We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Charles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Inn

Save Saved
You added The Charles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Charles Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings in Niagara
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love the Charles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the small petite sunflower queen room. It was great value for what we needed. The room is small but we didn't need a bigger one. The room has everything you need. There are so many outdoor porch areas to sit in - and the grounds are beautiful...so we would rather enjoy a glass of wine on their charming covered porch. The staff are VERY ATTENTIVE..love them. Breakfast comes with your room rate and was perfect. We also had dinner in their restaurant....exceptional is all I can say...can't wait to come back. If I could change anything it would be better wi fi. Most of the time I couldn't use it...and you need a new hair dryer in the sunflower room...no heat with it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely compliments of our beautiful property and our wonderful staff. I will ensure the hairdryer in the Sunflower room is replaced immediately. We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your stay and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    35
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
152
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is by far our favorite inn when we go to Niagara-on-the-Lake. My family has been going here for years (in the past we have stayed in neighboring inns) and we absolutely adore The Charles Inn. The staff is great, the rooms are beautiful, and the food is amazing!! Every meal was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am thrilled that you and your family continue to return to The Charles year after year! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We just stayed at The Charles Inn for our first anniversary and couldn't be happier!

Stayed in the Verandah Room on the first floor. Room was perfect. Heated floors in the bathroom, nice big fire place (which was originally used to cook meals…that's right, this room is the original kitchen!) and the private verandah itself was beautiful (nice drapes on either side to have some privacy).

The continental breakfast was so good, by far the best one we've ever had. Those croissants! So nice to eat out on the front verandah, very beautiful atmosphere.

The staff….what can I say except they are the kindest people I have ever met while traveling. We're so happy with everyone we had the pleasure of meeting while staying there. Kimlin at the front desk is by far the sweetest lady ever. Every morning we were greeted with a smile, a little chat and lots of laughs.

It felt like we'd been going there for years. It's truly wonderful to stay somewhere that you're treated with so much kindness and it's so apparent that everyone wants you to have the best experience.

We cannot wait to return and keep returning for years to come. We've already gushed about this place to friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Jeff & Krystal,

Thank you for your fantastic review and for allowing us to be a part of your special anniversary! I am thrilled that our friendly and welcoming staff contributed to your wonderful experience. Our Verandah Room certainly is a treat with its private screened verandah and beautiful large fireplace. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff, accommodations, and grounds are wonderful. And the working fireplaces add a romantic touch! We were in a room with a porch, which made for a very nice relaxing and reading area. In the summer the main street in the small town of Niagara-on-the-Lake has numerous flower boxes on each block, each of which had different arrangements of flowers. It was a beautiful street just to walk down. And Niagara Falls is just a 20 minute ride away! Many cities are lucky for have one live theater.....Niagara-on-the-Lakes has four (the Shaw theaters).

Room Tip: Room 4 is a 2nd floor room (the inn has no elevator), but it has an (almost) private porch overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your wonderful reflection of your stay at The Charles Inn! Niagara-on-the-Lake certainly is gorgeous at this time of year with lush and colourful flowers lining Queen Street. I am delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location to the Shaw theatres and nearby Niagara Falls. We hope to welcome you back to The Charles Inn sometime in the near future!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

200 year old building has areas that look it's age. They've tried to keep the rooms from being too outdated. There are modern tvs, a/c, and decent bathrooms. The Apple room (smallest and most inexpensive) was clean and fairly comfortable. There are tables and chairs located right outside the windows to the rooms on the second floor. So, tough luck if you want to have the window or curtains open and someone decides to sit right outside your window. There wasn't that much activity on a Wednesday night and that wasn't a problem for us.The creaky floors and doors did wake me a couple of times, maybe I was jumpy because you could almost see through the gaps under and around the door, We had to put a towel at the bottom of the door, we like to sleep in the dark, there was a lot of light seeping through the door. Then we had to unplug the tv because it had a blue nightlight. Not exactly a luxurious place, not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I regret that your room was not as luxurious as you were expecting. The Apple room is one of our smallest room types and does not offer some of the extra conveniences that other rooms provide. We have 12 guest rooms in total that range in size, many of them including in-room sitting areas, fireplaces and outdoor verandahs. We appreciate your honesty as we are continuously striving to improve for our future guests!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay at the Charles inn. The location was great, and the continental breakfast was fantastic! We stayed in the daisy room which is on the first floor with a private screened in porch on the side. The room in really tiny with only a little room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was very nice with a large glass shower with a rainfall and regular shower head. It was very humid in our room. When we got dressed our clothes felt slightly damp. We weren't too bothered by this as we know we paid for a lower end room. If we stayed here again, we would pick a larger room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Jen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and the beautiful, spacious bathroom that the Daisy room offers. We appreciate your honesty concerning the humidity in your room as we are always striving to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Charles in the near future!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at The Charles Inn during the July 1st long weekend. We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary and the staff treated us like family, we also received a nice surprise in our room to celebrate this milestone! Everyone including the front desk, to the maid in the morning were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay even more enjoyable. Our room, the Poppy room was located on the 2nd floor, it was a good size and a nice bathroom. We really enjoyed that we had access to the upper screened in verandah where we watched the rain one evening and enjoy our cont. breakfast on the comfy wicker furniture. The breakfast was perfect, (included in your room cost) We had yogurt, granola & fruit parfaits, hard boiled eggs and smoked salmon and crossants. It was more then enough and very nicely presented. We also enjoyed a fantastic dinner on the first night, the chef and servers were amazing. The white fish was melt in your mouth and the scallops we had for an appetizer were cooked perfectly. The Inn is well cared for and located on Queen Street, about a 5-10 min walk to all the shops on Queen. The golf course is also located behind the Inn.
Would highly recommended this Inn and the restaurant to anyone looking to be pampered!!

Room Tip: Only 12 rooms, I'm sure they were all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn P, Front Office Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for joining us on your special Anniversary celebration and for the wonderful reflection of your stay! Our covered verandahs are perfect for enjoying breakfast or an after dinner drink...rain or shine! I am delighted to read your lovely comments about our breakfast and dinner selections. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fabulous overnight and dining experience!

Sincerely,

Kaitlyn Pauls
Guest Services Supervisor
The Charles Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Inn

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.