We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bank House
Save
You added The Old Bank House to your Saves list
10 Front St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We have absolutely nothing but praise for Old Bank House and will definitely be coming back again. Old Bank House is an exceptionally well appointed property. It was everything that we had hoped for; extremely comfortable and in a great location. The hosts, Judy and Micheal, and staff were very friendly, efficient, and helpful, always happy to try that bit harder to keep the customer happy. We are looking forward to planning a longer visit back to Old Bank House later this year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

While The Old Bank House may be a charming location, the same cannot be said for their customer service. Many weeks in advance, I booked a two-night stay online – twice-confirmed via telephone calls to them, and had a voicemail confirmation from Judy, the owner. Still, always one to double-check details at the last minute, I called two days before to re-confirm, to find that they had lost or misplaced the booking. They did have a cancellation however, and we were booked in. The owners begrudgingly agreed to the same rate as previously booked.
I then received a written confirmation advising breakfast at 9am, when my party was committed elsewhere. Old Bank House was not only not willing to accommodate (anything) at a different time, this so-called 'luxury' facility, famous for their breakfasts, directed me to Tim Horton's. Judy, and The Old Bank House, responded to what I suggested was "disappointing" and CANCELLED the reservation the afternoon prior to our departure! No apolgies there, despite high season in Niagara on the Lake.
Thank you to the Historic Inns Group for graciously, and flexibly, accomodating us - offering more and at lower rates.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We've stayed at The Old Bank House every year for the last 10 years. Beautiful, clean, large, elegantly-appointed guest rooms. Lovely art- and book-filled sitting room. Spectacular gourmet breakfasts served in window-lined dining area. Balconies, porches and flower-lined terrace allow leisurely enjoyment of lake and park views.
2 minute walk from the Lake Ontario shore. 3 blocks from theatres and shopping.
Owner/hosts are cordial, helpful, friendly and welcoming.
This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and Michael and Judy were awesome. They were great at e-mail correspondence before the trip and they were very helpful during the trip. The property is very well maintained and is in a great location. Breakfast was amazing and I felt their staff was remarkable. Everyone was very friendly! We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

A group of 4 couples in our 50’s & 60’s spent a weekend at The Old Bank House. Many of the prior reviews are “spot on” regarding the owners and their affinity for demeaning their guests. We had set up the arrangements via a series of phone calls with “Dr. No,” the woman proprietor, where we received our listing of “don’ts and don’ts” (no early check in, no red wine, no breakfast before 9, etc.).
Had this not been a B&B, it would be torn down. My room was so slanted that, upon placing a round brush on the bathroom table, it rolled onto the floor. Safety conscious guests will appreciate the fact that the balcony door does not lock; a strategically placed chair is advised.
Upon returning from dinner the first night @ 9:45, we noticed the parlor with seating for around a dozen guests, lit with both a soft spotlight & a lamp. What an inviting area to gather. We brought down our wines (white, of course) and snacks, and proceeded to catch upon each others’ recent doings. Within minutes, we were severely scolded by Dr. No for having the audacity to gather there. We could have interfered with the other guests (all who, I would add, were still out for the evening). After promising to keep our voices down, & not disturb the nonexistent others present, she turned to leave. She turned back, & announced that we would be billed for the other guests’ rooms if they left early because of our loud party. (A microcosm of a 5 minute beratement).
A few minutes later, I saw the male proprietor in the kitchen area. Hoping to diffuse the situation, I asked for a trash bag so that we could clean up after ourselves (there were absolutely no trash containers in any of the common areas, or outside). I was told not to bother, as we had already ruined the time. I asked how we could have anticipated that we were not welcome to gather; no signs limiting hours, lit area, etc. I was told that, had we done so at 5 PM, there would be no issue, but we had come “with our coolers & wine & food, putting our feet on the furniture” (one of us had recent foot surgery, & was elevating her ankle). Since he had not been in the parlor, I can only assume that Dr. No had given him a full report, & we were automatically guilty of all alleged sins. We were all, in effect, sent to our rooms for the balance of the night without snacks.
Both breakfasts were very good, with great presentation, other than the family dog which was permitted into the breakfast room both days. Oh, & ask about the room with the 2 poster bed. One couple in our party hung a couple of towels on the foot posters; when they returned that morning, the posters were unscrewed from the bed & removed from the room.
NOTL is a lovely area, & should be experienced by all. However, no one should experience this kind of treatment, especially when paying around $300/night (inc. tax). If you miss staying overnight with an overbearing aunt & uncle who clearly demonstrate that your presence is not welcome, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010 via mobile

Great owners. Set by the lake Ontario. Very comfy beds. Close walk to Queen St 2 blocks. Amazing home made breakfast included. Well maintained interior and exterior with newer updates.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Have stayed in the B&B several times over the years. Slowly getting a bit shabby. Will be looking elsewhere on our next trip to Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank House

Address: 10 Front St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Bank House Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.