We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Inn

Save Saved
You added The Charles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charles Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings in Niagara
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed one night, we had the room with a small verandah at the end of he hotel. Very nice but very small, Shower room was large and the shower walk in type with over head and side nozzle, was great, powerful and hot.
Resturaunt was friendly and the 'shepherds pie' was delightful, most unusual and very tasty

Staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear “Sandy B,”

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing to spend part of your Canadian tour here at The Charles! We are happy you found your room comfortable and the shower to your liking, and hope you were able to take advantage of the private screened verandah. Our Shepherd’s Pie is a mainstay here and is a delightful ‘twist’ on an old classic; we are so glad you enjoyed it! I have passed on your comments to the restaurant team. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Canada!

Safe travels.

Sarah Legault
Guest Services Manager
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    36
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
10
155
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time at this property. We opted for a bicycle ride and picnic package which included bicycle rentals, a lovely picnic lunch, 2 nights accommodation in the Magnolia Room, 2 breakfasts and a fantastic gourmet dinner.

This is a really beautiful inn and the staff were very friendly. The inn is a small intimate setting which is well maintained and has lovely gardens. Breakfasts on the terrace were lovely, with a nice sunny view of the outdoors.

The Magnolia Room has a private balcony area which iS accessed through the common terrace area. Although we visited in army fall, the weather co-operated and we were able to thoroughly enjoy the outdoor space. The property is well situated close to everything that NOTL has to offer. Bike riding along the trails in the area and stopping at the local wineries along the way made for a totally enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your wonderful comments about your stay at The Charles Inn! Our Bicycle & Picnic package is the perfect way to take advantage of this lovely fall weather we’ve been having! Thank you for your compliments of our staff, gardens, and ideal location to the many attractions Niagara-on-the-Lake has to offer. We hope to see you for another visit next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a great time at this B&B. The staff could not have been more helpful, the decor is lovely and the food excellent. And it's also in a good location on the main street of Niagara on the Lake which is easy to walk around.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Safari Loft on the top floor which was large, quiet and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Charles Inn! We hope to see you next time you visit Niagara-on-the-Lake!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willilamsville, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our stay was a gift from our children for our 40th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful weekend it was. The food was delicious, the room was wonderful, and the entire staff was welcoming and accommodating as if we were old friends. The various dining areas and grounds were beautiful and very relaxing. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your special anniversary at The Charles Inn! We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

For our second trip to Niagara on the Lake, my partner and I decided to try the Charles Inn (last summer was our first time at NOTL and we had stayed elsewhere.)

Our check-in experience was absolutely lovely - the person at the front desk was incredibly kind and courteous, and the grounds themselves were beautiful. We were shown to our room and as we settled in we found a lovely note on our pillow, welcoming us to the Charles Inn and a treat of two house-baked peanut butter cookies. A fantastic way to start our stay!

A few people have had issues with the room size - we stayed in the daisy room - but we had no such such concerns. The room was smaller but totally easy to walk around, and it was adorable - it had its own screened in veranda that I wish we had gotten some use out of!

The room was fairly outdated, unfortunately, and there were some cracks in the walls and on the bathroom tiles, as well as a fair bit of washroom grouting that had long since disappeared. Our big issues with the room was the air conditioner unit, which was blaringly loud (maybe broken?) and we had to turn off to sleep at night, meaning our room was less than an ideal temperature.

Breakfast was delicious - we upgraded our continental for a hot breakfast for $7.50 - though the value for the dollar just wasn't there (I had french toast and potatoes, which is pretty much a the same amount as a continental, which was too meat-based for me to eat). I was also the first person to sit in the dining area and order (maybe 10 minutes before any other guests) and I was somehow the last person to receive a tea. My partner was also never offered water, and we were generally paid less mind to than other guests.

Check out was quick and efficient, though we were very surprised that we didn't get the stock "how was your stay" question during the process. We had planned to mention the issue with the AC at this point, but because the question didn't come up we just noted it on our comment card.

For the price point, it lacked some of the amenities of the more luxury spots in the area like a pool or fitness centre, or large tvs, etc.

But, the spot was beautiful and our welcome to the inn was so kind that we may definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: we did love our room - sweetest veranda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your candid feedback. I am delighted to hear that you were very pleasantly welcomed when you arrived at The Charles and that you were able to enjoy the lovely weather in your private verandah. I appreciate you bringing to our attention the things that need improvement and I assure you that we are attending to these problems immediately. We hope you choose to return to The Charles so that we are able to provide you with the exceptional experience that we have become known for. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the small petite sunflower queen room. It was great value for what we needed. The room is small but we didn't need a bigger one. The room has everything you need. There are so many outdoor porch areas to sit in - and the grounds are beautiful...so we would rather enjoy a glass of wine on their charming covered porch. The staff are VERY ATTENTIVE..love them. Breakfast comes with your room rate and was perfect. We also had dinner in their restaurant....exceptional is all I can say...can't wait to come back. If I could change anything it would be better wi fi. Most of the time I couldn't use it...and you need a new hair dryer in the sunflower room...no heat with it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely compliments of our beautiful property and our wonderful staff. I will ensure the hairdryer in the Sunflower room is replaced immediately. We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your stay and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is by far our favorite inn when we go to Niagara-on-the-Lake. My family has been going here for years (in the past we have stayed in neighboring inns) and we absolutely adore The Charles Inn. The staff is great, the rooms are beautiful, and the food is amazing!! Every meal was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am thrilled that you and your family continue to return to The Charles year after year! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Inn

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.