We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mid-Price Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   278 Mary Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good Mid-Price Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Being tired of B&Bs, we decided to try the Colonel Butler Inn at Niagara on the Lake and found the location and amenities very good. The breakfast in particular was quite elaborate for what was termed continental with eggs and fresh fruit from local gardens. The beds were SUPERB. There is a fitness room and free internet. Very good staff too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for giving the Colonel Butler a try! I'm glad our convenient location suited your needs so well and that you had such a great sleep on our comfortable beds. Yes, our complimentary breakfast is definitely a big hit with guests especially with our variety of fruit, yogurt, fresh baked muffins, and make-your-own Belgium waffles. We hope we have turned you into returning guests and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    92
    27
    7
    0
See reviews for
60
124
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed with our granddaughter at this hotel for 3 nights and although the bed was comfortable it was not adequate for 2 adults. The pillows were rather stiff. On the other hand, the breakfast was included and was great and the location excellent with adequate parking. The staff was absolutely outstanding with helpful hints about where to eat and how to get from one place to another.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Four college friends booked four nights at this hotel to attend the Shaw festival. We loved the facility, the location, and the staff so much that we extended our stay to seven nights. Everyone was so helpful and the rooms were so clean that we we loved the place. There is a wonderful front porch where we wiled away the afternoons playing bridge. A wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have trouble with stairs, book the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Nancy, thank you for such high praise referring our team as the 'friendliest staff in the world'! The staff and I are so glad it was such a great stay and it was pleasure chatting with you and your friends over your week-long visit. From all of us at the Colonel Butler, we look forward to seeing you again.

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent two days at the Colonel Butler Inn and left very happy. The rooms were clean although not overly spacious. The location was a little way out of town, but walkable.
The staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful.
Our only complaint is we would have liked a room safe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please know that although our guest rooms do not have safety deposit boxes we do have them at the front office for guests to use, I apologize if you were not made aware of this during your visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and hopefully you are able to join us again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was my 4th stay at the Colonel Butler BW Inn. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, with everything in good working order. It is also convenient to the Old Town and the surrounding countryside. My only quibble is that in our room the TV was not all that convenient to watch from the couch or the bed. Overall -- a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear John, Thank you for your continued loyalty, it is always nice to have guests come back. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we will see you again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful nights at the Colonel Butler for our 10th anniversary. We'd never been to the area and were nervous booking based solely on reviews, but I'm so pleased we picked this hotel. It was very clean, the room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. We enjoyed the full breakfast every morning. It's a short walk to downtown, a bit less than a mile, but its such a beautiful area that we took our time admiring the view and it was nice to walk off a bit of the Nina's Gelato we indulged in most nights. The money we saved by not staying at one of the boutique hotels allowed us to enjoy our trip even more. This hotel was perfect and we're already planning another visit four our 15th. We will absolutely start at the Colonel Butler again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Kris, we appreciate you choosing the Colonel Butler Inn for celebrating your 10th anniversary and we're thrilled that it was such a pleasant one! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and comfortable beds, and the scenic walk to the town's main street. If there is any way we can help plan your next visit for your 15th wedding anniversary, please don't hesitate to let us know!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the BW Colonel Butler Inn while vacationing in the Niagara area. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very close to wineries and within walking distance of downtown Niagara on the Lake. We found the room very comfortable and quiet. We will definitely choose this hotel again the next time we stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#10 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Best Western, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.