We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th times a charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour House Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“4th times a charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our 4th time staying at the Harbour House Hotel, and just as we expected, it was awesome!

If your looking for a more detailed review of the hotel you can read our previous review as everything was exactly how we remembered it!

What we wanted to point out this time was the excellent service that we received upon checking in. Shortly after getting settled in our room, we began to hear a loud noise from the bathroom area. A quick check revealed that something was wrong with the toilet and that it was constantly emptying a refilling.

On our way out for a few hours downtown, we advised staff at the front desk of the problem and they assured us that they would have some one check it out.

Upon returning we were advised that the room had been looked at and the problem had been solved. Unfortunately, after entering the room, we heard the same noise again.

A quick trip back to the front desk, about a minute wait, and we were moved to the room next door...which just happened to be an upgrade to a suite! Needless to say, we were very appreciative of the quick, and upgraded resolution to the problem with the room. We stayed in the upgraded room for the duration of the trip at no extra charge, even after noticing the following day that a plumber at attended the room and rectified the issue.

Thank you too the staff at the Harbour House for making our 4th stay a memorable one. We look forwarded to returning next year to celebrate our 4th Anniversary :)

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms on the second floor have nice carpeted floors. The Superior Suite we stayed in, 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    95
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
44
619
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have stayed at many places in NOTL and while all were fine, this place is the best by far. Best value (good off-season rate through SniqueAway), great location (nice view of the river), wonderful rooms with comfy beds, fireplaces, lots of space, etc. Staff is fantastic. The ongoing book of reviews in each room is just one of many nice, unique touches (love the rubber duck!). We will check out their sister properties: the Charles Inn and Shaw Club. Lovely town, the best part of Niagara region, especially in Autumn and Spring when it is less busy than tourist season. There were some minor glitches that were dealt with immediately, and the room for us was a bit too warm but we opened the window and were okay. "Happy Hour" is a great opportunity to meet new friends!

Room Tip: We had a standard ("premium") room with a good view of the river. Plenty large enough for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We wanted a relaxing weekend getaway and that's exactly what we got at Harbour House. From the delicious welcome cookies to the comfortable room to the tasty breakfast, we felt very taken care of. It feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel, and I mean that in the best possible way. Would definitely recommend and come back again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in all aspects. Service is friendly and outstanding. Little extras like cookies with a welcome note, personalized stationery and a rubber ducky on the bathtub add to the charm. Afternoon wine and cheese is a lovely add on. Breakfast in the conservatory is a wonderful start to the day. Rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable feather beds. Truly one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I are headed here for the 2nd year in a row for our Anniversary. We've stayed over the years in a number of nicer establishments in Niagara-on-the-Lake but this is by far our fave! The customer service is unparalled! The Staff referred to us by name several times throughout our stay even though the hotel seemed to be packed - they remembered who we were which made it feel like home. The relaxed and country-chic charm of the inviting foyer and fireplace also make this hotel feel like home from the minute you step through the door. We like the Superior room. It's incredibly spacious. The bed and linens were luxurious - best night's sleep in months. The bathroom was huge, bright and clean. Prices are pretty good considering the top notch quality you receive. Plus you get breakfast..and don't even get me started on how delicious their breakfast is!!! We plan to make this our annual anniversary spot. We've only been married 5 years so they're going to be seeing us for a LONG time :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Harbour House for the weekend for our 35th wedding Anniversary this past weekend. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite that was fantastic. It had everything we required and more, 3 Flat screen TVs, a well-appointed living room, a very oversized Jacuzzi tub and a Tassimo Coffee Machine. But most importantly I want to comment on how fantastic the staffs were. Right from the moment we checked in until we returned home we were made to feel welcome. Anything we asked for was accommodated quickly and with a smile. Harbour house has the feel of a BB but with the professionalism of a 5 star hotel.
Our experience started at check-in with the staff escorting us to our room versus just saying “here is the key”. All the staff was wonderful right from the person who made the reservation, to the housekeeping staff and the front desk reception. We want to comment about the staff at reception. The main person we connected with so sweet and helpful she actually took us back because we have not seen that level of service in years. When we asked if we could get a coffee for the room she jumped up and brought it to us in in china cups and delivered it with a huge smile. She even held the door for me as my hands were full with the tray. When we returned home she called me to let me know they found my Black Berry charging cable and she was going to UPS it back to me the next day.
The attention to the personal attention especially to the small detail and the friendly service at the Harbour House is their differentiator. My wife and I stay in Niagara on The Lake every year and generally a few times. We have always stayed at the Queens Landing and the Wales although they are nice facilities they were just that nice facilities. There are many examples of the small detail that their staff went out of their way to look after like the acknowledgment of our 35th anniversary with cookies and wine, the offer to have us shuttled to the various restaurants etc. and the constant request “can I help you”.
We will certainly be returning to their location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent a night here this past weekend and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is quite lovely, including the lobby, conservatory(where they serve breakfast), and the rooms. Everything was very clean. The bed was very comfy with high quality linens. The heated bathroom tile was a real treat! The breakfast was very nice. Everything was delicious. It's a short walk to the pretty, scenic waterfront park. The only problem we had was that our room was quite warm despite turning the heat down to low, but then we are accustomed to sleeping in a pretty cool room. The staff was very accommodating, so I'm sure they would have done whatever they could to fix it had we brought it to their attention. Overall, this was a great stay in a very quiet, cozy inn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.