We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Outstanding!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbour House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings in Niagara
ohio
2 reviews
“Close to Outstanding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We traveled as a group (3 couples) to NOTL and would all happily return for another visit. Harbor House is an Inn, with some lovely B&B characteristics. It is not a hotel in the traditional sense with room service or fitness facilities. Reserved in Feb for 2 nights, 3 rooms. Added one night on (one couple) - this change was overlooked, thankfully we called the night before traveling to reconfirm all reservations. The front desk was great and figured out how to accommodate the last minute change.

The room was comfortable, cool and quiet. The breakfast was pretty good, too many sweets and not enough protein for my preference though. Cookies were not always available in the afternoon as advertised, the wine and cheese are nothing to write home about and the front desk needed to serve the wine - but they are available.

All the staff were wonderful and went out of their way to help us. The night team made coffee / accommodated our requests (decaf, hot water for tea, additional shower gel, etc) cheerfully and promptly and really made us feel welcome during our stay.

Other than the reservation issue, the shower was growing mold and when reported it was promptly cleaned. The bath tub was really welcome after biking and wine tasting days!

Things to note - the Charles Hotel restaurant (we had a fabulous meal, with great waitstaff, although it was very warm in the dining area due to no AC in a historic house) and the Prince of Wales Hotel restaurant were the only options recommended for dining. These are sister properties and many other fun, delicious options are available within an easy walk. The affiliated bike rental company was the real issue - subpar/unhelpful staff, helmets, baskets and a good map were all EXTRA (free maps are not to scale and do not have correct locations), bike tires were 65lbs + underinflated, had a hassle renting for the weekend (advertised), etc. Would not use Niagara Wine Tours again, but will happily return to the Harbor House Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    85
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
37
527
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and parents had a 2 night and 3 day stay at the Harbour House Hotel. We had a wonderful time and will look forward to returning. We had to cancel a trip last year at this time and reschedule. We are so happy that we could do this as it was a most delightful stay. The staff is amazing and quite helpful in every way possible. Thank you to everyone for making our stay such a pleasure. The breakfast is delicious and has many homemade choices. Our room was on the third floor (306) and furnished beautifully and meticulous. My parents were on the first floor in room 106 and it made it quite nice for them to access the lobby and breakfast easily. There is covered parking and the location is great. We do not like to be on the main road anywhere and this is set back enough and along the water but getting to the main road is a very short walk. They also have a wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. Loved out stay and thank you Harbour House for being one of those hotels that goes above and beyond for their guests.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I am glad to hear that you were finally able to join us for your family getaway! We are very thankful to have Jaime leading our kitchen with all her wonderful baked goods. I will gladly pass along your kind comments to our team! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a GREAT place for a romantic get away.

It's a beautiful old building, the rooms are clean and lovely, nice plush beds, beautiful bathroom with big bathtub/hot tub, great breakfast (WONDERFUL), very close to downtown (10 min walk).

Only complaint would be that the service at the front desk is slow. If the owner is around, he's wonderful, but otherwise it's younger women that ignored us on two occasions while they spoke to each other or to a visiting woman and her baby. Very rude and surprising.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our third visit to Harbour House and it delivers every time. Great location,wonderful accomodations, friendly staff. That is the recipe for a very good hotel and this place is all of that.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! It is great to hear that you we have consistently delivered during each of your visits. We look forward to your fourth visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Room (actually a suite) was beautifully furnished and immaculately maintained. Staff bent over backward to serve guests. Could not have been nicer or more helpful and gracious. Covered parking is much appreciated. My only gripe is about the breakfast. Served from 8-10, but ran out of many items by 9. Also the breakfast room is too small and has communal tables. If I want to eat with strangers I'll go to a B&B. But I don't, so for $400+ per night, I expect to have a table for 2 available mid morning. Pastries were phenomenal, but more protein would be appreciated. Other than breakfast, our stay was perfect, quiet and extremely relaxing. Housekeeping did an excellent job.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely, relaxing one night stay at this quaint hotel in beautiful Niagara on the Lake. We were welcomed by a darling young lady(Krista)at check in who was most informative and gave great directions and suggestions for a nice walk around town as our room was not yet ready and we were 2 hours early to our check in time. Upon our return we were welcomed by Bruce who gave us an overview of the hotel and walked us to our room and Dave who provided us with a glass of wine to take to our room. The room was very clean and comfortable with a perfect partial view of the river. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your relaxing one night getaway! We are very thankful to have such a warm and welcoming team and I will certainly pass along your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our daily afternoon wine tasting that we offer to show case some of the fantastic wineries in Niagara-on-the-Lake.

I look forward to the opportunity to say hello during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit and we were charmed by the small inn feel. Room was spotless, upgraded bathroom, lovely linens. Healthy breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, granola, egg casserole, large bread selection. Very attentive staff that helped with dinner reservations. Pet friendly but make sure they know in advance since pet rooms are limited.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.