We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moffat Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Moffat Inn to your Saves list
Moffat Inn
60 Picton St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Mississauga
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I liked it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We (4 couples) spent a night at the Moffatt Inn and enjoyed our stay.

The lobby had a musty smell and the carpets and furnishings are worn out. This definitely needs updating and we worried when we checked in that our room would have similar issues but all our rooms were fine. Our room (115) was clean, quiet and the two double beds were comfortable with nice bedding and pillows. It was a chilly rainy day and could not get the fireplace working.

Having access to the Prince of Wales hotel next door was convenient for breakfast and we used their convenient shuttle service to Peller Estates, where we had dinner.

After our evening at Peller we returned to the Prince of Wales bar (just before midnight) for a night cap and we got the negative vibe from the bartender to hurry up because he wanted to close down the bar.

The location of the hotel is excellent and it was handy for lovely walks through the village.

I found the price of 239$ a bit expensive for a basic hotel but when you compare it to other NOTL hotels it is one of the least expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
13
73
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at this wonderful Inn for many years. It has a great location near the shops, restaurants, river Shaw Festival theaters, so one can walk everywhere and leave the car in lot. The service is great and the accommodations are very Comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have stayed at this quaint inn for years. It has a great location near the shops and theaters, so one can walk everywhere and leave car in lot. Rooms are clean, roomy and beds comfortable. I do have a couple complaints, though. One, there is no restroom in lobby for guests. We arrived early, and our room was not ready, and no restroom available. Two, the coffee pots are electric pots, to boil water, for instant coffee. Coffee is available in lobby, but it would be nice to have decent coffee in room. Overall I would recommend this inn!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so for travelers who have trouble walking up stairs, might want to request f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Moffat Inn is a lovely hotel with the coziness and friendliness of a B and B. The rooms are very comfortable, newly renovated with excellent plumbing. The staff is particularly kind, helpful and friendly. The location in NOTL couldn't be better for access to all the Shaw Festival theaters, and the waterfront. Since it's an historic building, it has the charm and feeling of NOTL without the high prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our room was advertised as "premium" with rates to match but fell very short in delivering in many ways. Rugs were dirty, furniture was tired and location of our room was horrible. Our patio backed out on the parking lot, and the smell of grease coming from the kitchen ventilation prohibited sitting on it.. The one redeeming feature was the comfortable beds. The lobby of the Inn is deplorable, musty smelling and not welcoming at all. I could not in good conscience recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I recently revisited NOTL and stayed at the Mofft Inn. It's been 2 years since our last visit and I was thrilled to see things have not changed. The staff at the Moffat Inn is very friendly and goes out of their way to take care of their guests. The rooms are spotless and the hotel is very quiet. For those who have never stayed here before, the location is perfect and they have a great restaurant downstairs with some wonderful beers. Stay here...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Once upon a time, the Moffat was the only non-smoking hotel in town; and I started staying there because of that. What can I say---I fell in love with the place. Rooms are large and comfortable with plenty of space to put one's clothes. Beds are comfortable. Location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moffat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moffat Inn

Address: 60 Picton St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moffat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moffat Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moffat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.