We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable bed and breakfast - Explorer House has it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Explorer House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Explorer House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   275 Anne Street, PO Box 1434, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada (Formerly Etherington Manor Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable bed and breakfast - Explorer House has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I arrived late in the evening at the door of The Explorer House, and walked into another world! This guesthouse is absolutely gorgeous.... and when I opened the door of my room "The Serengeti" I was transported to another world. The four poster bed, gas fireplace and - what I needed the most - a jacuzzi tub already set up with candles and bath salts! The African motif was exquisite, and I slept like a baby on the very comfortable bed with oversized down pillows.

Deanna and Alec are thoughtful, kind and gracious hosts. The B & B is sparkling clean and uniquely decorated with photographs taken by Deanna during the couple's many exotic travels and interesting destinations.

I can still taste the delicious homemade scones that were served, still warm, at the breakfast table.

I look forward to my next visit - and my next - and my next..... HIghly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fiance and I stayed here over the weekend, it was just lovely! The rooms are beautiful, and the atmosphere in the house is magical with Deanne's photography and style. We felt at home and enjoyed our time.
It was perfect relaxation!
Also, the breakfast is so yummy, everything is homemade and they are very flexible with diet accommodations :)
Overall great stay!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was no luck involved with my second visit to the Explorer House, as it's obvious that the charm and magic that is Explorer House is for real. I enjoyed my first stay with Deanna and Alec so much in the summer that when I had a chance to go back, it was without question that I'd stay with them again. We were there to get a jump start on finding unique Christmas gifts, and Deanna was extremely helpful in bringing to our attention an arts & crafts outdoor fair in nearby Jordan whose many vendors are also part of the One of a Kind show in Toronto. Thanks again Deanna and Alec for making our stay feel as if we were visiting friends.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a "bad" room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed at, Wow! Deanna should be an interior decorator , her house should be in a magazine! Beautiful pictures that she had taken or drew herself are every where to admire. I especially love the wildlife, lions, elephants, birds etc. The whole house has been renovated with a real modern appeal, but at the same time traditional and cozy with all new furniture and fixtures. I love the jacuzzi, the comfortable leather lounge chairs, the gorgeous sleigh bed, all classy and comfortable.
Okay , she should also be a chef, wow what a wonderful breakfast we had, I love her homemade french toast , coffee, scones with homemade jams and a yogurt mousse with delicious granola! If you want to feel like you're in First Class with all the benefits, stay here!
Thanks for all your help in directing us to fantastic restaurants and places to shop. We will be coming back next year, (that is if there is space, you might want to book ahead with this one)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Wow! Thank you for such a glowing review.

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to seeing you again next year. Just let us know the dates and we would be happy to hold a room for you.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waite Hill, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Blessed to have our first trip to Niagara OTL turn out so well. Fortunate to find such wonderful accommodations first time out. EXPLORER HOUSE is a "keeper". Deanna and Alec were so hosipitable and gracious…wonderful cooks as well... breakfast each day was a new gourmet experience. So respectful of our privacy yet resourceful in guiding us around town and best vineyards…We'll be back!!

Tammy & Michael

Room Tip: All rooms are winners with a different "world" theme and all have balconies…location and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
We are so pleased that you chose us as your first place to stay in NOTL! We strive to find the correct balance between assisting and engaging our guests and allowing them their own privacy, so we are happy to hear that you felt that we achieved that perfect balance.

Glad to be a "keeper" and look forward to seeing you again :) and thank you for such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We spent 2 nights and were sorry to leave. Can't think of anything the least bit negative to report. Everything was PERFECT.. The room, the private bathrooms, the common areas, the private balcony, the breakfasts, the winery coupons, the service, free parking..... I could go on and on !!!All the above mentioned and MORE makes it the best choice.
Alec and Deanna are perfect hosts and anxious to please..

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed two nights and can't wait to come back! 3-course homemade breakfast was so delicious. Romantic and warm room with large bathroom and balcony. Nice welcoming touches everywhere, including full amenities in bathroom, coffee maker with various teas, hot chocolate, and coffee. Fridge with pop and water and snacks when you get the munchies. Wonderfully decorated and walking distance to town. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Each room has a different themed decor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Explorer House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 275 Anne Street, PO Box 1434, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada (Formerly Etherington Manor Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique global styled bed & breakfast in historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. This modern, elegantly appointed home has been built specifically to address the needs of Bed & Breakfast guests. Explorer House reflects the owner's passion for travel and offers an opportunity to explore and experience Niagara while staying within an environment of pampered luxury. We have an adult-oriented, smoke free environment with beautifully appointed suites that are uniquely decorated and inspired by different continents. All of the suites are extra-large, and have hardwood floors, private balconies, jetted tubs, separate showers, gas fireplaces and sitting areas. Adjacent to the suites is the guest lounge area complete with a guest refrigerator and coffee maker and a full selection of glassware, with complementary snacks, water, pop, tea & coffee available at all hours of the day. A sunny balcony extends off the guest lounge area. Guests can also relax and enjoy the backyard garden and gazebo. To round out this upscale boutique experience a gourmet three course breakfast will be served at 9am daily, focusing on both local seasonal and artisanal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Explorer House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.