We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour House Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Wow! A true treasure. This was my first time here, and i will certainly return. Welcoming from the second you enter the inn, very attentive hosts. Room was beautiful and very clean. Had a great dinner at their sister hotel, the inn does offer complimentary shuttle for this (a very nice service). Breakfast was outstanding. I did not want to leave this cozy inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    95
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
44
619
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband booked a one-night get-away for my birthday.
I had no idea that our stay at the Harbour House Inn would be so wonderful.
The staff was so pleasant and attentive. We were shown to our room upon arrival.
We were surprised by and appreciated the attention to detail in our room: there was ice in the bucket, the music and lighting were welcoming, and there was "Cake in a Jar" as a special birthday treat.
Staff were eager to make dinner reservations and there was a shuttle to their sister restaurants, Zees, and the Charles Inn restaurant. My husband had already made dinner reservations at Zees. We highly recommend this restaurant; the food and service were excellent! John was our waiter and he was absolutely wonderful!
Our room (#308) overlooked the marina and was very quiet and very clean. The sunrise, the next morning, was spectacular! A deluxe continental breakfast was included in the rate. There was an assortment of pastries, an egg/ham casserole, fruit, yogurt, etc. and it was delicious. The coffee, too, was very good.
We had an excellent stay and will be returning in the future.
Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know about your wonderful experience with us and your dinner at Zees. We were happy to be a part of your special birthday celebration get-away.

We look forward to celebrating your next birthday with you…if not sooner!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am a very picky person, and say it like it is. I am very reluctant to give a review of this Hotel.
Purely for selfish reasons. After many years of trying to find the right spot esp in that area, I have found it. Clean, perfectly appointed. Great location. Breakfast delicious. Chocolates and cookies in room. What can I say?? Bathroom clean, towels fluffy and thick. Soaps interesting. Mirror, coffee machine. Furniture comfortable, clean and appealing. Parking great. Wine and cheese. Apples, papers, I could go on and on. Staff.... Superb! Thank you Amanda and Jennifer. Breakfast staff friendly and attentive.
Their internet booking is a bit titchy. I had troubles with it, so resorted to emails, which did the trick. Their in room guest book, was an added personal touch that extended the warmth you feel once you enter the front door of this hotel. Only thing missing.... a loving dog in the lobby.
I loved this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a little getaway for a few days. We stayed at Harbour House for 2 nights and we loved it. Our room was comfortable and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. The hotel makes little nice touches-- wine and cheese before the dinner time hour and warm cookies in the evening. Fresh apples were available throughout the day. We were definitely the youngest couple (33 years of age) there. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the main street, which was great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are thankful to have such a great team working with us who understand the importance of the little details.

One of the great things about our location is being able to look out of your guest room window and see the harbour and marina, and we are just a short walk to Queen St. where you can enjoy shopping, dining and the Shaw Festival theatre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We decided to visit Niagara on the Lake for our 25th Anniversary. We were very pleased with our choice to stay at the Harbour House Hotel. The personal service was a very nice touch, being shown to our room, which was lovely, the extra touches in the room, chocolates, turned down bedding and the wine and cheese in the lobby, etc. Also the choice of dinner at the St. Charles was fabulous. The shuttle service was very handy and prompt. Breakfast was nice, a large variety of breads, eggs, cheeses, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and teas and more in a lovely dining room. The staff at the inn is what really sets it apart. We would definately stay here again. Thanks for making our anniversary one to remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This has been the ninth time at harbour house we go twice a year early spring and late fall to Niigata on the lake and always stay here it is very quite attention to detail nice personal touches fresh cookies,ice in ice bucket remembering I like and extra bath towel staff will do what ever you ask to make stay special breakfast has enough variety for everyone staff is very professional attentive and most importantly friendly always a smile and a real genuine concern for the guests this is not the place if you are looking for flash and excitement this is a place to reconnect with the person you love in a romantic quite place fireplace beautiful view attention to detail

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique it seems everyone has their favourite it is small enough that there is no b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am thrilled to see that you enjoy and appreciate all of our little added touches. We are very thankful to have such a wonderful staff who truly care about our guests and their needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 10th visit.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Dickson
Guest Service Manager
Harbour House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went to Harbour House for my birthday. We got a Travelzoo package for $179/night with $25 credit at Charles Inn Restaurant or Zee , $25 credit at Shaw spa , a fantastic bottle of wine ( $35 value) and (2) wine tasting passes at (2) wineries ( $28 value). The hotel is elegant ,luxurious and spot clean.The staff is friendly . They all get out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. I have been pleasantly surprised to find in the room a Happy Birthday and a Welcome note. Amanda checked us in and she showed us to our room which we felt was a very nice Welcome. We loved the breakfast !! It is of high quality in a pleasant environment and with good service. The hotel location is excellent with river view and 7 minutes walking distance to Festival Theatre or Shaw Spa and 10 minutes to Old Town stores. We liked it so much as we booked again a one night getaway for my wife birthday in May !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.