and historical venture for you to try; We loved it and will return!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous and have historic content. The house is only a block off the main street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Fantastic place to stay comfortable rooms and fabulous breakfasts which were different on both days that we were there, not your usual run of the mill breakfast but they were both fabulous. Highly recommended. Our hosts Annette and Michael were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming and have given alot of thought when decorating and furnishing Twining House. This B&B was within walking distance of the town centre which has unusual shops (especially the lovely chocolate shop), restaurants and pubs that are well worth a visit, and is also within walking distance to the Lake. Niagara-on -the-Lake is a lovely quiet place to stay and within easy driving distance to Niagara Falls. This was a great find. Thank you Annette and Michael you are doing a great job and would recommend anyone to stay at your B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annette Twining House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annette Twining House

Address: 118 Johnson Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1JO, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Annette Twining House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annette Twining House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.