We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit more than a pub meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandtrap Pub & Grill

Sandtrap Pub & Grill
358 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-8727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Pizza, Canadian, Fish & Chips, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are an all ages Pub and Grill in Niagara on the Lake. We offer a relaxed vibrant atmosphere with great selection, great service and great value. Matt and Paul welcome you to come and join them and enjoy some of their hometown hospitality. We have something for everyone including large booths and large screen TVs for the big games. Featuring a full bar that offers local wines and even Niagara's local micro-breweries.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bit more than a pub meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Niagra on the lake wad a place reccommended to us. The town itself was lovely. We checked a few resturants and the sandtrap was suggested as a good place for coeliacs. We tried it one evening the atmosphere was friendly and they were more than happy to cater for a gluten free meal.ihad a 4 slice pizza which was more than enough for 1. They were able to provide a gf burger and they had gf bread, although no buns.
overall the meal was quite inexpensive but the food was plentiful. We would happily go back there for another meal.
worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food/service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The atmosphere, food, food presentation, waitress excellent. But long wait between ordering and actually getting your order. Been there approximately 4 times and only one waitress/waiter. So if you have the time it is great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food is great, the service is great (i like how the owners hang around and help serve, too!) and the prices are more than fair. A bit slow when it's super busy, but that's understandable and the wait is worth it. I go here more than any other bar in NOTL.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Corned Beef Sandwich - Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was with a friend and he suggested the Sandtrap and the servers were nicely dressed and took our order right away , They brought use a very cold pint of beer , just the right temp and took our order , I had Corner beef and fries , lots of meat and nicely toasted , fries were home made and good my friend had a wrap and it was huge and he said very good. I left the waitress a good tip she had 5 kids !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and nice ambiance, possible best value in Niagara-on-the-Lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Coming to Niagara on the Lake for a weekend of theatre marathon (2 plays each day!) you do not want to wait for food to miss the shows, and still you want a good meal on the plate. That is exactly what we got on our recent visit at the Sandtrap. First, it is a pub that looks very lovely, bright and spacious, where both local families and tourists can have a lunch or dinner. In the kitchen, there is a real chef, Natasha, who offers meals you do not not find regularly in a pub. We were there few months after opening last year and we were happy to see this summer that it gained even more popularity. Their roasted pepper cream soup would make any Toronto restaurant blush with envy. We visited them last weekend first for lunch. Our server was very attentive to feed us on a tight schedule - we had to arrive on time for the 2 o'clock performance. Food was ready on time and good, so we decided to come back for dinner. Again, we had to catch the 8 o'clock show. Meals were ready on time and tasting good, big portions (their fish and chip can feed two people!), with food and drinks prices very reasonable for such a location. After coming to Niagara on the Lake year after year to attend many seasons of Shaw festival, we can conclude that Sandtrap Pub offers one of the best values for your money in the region.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandtrap Pub & Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Sandtrap Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandtrap Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.