We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious, Kind, and Simply Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakewinds Country Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lakewinds Country Manor to your Saves list
Lakewinds Country Manor
328 Queen Street | P. O. Box 1483, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute Offer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Gracious, Kind, and Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This would explain our experience. The setting, both the proprietors and the guests all added to a wonderful experience. We will do this again. The location and helpfulness not to mention the five star breakfasts - if you are looking for a place to rest, relax and enjoy - this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much. We hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
138
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MontrealQuebec
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've stayed at Lakewinds numerous times and have tried a different room every time and they are all great but our preference is the Singapore. It has a great view of the golf course and the lake plus we are able to open the huge window to sleep with cool fresh air. We love the use of the pool after a warm day, sitting on the porch sipping our sherry or having the use of their bikes to explore the area. The thing we also love about the Lakewinds is the room we have to walk about the gardens, have a fun game of pool or our favourite is just sitting outside on the front porch. Their breakfasts are the best we've ever had in B&Bs. Jane and Steve are great hosts. Thanks for making your place a stay like one at home!! Only recommendation is to book early or you won't get in. See you next year :-))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lakewinds is a delight!That says it all! Like so many guests, we have been staying at Lakewinds for years -- and it remains an elegant and comfortable place. The swimming pool and the large fascinating garden simply add to the pleasure of staying at Lakewinds. Lakewinds sets very high standards -- and maintains them year after year -- and we look forward to staying there many more years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good to have this couple back as always. We enjoy the forceful conversations and their take on the Shaw Festival plays. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

In my mind, an outstanding B&B is one that maintains it's high standards over the years and does not just rest on it's laurels. We have been staying at Lakewinds for the past 17 years and over time Steve and Jane have continued to provide their guests with an atmosphere of casual elegance. Their property is well maintained and inviting. Breakfasts are a culinary delight. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The gardens and pool area are relaxing and peaceful. Each year we feel like we are coming home when we pull into the circular drive and meet friends we have made over the rears. We highly recommend Lakewinds to friends and those who have stayed there have thanked us for the recommendation. We are already looking forward to our stay in 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Manager at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Great to have these guests back every year. We look forward to their visit as do the friends they have made at Lakewinds. See you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I chose Lakewinds Country Manor and Niagara on the Lake to celebrate our 25th anniversary and we could not have been more delighted. Beautiful gardens and pool, elegant and inviting home and furnishings, lovely hosts. This was our first real B&B experience, I'm afraid we have set the bar too high. We loved our room and its 2 person tub, and made good use of the cozy, private balcony. We borrowed bikes and explored town and country, the location was perfect for us and we did not need the car until we (regretfully) had to pack up and leave. Breakfast was great and though we are not gregarious by nature we enjoyed meeting and conversing with the other guests before going about our day. God willing, we will celebrate number 50 together but I sure hope it does not take us that long to get back to Lakewinds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are delighted to have been your first B&B experience and to have made it a positive experience for you. Thank you for coming and please return and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been staying here for almost 20 years when we come to the Shaw Festival. It couldn't be better: a good nights rest, outstanding breakfasts, and delightful hosts. We have made many long-term friends among the other guests who return at the same time each year.

Room Tip: The 2 third floor rooms are delightful (we always stay in "Heaven") but getting up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
How fast 20 years goes by! People like this couple have made the experience very worthwhile and they have already booked for next year. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and it was fantastic. The home and the gardens/grounds are beautiful. Steve and Jane were wonderful and gracious hosts. They sat and chatted with us on the front porch and made us feel relaxed and welcome. The home is across from the golf course and an easy walk to the shops and restaurants on Queen Street. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewind1888, Owner at Lakewinds Country Manor, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
It is especially gratifying to have positive responses from guests that have never enjoyed the B&B experience. We hope they will be back here and that they enjoy many other B&Bs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakewinds Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewinds Country Manor

Address: 328 Queen Street | P. O. Box 1483, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special and unique experience awaits you at Lakewinds, a recently restored Victorian manor, offering the best of bed and breakfast experiences. Situated on a quiet acre of extensive flower gardens and mature trees, Lakewinds offers you unparalleled views of the golf course beside the lake. A short walk away is the centre of the old town where you will find the theatres, shops and restaurants. Acclaimed by media and repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lakewinds Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakewinds Country Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.