We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moffat Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Moffat Inn to your Saves list
Moffat Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Picton St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary Week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in beautiful Niagara on the Lake. We stayed five nights at the Moffat Inn and found it to be quite comfortable. Our room was not large but we knew that before hand. We were quite comfortable with a nice shower and in room refrigerator. The best part of our stay was Nikki, Jason and Natalie at the front desk. They could not have been more friendly or helpful. Beautiful park across the street and pub downstairs. Walking distance to everything. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevator. Second floor walk up stairs. Beware if you have heavy luggage. Street side was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Moffat Inn this past summer and was very disappointed. The room we were given (front) seemed to have been hastily - and rather sloppily - renovated (see photos): peeling wallpaper, windows that were unopenable (because the lift handles had been broken off), a sink it was impossible to stand directly in front of, poor-quality workmanship in the trim, etc. Having stayed at other Vintage properties (The Prince of Wales, Queen's Landing) in the past, we were disappointed (especially given the price): This is a big step down (even from Vintage's current standards, which are far from what they used to be). Sad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrawnaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We (4 couples) spent a night at the Moffatt Inn and enjoyed our stay.

The lobby had a musty smell and the carpets and furnishings are worn out. This definitely needs updating and we worried when we checked in that our room would have similar issues but all our rooms were fine. Our room (115) was clean, quiet and the two double beds were comfortable with nice bedding and pillows. It was a chilly rainy day and could not get the fireplace working.

Having access to the Prince of Wales hotel next door was convenient for breakfast and we used their convenient shuttle service to Peller Estates, where we had dinner.

After our evening at Peller we returned to the Prince of Wales bar (just before midnight) for a night cap and we got the negative vibe from the bartender to hurry up because he wanted to close down the bar.

The location of the hotel is excellent and it was handy for lovely walks through the village.

I found the price of 239$ a bit expensive for a basic hotel but when you compare it to other NOTL hotels it is one of the least expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at this wonderful Inn for many years. It has a great location near the shops, restaurants, river Shaw Festival theaters, so one can walk everywhere and leave the car in lot. The service is great and the accommodations are very Comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drosenlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have stayed at this quaint inn for years. It has a great location near the shops and theaters, so one can walk everywhere and leave car in lot. Rooms are clean, roomy and beds comfortable. I do have a couple complaints, though. One, there is no restroom in lobby for guests. We arrived early, and our room was not ready, and no restroom available. Two, the coffee pots are electric pots, to boil water, for instant coffee. Coffee is available in lobby, but it would be nice to have decent coffee in room. Overall I would recommend this inn!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so for travelers who have trouble walking up stairs, might want to request f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Moffat Inn is a lovely hotel with the coziness and friendliness of a B and B. The rooms are very comfortable, newly renovated with excellent plumbing. The staff is particularly kind, helpful and friendly. The location in NOTL couldn't be better for access to all the Shaw Festival theaters, and the waterfront. Since it's an historic building, it has the charm and feeling of NOTL without the high prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our room was advertised as "premium" with rates to match but fell very short in delivering in many ways. Rugs were dirty, furniture was tired and location of our room was horrible. Our patio backed out on the parking lot, and the smell of grease coming from the kitchen ventilation prohibited sitting on it.. The one redeeming feature was the comfortable beds. The lobby of the Inn is deplorable, musty smelling and not welcoming at all. I could not in good conscience recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5bann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#12 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moffat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moffat Inn

Address: 60 Picton St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Moffat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moffat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moffat Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing