We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only place to stay for Romance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour House Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
akron, ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Only place to stay for Romance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is our second stay at the Harbour House. The rooms are fabulous. The fireplace, 2 person tub(water stays hot), Wonderful shower and the morning breakfast is very good. Guest services are really helpful in making reservations for you for dinner. Amanda & Maggie are incredible they made sure we were very happy with our room and dinners out. If you want privacy and Romance this is the place!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to reflect on your wonderful visit with us! We are very lucky to have such an amazing team who ensure our guests are well taken care of and enjoying their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    89
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
568
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I wanted to spend a day visiting the wineries in NOTL. I checked TripAdvisor for a recommendation on a hotel and found this highly rated, lovely little gem of a place. The Harbour House is a cozy, quaint and beautiful hotel near the water just off the main drag in the Niagara-on-the-Lake. The staff was warm, welcoming and amazingly friendly. The room was spacious with a whirlpool bathtub and a fireplace. We were welcomed with a personalized bag of peanut butter cookies and classical music was playing softly in the background. We then went to the complimentary wine and cheese tasting in the Conservatory (or the Main Lobby) at 4:00.

The next morning we had a wonderful continental breakfast complete with pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, breakfast quiche and locally made jams. The server was friendly and very accommodating.

Their amenities are shared with their sister hotel the Shaw Club. That is where you can find their restaurant and spa.

This is a wonderful hotel near Lake Ontario with in the heart of NOTL. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for an overnight stay either before or after a ay of wine tasting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ont.,Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked for March 17th using a gift card we'd received for Christmas, and on March 15th were offered an extra night at a reduced price which we were able to take advantage of. Bruce was on the desk at check-in and we soon discovered that he exhibited the courtesy and congeniality of all the staff that we encountered. We had room 108 on the main floor (there is an elevator to the other floors).We had a juliette balcony overlooking the harbour-unfortunately it was too cold to have the doors open. We did make use of the gas fireplace though. There was a bag with 2 chocolate chip cookies-a welcome gift from Ryan Murray the general manager, and a lovely touch. The room was large & tastefully decorated in a maritime them and had everything you could want for a comfortable stay. The bathroom was wonderful with a deep, large whirlpool tub, a very large glass-enclosed shower. There was a waffle weave, & a terry housecoat for use during your stay. There was a coffee maker with teas,coffees,hot chocolate,creamer & sugar, & 2 mugs on the counter. I think this is the only thing that I would have preferred in a different location-on the desk perhaps. Also a note to the men-the toilet seat does not stay up on it's own! :)
The complimentary breakfast must be one of the highlights of staying here! Hot stratas or French toast,cereals,bagels,scones,croissants,fresh fruit,deli meats & cheeses,smoked salmon,juices,teas,coffees Abundant & delicious-you will not need lunch. The servers are again friendly & attentive. Late afternoon there is local red & white wine with house-made potted cheese (ask for the recipe), and crackers. There is a large selection of DVD's & books to be borrowed if you just want to relax in your room, or it's too cold for browsing in town. Also a shuttle to the Charles Inn,Zees & Shaw Club Hotel & Spa is also provided.
We enthusiastically recommend staying here as you can tell. A gem in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kinds! I will be sure to pass them along to Bruce and all the other staff.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Harbour House Hotel in the warmer weather when you can fully enjoy the french doors that open onto the juliet balcony overlooking the harbour and marina.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Services Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My birthday party continued with a gift certificate for hotel accomodation in Niagara at the Harbour House Hotel and a spa treament at the Shaw Club Spa! I have been to NOTL many times but had never stayed at the HHH before....what a very pleasant surprise. Upon arrival, the smell of freshly baked cookies, (peanut butter, my fav) was heavenly, and the start of a wonderful experience. Great room, friendly staff, good breakfast, and best of all, my massage by Elisha, was VERY VERY good. Dinner at Zees Grill was as good as any 5 star Toronto restaurant. My one and only complaint, was that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I'm really pleased I chose to stay here. The room is wonderful with great views and an amazing fireplace. Extras is the spa tub in the room. And the little touches that mean so much, like wine tasting and personal stationary in the room and DVDs for the room. Breakfast is great and a very calming experience was enjoyed for 3 nights. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to reflect on your stay and all the little things that we offer. I am glad to hear that you were able to relax in the Jacuzzi bath tub and enjoy a DVD in front of the fireplace.

I look forward to the opportunity to say hello during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

From the moment you check in until the moment, regretfully, when you must depart, you will be treated with the ultimate in graciousness, friendliness, and leave-no-detail-untouched service. My room featured a Jacuzzi, DVD player, fireplace, bathrobe, and the most comfortable king-sized bed I've ever slept in. Complimentary wine and cheese is served every afternoon, the breakfasts are superb, and the staff goes out of its way to make you feel at home and to offer tips on restaurants and local attractions. Niagara Falls is only 20 or so minutes away, so why stay there when you can experience truly world-class hospitality right on Lake Ontario and the Niagara River?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your warm reflection! We are very lucky to have such an amazing team working with us who are so willing to go out of their way to ensure your stay is a memorable one.

I look forward to the opportunity to say hello with your next visit.


Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a real treat! The warm welcome by Cooper and Maggie at the front desk followed by treats in the lovely room overlooking the river was a wonderful start to our mini vacation.Shortly after arrival we were invited to enjoy wine and cheese offered in the cozy fireplace lit lounge. We lingered over a delicious breakfast which included a beautiful assortment of baking, fresh fruit, yogurt, home made granola and jams offered in a very pretty dining room serviced by very friendly staff, Katie and Gillian. Dinner reservations were handled efficiently by Bruce at the front desk and a shuttle service to the restaurant was provided by the hotel! It truly was a vacation to remember.

Room Tip: The multihead shower offered in some of the rooms is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We are very lucky to have such a wonderful team who really care about guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.