We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandtrap Pub & Grill

Sandtrap Pub & Grill
358 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-8727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Pizza, Canadian, Fish & Chips, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are an all ages Pub and Grill in Niagara on the Lake. We offer a relaxed vibrant atmosphere with great selection, great service and great value. Matt and Paul welcome you to come and join them and enjoy some of their hometown hospitality. We have something for everyone including large booths and large screen TVs for the big games. Featuring a full bar that offers local wines and even Niagara's local micro-breweries.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Sandtrap Pub and Grill offers pub fare that is mostly made on premise and delivers what it inherently promises: good food at a reasonable price. While, like any pub, it can get noisy at times, this is largely due to to a lot of happy customers having a good time. As a local pub you'll notice that a lot of customers know each other, however, even if you are a new visitor to town, you'll soon feel very comfortable there thanks to the welcoming attitude of the owners and servers. A great place for families to be sure. Even if it's crowded, you can be certain the owners will spot you and get you to a table as quickly as possible. As for the menu, the fish melts in your mouth and the fresh french fries (say that three times quickly) stand out significantly when compared to the frozen variety that you find in much higher-priced restaurants. The burgers are also excellent. I look forward to trying more of their menu after three visits. Problem is once you taste the fish and chips, it's hard to give them up to try something new. One more thing, I sometimes hesitate to go into "pubs" since I am not a consumer of alcohol, however, the great quality of the food and the friendly atmosphere has brought me back again and again. Restaurants in Niagara on the Lake can be very pricey so the Sandtrap is a welcome alternative. We are fortunate to live across the street. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Don't miss a chance to eat here! We stopped by for lunch today for the first time (figuring we'll be stuck in with the effects of Hurricane Sandy for the next day or so). I had the wings, my husband had the pizza. Both were great! Matching the quality of the food was the ambience. It's a very casual, comfortable, open room with booths by the windows and tables in the middle that can be moved around to accommodate larger groups. The bar itself is huge and inviting looking. I'd have no problem sitting there to eat if the tables were full. Oh, one other thing that was appreciated - when we got our bill I noticed they'd made a combo out of the wings and pizza so the price was less than the individual menu items. That doesn't happen often! We'll be back here again and again and will bring neighbours and friends with us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Meets expectations, fresh decor, clean and popular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Overall, simply good value. Everything available on the menu is typical fare for locals, what we enjoy when we want to get a quick meal, at an appropriate cost.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

In Niagara on the Lake again last week and revisisted the Sandtrap. Was again impressed with the selection on the menu, the features, the specials and the affordability of the items. Pleased to see gluten free and vegetarian options. Good relaxed atmosphere, staff are friendly and the restaurant is really clean. Some of the items we tried were the fish and chips, the veggie burger, the nachos, the pizza and wings, caesar salad, grilled cheese sandwich and the chicken fingers- all were a hit! Nice to see the qwners on site and interacting with the customers. See you the next time we are in the area! Keep up the good work Paul, Matt and Natasha!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent Food, service and atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for great food at a great price look no further than The Sandtrap!
Menu selection is great and new items added all the time. The pizza and wings are to die for and with all the flat screen TVs and bottled beer selection as well as draught selection ( I believe there is 12 different on tap), there would be no reason to leave ;). Definitely our new favourite hang out!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandtrap Pub & Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Sandtrap Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandtrap Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.