We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakewinds Country Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lakewinds Country Manor to your Saves list
Lakewinds Country Manor
328 Queen Street | P. O. Box 1483, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute Offer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I am a NOTL regular and visit Shaw Festival every year. NOTL is a lovely town for a long weekend because of the many restaurants, the plays, and the lake views.

My room at Lakewinds (Florentine) had lovely views of the lake across the golf course and there is a small parkette just steps away where you can sit and watch the lake. If you need to sleep in a very dark room, the Florentine may not be for you, since it's cream curtains let in some light in the morning, and the sink is in the room, not in the bathroom, which may bother those whose partners wake up multiple times at night; however, it is still a very comfortable room.

The inn itself has a beautiful garden and pool. It has lush, English-style flowers and plants (and herbs that they use in the food!), and swimming in the pool surrounded by these flowers is truly getting away from it all. It is a great place to relax and the inn as a whole is spacious and quiet...I didn't hear a thing during the night and was shocked to realize at breakfast that the inn was full! I though we had it to ourselves! The breakfasts are wonderful: there is a variety of lovely, fresh, delicious food. The baked goods are warm and delicious, the fruit salads are fresh and juicy, and the hot breakfasts are just great.

All in all, my stay was wonderful. The inn is walking distance to many restaurants and the theatres, and I would certainly consider coming back (my friend is recommending it to her family already).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
137
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Excellent service, hosts were very friendly. The room we stayed in was quite romantic with lots of character. The Hotel truly felt like we were staying in a historic manor. The food was fabulous with an abundance of fresh fruit and a delicious home cooked breakfast. Convenient location within a 5 min walk to center of town. We would highly recommend this as a great place to stay and we intend to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

My wife and I loved this place. We had no complaints.

Jane and Steve were great hosts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Magnificent. Spectacular. Lakewinds has everything. Warm and inviting hosts, succulent top-quality breakfasts that beat most 4-diamond restaurants in the area, a relaxing porch with a beautiful view, a temperature-controlled pool surrounded by lush gardens, and comfortable, cozy rooms. Plus a pool table, WiFi, sherry at cocktail time, and chocolates in the evening. And tucked away from the main town traffic, yet with immediate town access - walking distance to all restaurants. We have been trying B & B's in NOTL for over 10 years now, and this is the first one we would definitely revisit. (We could barely leave this time, and ending up booking an extra night.)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a few days during our honeymoon. The manor was beautiful, and the Sans Souci room was very romantic. Whether just strolling around the town or sleeping in late after a great breakfast, we enjoyed the slow-pace and warm atmosphere. My wife loved the gardens; they exemplify the effort and attention to detail that these hosts (The Lockes) apply to every part of running this Bed & Breakfast.

The Lockes gave great suggestions for restaurants and wineries in the area. Also, if you stay during good weather like we did, be sure to walk up the road and watch one of the gorgeous sunsets over the lake. There are bicycles to ride around town, and it's just a short drive down to the falls. I look forward to another stay in the future. Enjoy the photos, they are just a tiny taste of what the place has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in the Sans Souci room at Lakewinds. It was JUST what we needed to relax and wind down after all the craziness of planning a wedding.
The room is very cozy and romantic and PERFECT for a couple's getaway! It was rainy and chilly during our stay so, the en suite jacuzzi tub for two was a welcome end to the day!
The house itself is gorgeous and very thoughtfully and tastefully decorated. Piped in classical music set a relaxing atmosphere in the common areas.
Steve and Jane were incredible hosts! They made sure that your every need was met without being intrusive.
The breakfasts every morning were INCREDIBLE .... some of the best I've ever had! Conversation with the other guests every morning was delightful!
We also enjoyed the beautiful grounds, the DVD and game library, and yummy cookies at check-out!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We have been staying with Jane and Steve Locke, the owners of Lakewinds, for at least 7 years for our annual trip to the Shaw Festival in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Jane and Steve's warm hospitality is unsurpassed. The rooms are all comfortably and attractively appointed, each with a unique theme. Jane's breakfasts are outstanding. Trust me, you won't need lunch! On our most recent stay, a cold drizzly day, the dining room was inviting with a fire in the fireplace and beautiful fresh flowers.

Jane attends to every detail. When you return late afternoon, you will find sherry and nuts awaiting you on the table in the spacious front hall. After dinner or an evening performance you will return to find the nuts and sherry replaced with yummy chocolate truffles - to die for!

Steve and Jane are always very helpful with restaurant suggestions and reservations or a tee time at the golf course across the street.

We have stayed at several other B and Bs in NIagara-on-the-Lake. Lakewinds Country Inn has them all beat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakewinds Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewinds Country Manor

Address: 328 Queen Street | P. O. Box 1483, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special and unique experience awaits you at Lakewinds, a recently restored Victorian manor, offering the best of bed and breakfast experiences. Situated on a quiet acre of extensive flower gardens and mature trees, Lakewinds offers you unparalleled views of the golf course beside the lake. A short walk away is the centre of the old town where you will find the theatres, shops and restaurants. Acclaimed by media and repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lakewinds Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakewinds Country Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.