We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour House Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Summer 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a diamond! The entire staff was always there and oh so very helpful with tips for walking tours of Niagara-on-the-Lake. The room was simply elegant, the bed was wonderful. Morning breakfast was included with our stay, and was excellent. Great view of the harbor and the river.
I enjoyed this hotel very much and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor/river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you! I am excited to hear that your experience was everything we strive for and am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff, rooms, and cuisine all come together to create an unforgettable experience, and all of us look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    95
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
43
619
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights following a trip to Toronto and to visit the falls. this is a stunning hotel with the most luxurious bathrooms all with Jacuzzis. The rooms themselves are of varying size but all are generous. There are many special touches at the hotel including a library of DVD's free to borrow and a daily wine tasting.

All the staff were amazing, friendly and able to help with any requests, the location is excellent right on the river and a short stroll into the town with its interesting shops and restaurants. The breakfast was very good and far better than expected, including smoked salmon and a hot frittata! This is one of the most luxurious hotels I have stayed in but managed to be friendly and unpretentious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Having been on business in Toronto we wanted somewhere for a few days R&R. We picked the Harbour House for the location as we wanted a view of the water. We were not disappointed. In fact I think anyone running a hotel who wants to see how it SHOULD be done should come and experience a stay here. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was an excellent size. The staff could not have been more helpful, happy and friendly. The hotel is perfectly located for a gentle stroll to local restaurants but should you wish to go further afield they will drive you and pick you up. How civilised is that? In all my years of visiting hotels I have never been offered that service before. My only teeny weeny moan is that breakfast seemed to stretch the staff in the morning if the whole dining room was full but as the breakfast was largely buffet this only involved a wait for coffee and juice. The breakfasts were plentiful and varied, catering to every possible taste, with a different hot special on everyday. If we go to Niagara on the Lake again I know where we'll be staying!

Room Tip: If you want a water view you'll have to be at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are proud of the level of service we are able to offer, and I am so happy it was reflected in your experience. The comfort of our rooms, the congeniality of our staff, and our ‘tucked away’ location make for an ideal getaway. I will be sure to speak with our kitchen to ensure smoother beverage service at breakfast and thank you for your candid feedback. All of us at Harbour House thank you, and look forward to your return!

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We brought a group of 8 friends here for a wine tour weekend, with a whirlpool jet boat tour thrown in for good measure, and we had a blast! The Harbour House's location was perfect for getting about town, and the whirlpool jet boat offices and harbour front were just steps away. Everything about the Harbour House was top notch, from the friendly staff, beautiful cozy rooms with lovely little touches here and there and super comfortable bed, to the delicious breakfasts, generous daily wine and cheese tastings, and tasty peanut butter cookies available throughout the day in the lobby. We loved the cleanliness and peacefulness of this hotel, and the extra little touches (like the very helpful and informative "Harbour House Happenings" newsletter put under our door each morning) were very much appreciated! This was a truly delightful place at which to stay, and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Highly recommend the Harbour House as a place to stay when visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake. We were in the Niagara Falls area for 3 nights at the end of June 2014 and wanted to spend at least one of the nights in Niagara-on-the-Lake during our visit to the area. I'm so glad we selected this lovely hotel. It's location to all the events (we were lucky enough to be there for the Canada Day celebration which included a parade and cakewalk!) was perfect. Our room was lovely, it felt like being at home instead of in a hotel. We enjoyed wine and cheese on the sweet patio and the breakfast offering was incredibly fancy. If our travels ever bring us back to this lovely little town Harbour House will be our lodging of choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you were able to celebrate Canada day with us and take advantage of all that Niagara-on-the-Lake has to offer. To all of our guests we try to offer a “home away from home” experience and I am happy to hear that you felt just that at our Harbour House, enjoying our daily wine & cheese reception on our patio. I look forward to saying hello to you on your next trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay at Harbour House. The room is quite cozy but it was comfortable. We had what they call a 'harbour view' room and you could see the boats and some water, but it should be made clear to people that the location isn't really set-up to overlook the harbour, it is a small view only.

There was some damage on the walls and ceiling of the room (which, to be honest, was a bit of a surprise to see) but overall the room was nice.

The breakfast is really lovely, so make sure you enjoy that. Note: They only serve until 10am. Also important to note is that there is no restaurant on site.

The free parking and wifi is helpful and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of The Harbour House, I am happy you enjoyed your stay overall. Our rooms range in view, and I am sorry that you found the view from your room limited. I am surprised at the damage you found on the walls and ceiling of your room as we do routine inspections of all rooms and any necessary repairs are completed as quickly as possible. We will be sure to do a thorough walk-through to find any issues we may have missed. I am glad you took advantage of our fabulous breakfast, and while we do not have a restaurant on site, we partner with two of Niagara’s top restaurants and also offer complimentary evening shuttle service anywhere in town. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, we have a great team who truly set us apart. We do hope you will return and I would love to look after the details of your stay personally, please feel free to contact me directly at lchunick@harbourhousehotel.ca.

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, the location was very convenient and the staff were marvelous. They went above and beyond and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My wife had a spa session booked off site and we mistakenly thought the shutle was available all day. It was in fact only for the evening after 6 or 7 pm. When I mentioned that she would likely take a cab, the girl at the front desk said she would drive her over. It was not far but otherwise would have resulted in a late arrival. Thanks to her and the rest of the staff and owners. Well done.

Deborah and Grant

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa C, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you found our team to be marvelous in the service they provided. Our shuttle service runs from 4 pm until 11 pm 7 days a week and in that time we are happy to drive anywhere in “old town” Niagara-on-the-Lake. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to our team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our Harbour House on your return visit.

Warm Regards,

Larissa Chunick
General Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.