We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in NOTL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour House Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay in NOTL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent a night here this past weekend and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is quite lovely, including the lobby, conservatory(where they serve breakfast), and the rooms. Everything was very clean. The bed was very comfy with high quality linens. The heated bathroom tile was a real treat! The breakfast was very nice. Everything was delicious. It's a short walk to the pretty, scenic waterfront park. The only problem we had was that our room was quite warm despite turning the heat down to low, but then we are accustomed to sleeping in a pretty cool room. The staff was very accommodating, so I'm sure they would have done whatever they could to fix it had we brought it to their attention. Overall, this was a great stay in a very quiet, cozy inn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    95
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
44
619
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at the hotel a week ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very nice and comfortable, the staff were very nice, the included breakfast suited us fine, and the front desk staff were very helpful with directions, suggestions, reservations, etc. Just a very good experience and would definitely recommend to others. We will stay there again next time in the area.

Room Tip: Ours was 3rd floor harbour view, but seemed very quiet throughout the hotel, so not sure there is mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stay was business related and overall very happy with the service, facility and location. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The meals were fine, although we had dinner offsite while there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of a three day visit to Niagara on the Lake. Although we've visited many times before, we never stayed at the Harbour House Hotel until this past trip.
We were both impressed with the overall cleanliness of the hotel, the decor and of course the great buffet breakfasts.
Our room was comfortable and clean. The Staff was great. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back.
Harbour House Hotel is expensive, but well worth the cost for the breakfast buffet alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was a lovely hotel on the small size and the rooms were very comfortable and restful to sleep in. The washroom was exquisit and the wooden shutters were lovely and homey. The included breakfast was very nice and very much appreciated.

The only thing stopping another stay here again, is the high cost per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Terrific weekend getaway for our wedding anniversary. The room was very cozy, the fireplace was wonderful on a very damp and chilly evening. Although the hotel was totally booked it was always nice and quiet. We didn't use our car all weekend, shuttle was available if we liked, although we walked to the shows and restaurants. We chose the package that included bikes with a picnic and passes to several wineries, it was one of the most enjoyable days I've ever had! The breakfast included fresh fruits, breads, cereals, pastries and some absolutely delicious warm breakfast casseroles (different each morning), everything was wonderful! The staff could have been any kinder and all were extremely helpful with any questions we had. The only negative would be that after traveling quite a distance and arriving after 3:00pm our room was not ready. Other than that ,everything was terrific!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Loved this small boutique hotel. They have thought of everything to make the stay enjoyable, from the free wine and cheese tasting at 4pm every afternoon, to the delicious breakfasts with the special dish of the day - variations of French toast. Our room was lovely and very well decorated and comfortably fitted out. One small negative, I didn't like the toilet not having a lid, especially with the tea and coffee making facilities in the same room. The location is ideal for a short stroll to the Main Street. Parking is under cover, and the wifi is free and fast.

Room Tip: We had room 303 on the third floor and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.