We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice.....but Expensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbour House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings in Niagara
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice.....but Expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was a lovely hotel on the small size and the rooms were very comfortable and restful to sleep in. The washroom was exquisit and the wooden shutters were lovely and homey. The included breakfast was very nice and very much appreciated.

The only thing stopping another stay here again, is the high cost per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    86
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
38
539
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Terrific weekend getaway for our wedding anniversary. The room was very cozy, the fireplace was wonderful on a very damp and chilly evening. Although the hotel was totally booked it was always nice and quiet. We didn't use our car all weekend, shuttle was available if we liked, although we walked to the shows and restaurants. We chose the package that included bikes with a picnic and passes to several wineries, it was one of the most enjoyable days I've ever had! The breakfast included fresh fruits, breads, cereals, pastries and some absolutely delicious warm breakfast casseroles (different each morning), everything was wonderful! The staff could have been any kinder and all were extremely helpful with any questions we had. The only negative would be that after traveling quite a distance and arriving after 3:00pm our room was not ready. Other than that ,everything was terrific!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Loved this small boutique hotel. They have thought of everything to make the stay enjoyable, from the free wine and cheese tasting at 4pm every afternoon, to the delicious breakfasts with the special dish of the day - variations of French toast. Our room was lovely and very well decorated and comfortably fitted out. One small negative, I didn't like the toilet not having a lid, especially with the tea and coffee making facilities in the same room. The location is ideal for a short stroll to the Main Street. Parking is under cover, and the wifi is free and fast.

Room Tip: We had room 303 on the third floor and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recently my 2 sisters & their husbands along with my husband & I spent a few days at the Harbour House to celebrate a significant birthday. We purchased the wine tour package. We loved the accomodations, the staff, the breakfast as well as dinner at the Charles Inn and wine tour included in the package. I would highly recommend this inn to people looking for a relaxed and comfortable setting close enough to walk to the main street but far enough off the main street to be quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is what I just sent the manager of the Harbour House(much more an Inn than a hotel - way better):

Ryan:
Just wanted to let you know what an extraordinary time my mother and I had at your inn this past Thurs/Fri.
Everything was perfect - the staff, the rooms-so clean with beautiful bathroom and furniture, wine and cheese - scrumptious breakfast and to top it off a ride to and from our theater!
Also - the apples and cookies were a nice added touch.
We met some really nice guests as well and purchased some of your amazing home made granola : ) Thank you so much - we will be back and will mention your treasure to others!!
Lisa

Room Tip: May be better on the 2nd and 3rd floor - than the first - although the whole Inn was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Harbour House for two nights for a small honeymoon get away in September. The room was not ready on our arrival, but it was only 2PM. The staff is really friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 107 conveniently located on the main floor, which has a gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub and separate shower. I found the heated bathroom floor a real treat and unexpected touch. The hotel was very quiet at night, even when full of guests. There is a selection of DVDs, games and books in the front lobby.

Breakfast is lovely, but a tad heavy on it's selection of pastries/carbs. There is complementary wine tasting every day at 4PM. We had the hotel help us with reservations for dinner each night. It was helpful to review their book of menus in the area. While the hotel is definitely close enough for a walk into town, they do offer a complimentary shuttle to take you around, which we made use of. Twice the hotel went out of its way to make our stay extra special. The first was a bottle of sparkling wine in our room and the second was informing their sister property, the Charles, that we were on our honeymoon and we were provided with a special cocktail to celebrate with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in July. The room was ready on arrival and it was very attractive. When the staff showed us the room she advised us to keep the blinds closed during the day which I thought was a little strange comment. Later we found out why as their air conditioning could not cool the room even though the outside temperature was only in the 80's. No need for all the blankets and down comforter as the room never got cool or comfy at night. I finally opened up the ceiling tiles to find the ac filter was completely blocked with a one inch thick layer of dust and totally blocked. so i just left the filter out of the unit while we were there. obviously they hadn't maintained that for months if not years. A couple other things that we found lacking was there were NO drawers or clothes chest to unload a few things out of our suitcases since we were there for two days. Thus we had to live out of our suitcases sitting on the floor. We also we surprised there was no fridge in the room to keep drinks and wine cold so we had to bring in our travel cooler and fill it with ice to have an icebox in the room. The staff were pleasant and helpful if not a little pretentious. since the hotel is at the edge of the downtown they did offer a handy driver service to local places although we opted to walk th few blocks to town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.