We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the best to eat in the Niagara region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treadwell

Treadwell
114 Queen Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L2N 4P6, Canada
+1 905-934-9797
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Treadwell is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Victoria St
Description: Since opening in May 2006, Treadwell has become one of Canada's most critically acclaimed restaurants. Located in the heart of Niagara on the Lake, Treadwell's "Farm-to-Table" philosophy allows Chef-Owner Stephen Treadwell to showcase the very best of seasonal produce from Niagara and Southwestern Ontario. The wine list, created by Sommelier-Owner James Treadwell, is often regarded as Canada's finest for Ontario wines. Please check our Special Events page for a variety of unique events held at the restaurant.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly the best to eat in the Niagara region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stephen Treadwell has always done things well and this new restaurant in Niagara-on-the-Lake is the culmination of years of hard work and vision. The atmosphere both inside and outside was wonderful. We started with drinks outside around the fireplace with a great stone waterfall in the background and then chose to move in and sit at the 'kitchen bar' overlooking the activity of the kitchen. With each dish we were able to see the dedication and training of the team and the quality of the ingredients. There were four of us together and not only were we able to enjoy each others company but were were able to communicate with the very friendly staff. We chose a tasting surprise and Matt and the team prepared food that was spectacular and melted in our mouths. Simply put, we will be back.....and not soon enough for me. I strongly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    89
    35
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Way over priced,small portions. We ate at several other restaurants in NOTL and all were priced better and the food was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“TREADWELL’S MOVE IMPROVES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Early this summer Treadwell reopened in NOTL, on the main street restaurant and tourist strip. James Treadwell, co-owner and sommelier greets us with a glass of crisp, fresh sparkling wine from the Niagara region, a very pleasant surprise. Our server is efficient and cheerful and the bartender understands what makes Gentleman’s Portion, a decent size martini. It’s mid afternoon when we eat, so we share a nice green salad and both order fish and chips. The chips are really good. All the food at Treadwell is locally sourced. Our fish is delicious and we follow with a spectacular and refreshing peach Melba (one portion, two spoons). The patio is a great place to watch the passing scene, but when the weather turns there is a long tasting bar in front of the kitchen that will provide entertainment for foodies and gourmets alike and will become a local sell-out. My only slight criticism is that the signage is hidden behind the umbrellas at the next door Starbucks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A NOTL Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We sat at the bar, overlooking the kithchen and were treated not just watching but also a very friendly cooking staff willing to talk when they had time. The food exceeded our expectations. We rate Treadwells as a "must" next time we stay in Niagra-On-The-Lake.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delightful time at bar/open kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We walked into Treadwell at 9:30 pm with no reservation. We were offered chairs at the bar looking into the open kitchen. That turned out to be far more fun than sitting on the patio because the kitchen staff was clearly working hard, but still having fun, and they also took time to talk with us about the food they were preparing. As an added bonus, when we started to discuss allergies with the waitress, the chef just 5 feet from us joined into the conversation. She quickly helped us through the menu and agreed to modify two dishes. All of our dishes were excellent in both taste and presentation. We would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treadwell also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Treadwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treadwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.