We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   278 Mary Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was very pleased wit hmy say at this location. The room was clean and ready to go when we got there. I was very pleased with the complimentary breakfast, it was very well stocked and tasted great. The employee that was working it was very friendly and very helpful to everyone that was in the room.

I would defintily stay at this Inn the next time I am in Niagara on the Lake.

Room Tip: I had a room with 2 double beds for me and my girlfriend and we had no problem sleeping together in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
I'm so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our delicious breakfast! Like you said, the attendant, Lida, is so helpful and friendly; we are lucky to have her here. We look forward to having you visit again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    102
    27
    7
    0
See reviews for
63
140
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

After checking out several hotels on-line and in advance of our trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake, we decided to try the Best Western Colonel Butler Inn.

The price was reasonable considering the steep prices generally associated with this town. Our CAA discount helped out as well.

Check-in was wonderful as the woman at the desk (Kelly?) provided us with a map and information on where to park in town, where to eat, what to see, and so on. She even provided us with some vouchers to redeem at some wineries for tasting some of the local wines.

The room was clean and very quiet. The shower in the bathroom was great (with soap, shampoo, and conditioner provided in a dispenser on the shower wall. I love that). The television picture was excellent, and the beds were quite comfortable. The air conditioning cooled the room quickly.

An enhanced continental breakfast was provided. Here you could have cereal, toast, muffins, bagels, coffee, juice, yogurt, boiled eggs, and delicious hot waffles. This was one of the better continental breakfasts I've had the pleasure of enjoying.

Checkout was prompt and efficient with Derrick providing more tips on our stay in town.

The hotel is only about a 10 minute walk to the to the historic downtown area and shops.

Anyone looking for luxury like the Prince of Wales, or Queen's Landing, or The Pillar and Post, will likely be disappointed. But you're going to pay a lot more to stay and any of those.

I highly recommend the Colonel Butler Inn and look forward to staying there again when I return to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We loved staying at the Colonel Butler Inn. The ladies in the office were very helpful in giving us excellent advice as to what to see in the area. They even gave us great coupons for the wineries. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was just right to start the day. There was an excellent restaurant right across the street that was so convenient. We also thought the price was right! We were extremely satisfied with all aspects of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked this hotel using my Aeroplan points - so cost us nothing. Believe that price in $ terms is fair for the quality of hotel. Stayed on a Sunday night in August, in order to see one of (Bernard) Shaw Festival plays. Sundays are quiet compared to rest of the weekend during the play season.

Parking was plentiful, check-in was pleasant and quick. Room was clean. We had two queens, as no other choice with Aeroplan deal. Beds were comfortable and had sheet-type duvet cover i.e. no DNA from the previous thousand guests (assuming they wash the duvet cover after each guest - would be interesting to know). Pillows were bulky and difficult to get comfortable on - and I'm not that fussy about pillows! Air conditioner worked fine, though a tad noisy (not a big deal at all). No minibar. Sure, the hotel is not swanky or luxurious, but we found it clean and simple and the room rates are fair, in our opinion. We didn't have the breakfast. Opposite the hotel is The Red Rooster, a great place for a fry up. A bit too long to walk to the central area of Niagara-on-the-Lake - but just a short car ride. Close to wineries, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for letting us know how your recent stay was. To answer your inquiry, we actually triple sheet our beds so the duvet is enclosed and the sheets are washed after every check-out and also during a guest's stay if they like. We hope to see you again and hopefully you'll be able to try our breakfast next time as it is a big hit with our guests!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a nice hotel on the outskirts of Niagara-on-the-Lake. You are easily within walking distance to the downtown area (though it's still a 15 minute walk), and you have the opportunity to avoid the crowds on the main street. The service here was excellent, though the lack of elevators may make reaching a second floor room problematic with luggage. Breakfast was included and quite tasty. So what the hotel lacked in luxury it more than made up in the charm exhibited by those working there.

Room Tip: If you don't want to drag your luggage up the stairs, ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent visit was. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, we do pride ourselves on the service we provide to our guests. Although we do not have an elevator, as you mentioned in your tip we do take requests to be on the main floor and also staff are always available to assist with luggage. We hope to see you again!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located with a 15 minute walk to the main high street of Niagara-on-the-lake. It's a small 2-storey hotel with a friendly welcome. The rooms were standard rooms with 2 double beds and a TV with cable channels. The rooms were clean and quiet with an air-conditioning unit which worked well though a little noisy. Breakfast was buffet style with a waffle-making machine and a toaster. The only cooked food was boiled eggs. There were a selection of breads and juices. The breakfast room was very hot with limited seating and poorly ventilated which spoilt the experience a bit. Parking was ample and free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July while visiting the Shaw Festival. We found it to be a clean but average hotel room featurewise with no particular high or low points. It was a short drive from the festival theaters in a quiet location with a free breakfast and close to a number of restaurants. The price seemed high but I think was reasonable in comparison with its competitors in the area. This was the second time we've stayed here and would plan to do so again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#9 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.