We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but elegant. 1st in hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   508 Mississauga Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BONUS: GOTO HOTEL WEBSITE
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simple but elegant. 1st in hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location - a short walk to downtown. Ed & Irene go out of their way to make your stay relaxing and comfortable.
Made to order breakfasts with incredible choices.
The couple help with everything from free wine tasting coupons, dinner reservations, Shaw Festival tickets....
Priced very fairly.
We will definitely be back.
Lloyd & Connie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated. Looking forward to the next time, Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
149
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ed and Irene make this experience for you. Their hospitality is amazing and you will quickly find new friends in both of them. The room was wonderful, as was the entire B&B. Breakfast is customized to your specifications by Ed, and he does a fantastic job. It seems like you could pick anything from the menu and he would whip it up into something uniquely for you (I ordered a broad selection of items, and was utterly charmed and surprised to find them not only all on my plate and delicious, but with a presentation that suggested this was not my own personal breakfast but something Ed did standard). Wonderful place, wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review Harrison. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is our third consecutive stay at Abacot Hall, and it won't be the last. Abacot Hall is a charming B&B, centrally located in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. It is close to all theatres of the Shaw Festival, a variety of shops, restaurants and wineries. Staying at Abacot Hall is a delightful experience: hosts Ed and Irene are friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. Rooms are tastefully decorated, and stocked with every amenity. A coffee bar outside the bedrooms is an added plus, with a refrigerator provided for dinner leftovers, wine, etc. There is a lovely balcony for relaxing, as well. A full, delicious breakfast is cooked to order by Chef Ed, getting the day off to a glorious start. Staying at Abacot Hall certainly enhances the Niagara-on-the-Lake experience! We will return again and again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
It was great seeing you again Linda. Thanks for the review. See you next year. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander, New York, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My sister and I have stayed at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast for the past three years - the last two with Ed and Irene as our hosts - and couldn’t be happier! Excellent location within easy walking distance of the Shaw Festival and “downtown” N-o-t-L. Guests’ comfort is the top priority and Ed and Irene have been extremely accommodating! The menu is varied and delightful, the food delicious, and the advice with regard to local dining and nightlife is spot-on and much appreciated. If you need anything, all you need to do is ask. Ed and Irene make you feel like family! We will definitely be back again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review Lisa. We look forward to seeing you again next year. regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our first stay at Abacot Hall with Ed and Irene as hosts. First of all, they are very warm, friendly people, and are most helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. In fact, they seem to love what they are doing! There is a nice sitting room on the main floor with a desk area, very comfortable. Information on the area and the plays is at hand. The dining room features tables for two which can be grouped together for a larger number. Upstairs, there is an area with a fridge, spring water and a coffee, tea and hot chocolate making facility. Cups and glasses are plentiful. DVD movies and books are there to be enjoyed. Out from this area is a lovely second story deck with views of the expanse of garden. There are tables and chairs to relax in. The room was a nice size with an en-suite bathroom. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was great. It was so nice to have a menu. Choices included eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, juice, pan cakes, homemade bread, and English muffins. It was nicely presented with vegetable garnish and they try to buy locally for the freshest produce available. We stayed for two nights and went to see three plays. The Festival Theatre is about a twenty minute walk making the town centre about fifteen. That's perfect for us. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning. No doubt, we will choose Abacot Hall to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so very much for the lovely review. It was our pleasure to have you as guests and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to Abacot hall and this time we stayed for 3 nights. We took in 3 performances at the Shaw which were really good. Ed & irene couldn't have been more accommodating. We were tired when we arrived and they made us a cup of tea and gave us many good suggestions as to where to eat. They even made out a wine tour map for us and provided free tasting coupons. Ed cooked a great breakfast which we ordered from the menu. It was really delicous and we could order as much as we wanted. Needless to say we didn't eat lunch after that. The tomato happy face was a really nice touch and the morning we left it was a sad face. We stayed in the Queen Elizabeth Room which has a four poster bed and was very comfortable. We look forward to our next visit - hopefully this year if time permits.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. It is very important to us and we appreciate it. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our 2nd time at Abacot Hall, and probably will not be our last. Irene and Ed are great hosts and will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. If you want something, all you have to do is ask. The inn is very clean, and room sizes are what is normal for a B&B, and each has its own toilet and either shower or combination shower/tub, something not every B&B has, when you may have a shared bathroom. Breakfasts dishes are freshly prepared by Ed in the kitchen and you can choose 1 or more items from the menu (available on the website), as they are basically a la carte. On both visits, Ed and Irene joined us outside on the back deck for some wine and exchanging stories, which is part of the charm of staying at a small B&B. Bikes are available to use.
We would recommend Abacot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abacot Hall BB B, Owner at Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
It was great seeing you again D & G and being able to spend some time sipping wine with you. Thanks for the great review it is much appreciated. Looking forward to the next time. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast

Address: 508 Mississauga Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Georgian style Bed and Breakfast on large private property in the Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, theatres. One block to bike trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacot Hall Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Abacot Hall Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.