We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
The Charles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Willilamsville, NY
1 review
“Lovely weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our stay was a gift from our children for our 40th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful weekend it was. The food was delicious, the room was wonderful, and the entire staff was welcoming and accommodating as if we were old friends. The various dining areas and grounds were beautiful and very relaxing. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your special anniversary at The Charles Inn! We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    40
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
10
188
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

For our second trip to Niagara on the Lake, my partner and I decided to try the Charles Inn (last summer was our first time at NOTL and we had stayed elsewhere.)

Our check-in experience was absolutely lovely - the person at the front desk was incredibly kind and courteous, and the grounds themselves were beautiful. We were shown to our room and as we settled in we found a lovely note on our pillow, welcoming us to the Charles Inn and a treat of two house-baked peanut butter cookies. A fantastic way to start our stay!

A few people have had issues with the room size - we stayed in the daisy room - but we had no such such concerns. The room was smaller but totally easy to walk around, and it was adorable - it had its own screened in veranda that I wish we had gotten some use out of!

The room was fairly outdated, unfortunately, and there were some cracks in the walls and on the bathroom tiles, as well as a fair bit of washroom grouting that had long since disappeared. Our big issues with the room was the air conditioner unit, which was blaringly loud (maybe broken?) and we had to turn off to sleep at night, meaning our room was less than an ideal temperature.

Breakfast was delicious - we upgraded our continental for a hot breakfast for $7.50 - though the value for the dollar just wasn't there (I had french toast and potatoes, which is pretty much a the same amount as a continental, which was too meat-based for me to eat). I was also the first person to sit in the dining area and order (maybe 10 minutes before any other guests) and I was somehow the last person to receive a tea. My partner was also never offered water, and we were generally paid less mind to than other guests.

Check out was quick and efficient, though we were very surprised that we didn't get the stock "how was your stay" question during the process. We had planned to mention the issue with the AC at this point, but because the question didn't come up we just noted it on our comment card.

For the price point, it lacked some of the amenities of the more luxury spots in the area like a pool or fitness centre, or large tvs, etc.

But, the spot was beautiful and our welcome to the inn was so kind that we may definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: we did love our room - sweetest veranda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your candid feedback. I am delighted to hear that you were very pleasantly welcomed when you arrived at The Charles and that you were able to enjoy the lovely weather in your private verandah. I appreciate you bringing to our attention the things that need improvement and I assure you that we are attending to these problems immediately. We hope you choose to return to The Charles so that we are able to provide you with the exceptional experience that we have become known for. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the small petite sunflower queen room. It was great value for what we needed. The room is small but we didn't need a bigger one. The room has everything you need. There are so many outdoor porch areas to sit in - and the grounds are beautiful...so we would rather enjoy a glass of wine on their charming covered porch. The staff are VERY ATTENTIVE..love them. Breakfast comes with your room rate and was perfect. We also had dinner in their restaurant....exceptional is all I can say...can't wait to come back. If I could change anything it would be better wi fi. Most of the time I couldn't use it...and you need a new hair dryer in the sunflower room...no heat with it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely compliments of our beautiful property and our wonderful staff. I will ensure the hairdryer in the Sunflower room is replaced immediately. We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your stay and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is by far our favorite inn when we go to Niagara-on-the-Lake. My family has been going here for years (in the past we have stayed in neighboring inns) and we absolutely adore The Charles Inn. The staff is great, the rooms are beautiful, and the food is amazing!! Every meal was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am thrilled that you and your family continue to return to The Charles year after year! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We just stayed at The Charles Inn for our first anniversary and couldn't be happier!

Stayed in the Verandah Room on the first floor. Room was perfect. Heated floors in the bathroom, nice big fire place (which was originally used to cook meals…that's right, this room is the original kitchen!) and the private verandah itself was beautiful (nice drapes on either side to have some privacy).

The continental breakfast was so good, by far the best one we've ever had. Those croissants! So nice to eat out on the front verandah, very beautiful atmosphere.

The staff….what can I say except they are the kindest people I have ever met while traveling. We're so happy with everyone we had the pleasure of meeting while staying there. Kimlin at the front desk is by far the sweetest lady ever. Every morning we were greeted with a smile, a little chat and lots of laughs.

It felt like we'd been going there for years. It's truly wonderful to stay somewhere that you're treated with so much kindness and it's so apparent that everyone wants you to have the best experience.

We cannot wait to return and keep returning for years to come. We've already gushed about this place to friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Jeff & Krystal,

Thank you for your fantastic review and for allowing us to be a part of your special anniversary! I am thrilled that our friendly and welcoming staff contributed to your wonderful experience. Our Verandah Room certainly is a treat with its private screened verandah and beautiful large fireplace. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff, accommodations, and grounds are wonderful. And the working fireplaces add a romantic touch! We were in a room with a porch, which made for a very nice relaxing and reading area. In the summer the main street in the small town of Niagara-on-the-Lake has numerous flower boxes on each block, each of which had different arrangements of flowers. It was a beautiful street just to walk down. And Niagara Falls is just a 20 minute ride away! Many cities are lucky for have one live theater.....Niagara-on-the-Lakes has four (the Shaw theaters).

Room Tip: Room 4 is a 2nd floor room (the inn has no elevator), but it has an (almost) private porch overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your wonderful reflection of your stay at The Charles Inn! Niagara-on-the-Lake certainly is gorgeous at this time of year with lush and colourful flowers lining Queen Street. I am delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location to the Shaw theatres and nearby Niagara Falls. We hope to welcome you back to The Charles Inn sometime in the near future!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

200 year old building has areas that look it's age. They've tried to keep the rooms from being too outdated. There are modern tvs, a/c, and decent bathrooms. The Apple room (smallest and most inexpensive) was clean and fairly comfortable. There are tables and chairs located right outside the windows to the rooms on the second floor. So, tough luck if you want to have the window or curtains open and someone decides to sit right outside your window. There wasn't that much activity on a Wednesday night and that wasn't a problem for us.The creaky floors and doors did wake me a couple of times, maybe I was jumpy because you could almost see through the gaps under and around the door, We had to put a towel at the bottom of the door, we like to sleep in the dark, there was a lot of light seeping through the door. Then we had to unplug the tv because it had a blue nightlight. Not exactly a luxurious place, not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I regret that your room was not as luxurious as you were expecting. The Apple room is one of our smallest room types and does not offer some of the extra conveniences that other rooms provide. We have 12 guest rooms in total that range in size, many of them including in-room sitting areas, fireplaces and outdoor verandahs. We appreciate your honesty as we are continuously striving to improve for our future guests!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.